Lovely Poetry #26 - "The Bird Clipped its Wings" (An Original Poem)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

michel-catalisano-445407-unsplash.jpg
Source

The Bird Clipped its Wings

Innocent eyes
sight to mountain’s peak
the summit, up high
a triangle’s tip
a reverie
mapped out in your fate
to scale and soar
the mountain covered in white

With courage in your eyes
hope on your shoulders
patience in the palm of your hands
persistence at the sole of your feet
you tried and tried
and tried again
your hands shook
your soul, weak
you gave it all
you soared and soared
but fate played
only a wicked game
you failed
and failed again

Like a bird who clipped its wings
you winced in pain
drowned in agony
felt your blood
gush through your veins
your feathers hit the ground
one by one
you gave up on your dream
wiped your memory clean
never will you fly again

Before you close your eyes
for eternity
you took a sigh
spoke under your breath
with utter regret
“I should’ve given it one last try.”

flipped.png

See my other works for the Lovely Poetry Series below!

Appetite
A Woeful Puzzle
Blank Slate
Unfinished Sentences
Insecurities
Cosmos
Time Out
Shotgun
Roots
Jeepney Stories
Hue and I
Pastime
Late Night Conversations
By the Window
Island Girl
A Quest for Hope
Omnipotent
Flight
The Lost Man
Sun
This City
Ode to that Summer of My Unrequited Love
Solfège
Blue Ocean
Let it Flow

abstract-3166168_960_720.png

Until next time!

@reewritesthings

2018-02-09 08.23.23 1.jpg

Sort:  

Great poem

Biliba jhud nako sa imong words ree ui!!! Idol sa poetry and calligraphy... wohoo!!!

Thank you so much @morken! Your words light up my day! Nah,your works are lovely too.<3

Alam mo bah, gi follow jhud taka kay inspired kaayu ko sa imong blogs. I am learning gani from it especially kanang terms hahahah. Di man ko maayu ug writing gud. :-) learning ra ko pirmi. Anyways, keep being an inspiration.

Glad there's someone like you who admires my works @morken. I don't see myself as an excellent writer but I write anyway because I believe I post not for the validation of others but for myself. :) Naa jud always room for improvement, and everyday is an opportunity to learn.

Daghan pud ko nalearn from you, especially from your posts na applicable in the real life. I hope we have the chance to talk more last summit but seeing that both of us were really busy, I look forward to the next meetup nalang. I know you have so much to offer and I hope you won't let anyone or anything dull your shine.

Bless your beautiful heart and I wish you everything good in life in and out of the screen. <3

Wow! That was so overwhelming to know. I guess all my motivational posts were came from my overthinker mind hahaha. I hope we could talk also, I was so intimidated to talk to you kay Lodi kaayu taka. Hahaha...

May God will also bless yours. Keep inspiring ree.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61787.88
ETH 2991.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48