Time Travelling with BearKid

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Saturday again and this is my fourth photo shoot with my lovely daughter @bearkid. Today we are featuring the popular traditional Philippine dress The Terno Gown.


The Terno Gown has evolved from the 1800s. During the Spanish era women wore Baro’t Saya a four piece dress composed of the saya (skirt), camisa (shirt with long sleeves called angel wings), tapis (apron) and the panuelo (the scarf). The gown evolved during the American era and became a two piece gown called Traje de Mestiza. The angel wings was changed to butterfly sleeves like the sleeves on what @bearkid is wearing. The two pieces are made from the same material and design.

After the American era the dress evolved again which became a one piece dress which was called The Terno Gown.

P1080852.JPG

This dress was made popular by the former first lady Imelda Marcos. Worn on social events it is still currently evolving and still very popular in the country.

P1080858.JPG

We are planning to do a shoot every Saturday and feature different types on dress and costumes. This Saturday she was excited as she got to wear a traditional dress that she wore during an event from her school. Matching her dress is a fan which my aunt took out from a old cabinet with a religious design which matches the dress perfectly. We did the shoot in my aunt's old house. The windows as you could see is called Capiz which are made from oyster shells. These are the windows popular during the Spanish era.

P1080879.JPG

Since we got this shot might as well give it a shot

@daveks #bwphotocontest

Silhouette

P1080910.JPG

The house is really old and this is the staircase which once was in front of the house. A lot of antique furnitures and trinkets lie around the place.

P1090018.JPG

There is a story on this staircase. When I was a baby we lived upstairs and at the top my grandpa made some guard rails so I would not fall on the stairs. I was just crawling back then which I was free to do so as the stairs was secured. My mom was looking for me one day and could not find me anywhere up there. She searched all the rooms but I could not be found. When she checked the stairs there I was at the first step at the bottom just staring at her un hurt and not even crying. That was a mystery that remains until today.

P1090038.JPG

P1090104.JPG

Let's call this a wrap for this Saturday. Thank you for Time Travelling with me and @bearkid. Hope to see you again if you had fun. Cheers Steemians.

P1090140.JPG


Please vote @steemgigs as witness and help support @surpassinggoogle

Taken with Lumix GX85 and Sigma 50mm 1.4

Snake new.jpg

Sort:  

She really looks stunning! Beautiful @bearkid!
And amazing shots as well!

Thank you. We absolutely had fun doing this shoot. Your kind words means a lot.

She looks so beautiful! You should make a book for her of all of your beautiful pictures!

That is an awesome idea. We just need more photos and I also need more practice 😊

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Beautiful photos, and I love that dress and that fan is quite incredible! Thanks for modeling them @bearkid

Thanks Melinda in fact she already has plans for her next Saturday shoot lol.

I'll be looking forward to it!

OmGosh how sweet is this post. I love love love the history, photos, and lovely photos of your beautiful baby girl. Thank you so much for sharing a part of your life and the detail. Please share more of your stories and I look forward to seeing/hearing more. Your fellow Unmentionable, Casandra. Happy Holidays! xx

Thank you Cassandra call me Ryan 😊

Hello Ryan! Nice to meet you.

Wow, that is some amazing photography! @ironshield

Thank you inspiration comes from my daughter and some are her ideas.

The dress is beautiful and your daughter is stunning. Great photos.

Thank you. Yes she is stunning like her daddy 😂. I'm kidding lol she looks like her mom. Thanks for your kind words hope you visit us again on Saturday for @bearkid 's new year shoot. Cheers

Oh wow she is a beauty ! and your photos of her are fantastic ! ^_^
okay.png

Thanks barb @bearkid is smiling right now on the dinner table lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63020.02
ETH 2458.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62