Random Japan #40 :: Buddha's Noodles

in #randomjapan6 years ago

Welcome to the 40th edition of Random Japan. Today we have some flowers, some more flowers, yet more flowers, and a few others as well. Let's jump right in. It's time for...

Random Japan!

Buddha's Noodles

Buddha's Noodles

It's our old friend Hotei (Budai in Chinese), also known as the laughing Buddha. He really seems to be enjoying that bowl of noodles.

Pretty in Pink

Pretty in Pink

It's time for the azalea. These pretty flowers are favorites in Japan. They come mainly in purple, red, white, and this pink one. As you might expect of Japan, they are planted everywhere so it is hard to go even a block or two without seeing a wall of them.

Pretty in Black and White Too

Pretty in Black and White Too

More of them.

Pretty in Odd Texture Overlay As Well

Pretty in Odd Texture Overlay As Well

Er... sorry about the weird texture overlay. I often leave Hipstamatic on random mode, so sometimes I get strange filters on shots. I try to disable the strangest of the filters. Guess I missed this one. Oh well. It does make for a somewhat interesting shot.

Ker-Klunking it Up

Ker-Klunking It Up

Oh look—it's another car ramp. As I mentioned yesterday, these car ramps are in front of most houses and are usually of this metal variety. Cheaper, I suppose. Also more noisy.

Here for the Show

Here for the Show

I'm not sure what kind of flower this is. Anyone? Despite looking pinkish in this photo, they are actually a pale white. Pretty flowers, whatever they are.

Enter the White

Enter the White

Same flowers, another random Hipstamatic filter.

Did You Ever Get the Feeling That You Were Being Watched?

Did You Ever Get the Feeling That You Were Being Watched?

Another entry for my Faces photo project. This one has an odd nose.


That's all for today. Any standouts? Come back tomorrow for another Random Japan!

If you like this random photo from Japan, be sure to check out @kaliju's great Random Korea series. The latest entry there is Random Korea #20 - 20th Post Special Edition: Trippy Art

Also be sure to follow @kafkanarchy84, @maxinpower, @boxcarblue, and @wllmdnnd for even more random Japan fun! @jrvacation has the occasional randomjapan post too. Also, be sure to follow the #randomjapan tag for more from Japan and #randomasia for random shots from the entire area.

Are you a Japan-based or Asia-based photographer who posts somewhat random photos from the country? If so, use the tag #randomasia, and #randomjapan (or randomASIANCOUNTRYYOUAREIN) on your posts. Also, join our Discord group. DM me on Discord for a link to the server.

Do you want to use this photo in one of your projects?
You can! See here for details.

Missed a past Random Japan? I've got you covered!

Index Post
Recent Posts

25. The Heartfelt Life
26. O Weary Traveler
27. The Red and The Blue
28. Cars, Ugly Buildings, and Free Water
29. No Walking Without Hat
30. Kill it With Fire
31. Around the Neighborhood
32. The Thin Green Line
33. Time for Some Lovin'
34. Flowers, Walls, and Parks
35. The Dark Side of the Samurai
36. Japan's Real Favorite Pastime
37. Float On
38. God Likes Clean Hands
39. The Thunder Rolls

Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time.
Sort:  

Hotei in da house! This post is beautiful man, every photo is a like. Your obsession with ramps is inspiring lol true zen mind - finds beauty in everything!
ヾ(゚□゚@)

I don't know if I'd consider two ramp photos in two days an obsession, but hmmm.... now that I think of it, maybe I should go find more of them 😉

From one foreigner lost in Japan to another, I know what you mean about those ramps. There are plastic ones too. My nearest 7/11 has a plastic one that's broken on one end. I try to jump the corner with my bike on the way home from the station. Cheers!

Hi Andy. Whereabouts are you in Japan? If you fancy taking some photos of more random and ordinary things, you should join #randomjapan as well. Yesterday's post featured a plastic ramp like you are describing. I guess that is another advantage of the metal ones—in addition to being cheaper, they don't break about as quickly.

Hey there! A while back you wrote a haiku for my contest. Here's another chance! 2 SBD, more for the winner. Contest link:

VDux Haiku Contest

Are you going to host a haiku contest again?

Hi buddy. Absolutely I'm planning on hosting another haiku contest. Embarrassingly I haven't judged the last yet. My work has been such that I haven't been able to find much time to really focus more than a few minutes at a time for the past few weeks, so my haiku—the contests and the translations—have been put on hold. I can throw these random Japan posts together relatively quickly, which is why I've been only doing them.

I would love to enter your contest again, as well as host a 3/5/3 one with you as you suggested a few weeks ago, but for the time being... I don't know. Will try to come up with one for your contest if I can manage.

Thank you for the suggestion and the comment 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46