Bear Kid Series Ep. 16 - The Bearkid Series Story

in #photography6 years ago

Three months running with 16 episodes this Friday we decided to take a break in order for us bring better stories and photos. This series started as a photo shoot bonding time with my daughter @bearkid during weekends. Armed with an entry level camera and a hand me down prime lens it was a great opportunity to revive my passion in photography. Join us today as we share with you our journey and the evolution of the series.


The Bearkid Series Story

bearkid cover final.jpg

The first episode of the series when we first tried the hand me down 50 mm lens. Taken from the episode The Magical Unicorn.
1.JPG

A unicorn and not a bear which was my early Christmas gift for @bearkid. She wanted me to take some photos of her in her new unicorn outfit. Yes it was not a bear but a unicorn as she loves unicorns. We bought some cheap Christmas lights as I wanted to try out some bokeh which I had no idea what I was doing. Did a little research on line and watched some tutorials and after a while we were shooting some bokeh. The episode got an upvote and comment from @surpassinggoolge in his comment he said "You are pro". It was one of the greatest moral booster and motivation for me knowing that I am only an beginner amateur hobbyist. Those three words from him brought ideas to my mind to do different themes for our weekend shoot.

3.JPG

The next weekend we went to the park. Taken from the episode Dreams, Goals and a BearKid

4.JPG

My daughter loves reading my old novels from my college days. The best place to read a book is under a big tree which sparked a concept to spend some time reading and some fun time at the park. I recall in this shoot the battery I had was drained and the fresh battery was at home. My son had to go back home to get the battery. Teaching me a lesson to always check your battery and always bring the spare with you.


The following episode we decided to do black and white as she was wearing a Filipino traditional dress. Taken from the episode Time Travelling with BearKid

6.JPG

We tried to make it look retro by shooting at my aunt's old house. Showcasing our culture my wife @mhel did her hair and I tried my best to make it look like that we were back in the past. The place was perfect as there were also a lot of old furniture in my aunt's house. This episode didn't do well but the enjoyment we had while doing the shoot was priceless.

8.JPG

In preparation for New Year's Eve we did and pre New Year celebration shoot. Taken from the episode Magic Spell

9.JPG

In this shoot we had props like confetti made from red and gold foil and some sparklers for the celebration. I also got a cheap tripod for this shoot and the lighting that we used was an old spotlight taken from our old video shop. I wanted to capture the moment when she throws some confetti to make it look like a an awesome celebration. I needed to boost up my shutter speed and I did not know what I was doing honestly.
The first photo I did a little work with photoshop as I wanted it to look like a spell with the floating confetti. To complete the shoot we had to light up some sparklers and it is very tricky as a lot of the photos with the sparkler was coming up with a glare and I do not know how to get rid of it.


Early morning New Year's Day we went out to look for a field where we could shoot. Taken from episode Fields of Serenity

13.JPG

It was a bit challenge to look for a field where we could shoot. We found one and it was a great morning to do a shoot. Showcasing again our culture and her costume should have included a scarf which we forgot to take with us as everyone was excited for this theme. It was a very quiet place just hearing birds and feeling the cool breeze of New Year's day. A small farm where there were chickens and ducks too bad we missed to take a couple of shots of her with the chickens. That would have been fun.


Maybe in the next episodes we will again go back to a farm and this time as @bearkid




The Episode which brought the character bearkid to life. The official start of the series Ep. 7 Meet Bear Kid

17.JPG

No plans and no plot the episode was just meant to show her new outfit and that should have been the end of it. On the way to the park we bought some snacks and bearkid wanted a blueberry muffin to eat at the park. As we began to shoot a plot slowly came to mind. To hunt for the muffin, play at the park and get locked inside the park. Again it was a fun shoot which we enjoyed very much. No complicated plot just a simple short cute story. Which I played around with the sequence of the photos.

19.JPG

20.JPG

The next day I was not expecting anything. Little upvotes and a few comments I was already pleased knowing that someone read it that was enough for me. Then around 10 am as I check again I noticed the upvotes grew and my eyes grew large as I saw the pending payout amount. I checked who it was the renowned curator guild @curie. I was exploding with joy and so was the rest of the family. It was submitted by @misterakpan and my post was curied. I am still very thankful to him for submitting my post which gave birth to the series. After that I knew we had to continue and plan the next episodes.

21.JPG

After that episode my wife wanted us to go to a theme park to continue the story. Taken from the two part episode
Out Goes the Light and Into the Night
and Out Goes the Light (Part 2)

22.JPG

This time we already had a plot at hand and I knew what I needed to shoot. Still there were some additions that came up as we went along the way. Got some props which was also unplanned. It is always best to keep your story open although you have a main plot at hand. Never be afraid to add some changes along the way.


24.JPG

25.JPG

We also tried to do some baking in one episode. Taken from Baking Banana Muffin with Bear Kid

26.JPG

It was another fun shoot with the family and at the end we had some snacks to munch on. We had some great comments in that episode including a comment from a chef.

27.JPG

Episodes come in the spur of the moment and almost anywhere. Taken from Ramen Bear

28.JPG

This is one of bearkid's perks as she gets to eat and pose at the same time. This time we added a new bear outfit which is a panda and perfect for the scene. To our surprise this episode got curied and was a motivation to make the next episodes better and better. It is something that we love doing spending quality time with my daughter taking photos and telling stories.

30.JPG

I love all the episodes but this one is very memorable for us. Taken from
War and Peace

31.JPG

This episode is memorable as this shoot was funded by our earnings from Steemit. Something that we could not do before was a reality. Going out to places to make a content which I did not imagine we would be doing. I was beginning to think that someone out there really loves our stories and waits for it every Friday. This post was curied never imagined that was possible. Until now I am over joyed for the support give to the previous bearkid episodes from everyone which I will never forget.

33.JPG

The episode from Last week. Taken from Beach Day

34.JPG

Fun time at a local beach with the family. This beach was previously renovated and cleaned up. Another lesson learned which is to always check your gear. In this shoot I grabbed the wrong adapter for my 55 mm lens. I had to work with the kit lens of 12-32 mm. No sense of going back home I had to make the 12-32 mm work for me. Now I always check my batteries and my gear before heading out.

36.JPG

37.JPG

38.JPG

This is and extra ordinary journey for us and we will try to bring more stories and photos. Something that we would continue win or lose. It's the time spend with the family and my passion which will drive The Bearkid Series as long as we can. Thanks for joining us and I hope you liked the history behind it.


If you had fun please help support our series every Friday that would make our little bear happy and well fed lol. Until then Cheers!

bearsnake.jpg


Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for his witness @steemgigs
The motivation which gave birth to the series follow @curie and vote as witness
To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 and Sigma 50mm 1.4

Snake new 2.jpg

watersnake101.png

Sort:  

Oh how fun to be reminded of each of these again!

Yes I often look at the past episodes and enjoy reading them again. Thinking what is in stored for us in the future. Thanks Melinda for checking 😊

you always had a great time together... that's so sweet..

Thank you my friend. She is always cheerful whenever whe shoot.

Nice to see these pictures, you two are very creative what makes each story totally different and fun to read! Looking forward to the next one!

Thank you very much we appreciate it. We try our best to make each episode fun filled. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48