Movie Review: Escape Room

in #movies5 years ago

Hey My J's and movie fans

I'm back with another movie review in quick succession. I had two recommendations to check this one out, I think people just want me to give their opinion on movies that are iffy for some reason since I don't mix my words when it comes to movies. I feel if you asking me to give you 2 - 3 hours of my attention I am allowed to be critical over how you entertain me for that time period and this review will be no different.

So I checked out Escape Room, another horror movie inspired by the popular puzzle game people are playing these days and draws inspiration from the saw movies.

What is Escape Room about?

The movie puts together six seemingly random adventurous strangers who all travel to a mysterious building to experience the escape room after receiving a mysterious invite. To a game where players compete to solve a series of puzzles to win $10,000.

What starts out as seemingly innocent fun soon turns into a living nightmare as the four men and two women discover each room is an elaborate trap that's part of a sadistic game of life or death, they also find out they're not a random selection as it may seem and there is indeed method to the madness.

Poster for Escape Room

What I thought of Escape Room?

Apart from Deborah Ann Woll the rest of the acting was pretty cringe-worthy and bad, the investment guy was a pretty terrible actor and the rest would be lucky to make it into any sort of cable TV show, pretty sure CW is always hiring right?

The story borrows heavily from saw but does it in a less obvious or grotesque way which I appreciate there are actual thrilling parts to this movie. The rooms are elaborate but interesting and it does have you gripped at times before the acting starts to annoy you.

The first three rooms are fun but the novelty starts to wear off along with patience for the story and some of its characters as the movie drags on.

I did feel at times that the characters were a bit too smart to discover certain things as quickly as they did and there wasn't much made of how they are able to solve things so easy.

Many of the leads were unlikable, but that's to be expected with budget movies like this. Also, it's written like a teen movie, where people are losers one day, white collar successes the next, which is ridiculous, but that's Hollywood.

Trailer for Escape Room

My rating for Escape Room

The movie had some outlandish scenes but they were still believable until the ending and plot twist which was so highly unrealistic it actually ruined the entire movie for me. There is no logic no explanation and I don't understand how they had the ass and balls and even titties to set this movie up for a sequel it really does not deserve.

If you have 2 hours to kill then be my guest but this movie didn't do much for me. I'd have to give it 4 puzzles out of 10, mediocre at best.

Have your say

Have you seen Escape Room? What did you think of the movie?

Holla at me in the comments! All my commenters I will now refer to as Jessie. Jessie is a good friend of mine, but Jessies got a girl, and I want to make her mine.

So have at it my Jessies! If you don't have something to comment, simply comment "I am a Jessie."

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Get Daily Upvotes With SmartVote

Member of the SmartVote community

Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies.


More movie reviews by me

Sort:  

Was indeed wondering...it sounded too much like Saw, and I was not a huge fan of that series anyway.

Thanks for the review

Neither was I, the first one naturally did well because of its shock appeal but it quickly became a tired concept. Nothing new with this one, just another rehash

Avoid like the plague, I've jumped on this grenade so others can save themselves

They should make movies about your valor.. I'm honoured to know you, your will to survive this catastrophic event is preeminent..

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol We should just make our own film, Call it saving private jessie

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by chekohler from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi, @chekohler!

You just got a 5.15% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.893 which ranks you at #4125 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 262 places in the last three days (old rank 4387).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 189 contributions, your post is ranked at #95.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52