Lovely Poetry # 11 - "Island Girl" (An Original Poem)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

atlantic-1822544_960_720.jpg
Source

Island Girl

Sprung from the roots of palm trees
my ancestors sowed with their sweat
Born and raised with salt on my lips
and skin tattooed by the sun

I am the daughter of this island

The hymn of the ocean is my lullaby
A symphony of strumming ripples
each night singing me to sleep
A chorus familiar to my ear
the song I learned by heart

I knew how to swim
before I took my first steps
Bliss is the air I breathe when I dive
and love fills my lungs when I plunge

If heaven is truly a place found on earth
then right here is my paradise
The sand, sky, palm trees and the sea
A place I call my home
I am the daughter of this island.

flipped.png

See my other works for the Lovely Poetry Series below!

A Quest for Hope
Omnipotent
Flight
The Lost Man
Sun
This City
Ode to that Summer of My Unrequited Love
Solfège
Blue Ocean
Let it Flow

abstract-3166168_960_720.png

Until next time!

2018-02-09 08.23.23 1.jpg


Sort:  

Thank you @brokemancode. You may want to check my other poems too. Thanks for dropping by, I know you're quite busy these days. :)

I maybe busy but i can always check your beautiful poems :) keep it up!

This is absolutely beautiful. Not only can I envision the island, I can smell it, feel the sand between my toes, hear the waves, feel the breeze as the trees sway. i love it.

Thank you @sumayyahsaidso! There are plenty of islands here in our country and each one of them is just amazing. Maybe it's easier to write when you experience the place itself. Thank you very much for dropping by. :)

The hymn of the ocean is my lullaby... Beautifully crafted!

Thank you @temzel! This is based on experience. I live near the sea and each night, I could just hear the waves, like a lullaby. Thank you for reading!

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Curation for Creatives post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Thank you! Thanks to @sunravelme too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48