Movie Review: Hereditary

in #movie6 years ago

Hey Steemians

I'm back with another movie review :) and boy oh boy has 2018 been a year for disappointing movies. Apart from Initinty War, I don't think anything really stood out for me this year and Hereditary is no different.

As far as horror movies go it is probably a standout film with a fresh take on an old concept and some powerful acting and cinematography from first-time director Ari Aster. Perhaps my main problem was that before checking out this film I heard echoes of it being hailed as this generation’s The Exorcist. Hereditary aims to capture that cult following of horror lovers, and make no mistake this movie shook me to my core.

So what is it all about?

Hereditary

Plot

When the grandmother of the Graham family passes away, her daughter and grandchildren begin to unravel cryptic and increasingly terrifying secrets about their ancestry. Trying to outrun the sinister fate they have inherited they only seem to follow a master plan that was set way before they were even born.

Trailer for Hereditary

The Good

The acting in this movie was by far its best element trait. There was so much creepiness to go around and Toni Collette owned her role. The acting really sells the narrative and really transports you into the story, there are no cheap scares, it's literally shock and horror!

The cast as a whole gives really remarkable performances, apart from Toni Collette—who plays Annie, the central role in the film—and young Milly Shapiro, who makes her big screen acting debut in this film playing Charlie, Annie’s daughter. Charlie is an interesting character in the movie, and a pivotal piece within the narrative. Shapiro does a phenomenal job in what is really an emotionally-driven character. Charlie has very little dialogue, and Shapiro manages to deliver a riveting performance based on emoting.

It’s really fascinating. Charlie is equal parts creepy and sweet, and Shapiro manages to walk that line amazingly well, you're both freaked out by her, by find her strangely adorable. I also have to mention Alex Wolff who plays the brother Peter, who sells you the role of the teenager who cannot cope with tragedy and falls in and out of a catatonic state throughout the film

The Bad

For all its good work in setting up the story, fleshing out the characters and their motivations and exploring their oddities it all seems to go to waste in the final act. The movie is a little over two hours, so that's a long emotional investment and plenty of scares to endure.

So when you get to the "twist" and it starts to lose its credibility and become cheesy. The spookiness up until that point had now turned into what felt like a last ditch effort to up the ante and wrap up the movie, more than a natural progression of the story.

My rating

It's unfortunate that the slow meticulous build-up and character development is let down in the final act. Which offers viewers a conclusion that is just not that satisfying. I have to give it a 6.9 out of 10.

Have at it

What did you think of the movie? Were you a fan of the first one? Let me know in the comments

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem

Upvote, Resteem, Follow


Follow me

If you don't already, consider following me @chekohler

Follow me


Put your votes to good use

We all can't max out our upvotes every day and a little help never hurt. Sign up to Smartsteem and sell a few of your votes each day, earn some STEEM and SBD in the process and still get in some curation rewards in STEEM Power. Check out SmartSteem


Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


More movie review posts by me

Sort:  

Hey cool review! Never even heard of the movie before reading this

It wasn’t marketed very well I have to say! I only got onto it from a recommendation by 2 of my friends and eventually checked it out! If you into horrors you should check it out

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have to agree it's not been a great year for films so far, I'm quite into spooky films but I prefer the more psychological scares then the outright bloodbath horror that tends to be well over the top. You make a good review of this without spoiling it, so I might just give it a try - thanks for the recommendation.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

s ago
Thanks! I really appreciate it, I’m no movie critic but I enjoy a good flick and I hate it when people slam out huge chucks of the movie in their review! I want to give readers the opportunity to find out about it without taking my bias into the movie! We all have different tastes so don’t want to taint the experience for others! I’m also more of a psychological scare type and honestly I thought this movie was heading in that direction! I think if it was done as a thriller and kept the story grounded it could have been an amazing film! I encourage you to check it out and let me know what you think, Would be nice to get another opinion

Posted using Partiko iOS

You got a 15.38% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @chekohler!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48