Lovely Poetry # 12 - "By the Window" (Prose Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

xx.jpg
Source

By the Window

I sat by the window witnessing the rain as it kisses the ground. Its gentle drop caressing the face of the earth as it lands with a kiss on the lips denied for centuries.“Did the rain miss the earth?”, I would ask. How it hungers for its grains like freedom for a prisoner locked up in the chains of solitude. The excitement as it drizzles, resembling a ship about to dock. Gone are the days of longing, now exchanged with bliss knowing you’re finally home.

I stared at the world outside this pane of glass, the leaves, the branches, the flowers, oh how they cheer for them! I sat by the window as I watch a story more than that of Romeo and Juliet, as a spectator of a performance worthy of a standing ovation.

flipped.png

See my other works for the Lovely Poetry Series below!

Island Girl
A Quest for Hope
Omnipotent
Flight
The Lost Man
Sun
This City
Ode to that Summer of My Unrequited Love
Solfège
Blue Ocean
Let it Flow

abstract-3166168_960_720.png

Until next time!

2018-02-09 08.23.23 1.jpg


Sort:  

Thank you @tribeglobal-love! I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for your kind words.

This is amazing

As I was reading your post, I felt its intensity, its power.

Thank you so much @lymepoet. I have been following your works too. I am excited for your book. :)

I truly love how you portrayed raining. A story of love and longing. Great attention to detail.

Thanks for dropping by @poetrybyjeremy . The rain is such a good subject to write about.

"as I watch a story more than that of Romeo and Juliet, as a spectator of a performance worthy of a standing ovation."

Lovely! Such a simple phrasing, but it resolves the poem nicely.

Thank you so much for your words @tessaragabrielle. They mean a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33