You achieved your goal, why are you still anxious and confused?

in #life7 years ago


source

A friend of mine, James, can be said to be juvenile, when he was 30 years old, he was already a sales manager in a big company. During a reunion dinner, he was sitting in the corner smoking alone. I asked him why he doesn’t look as happy as he had imagined, he said, "When I haven’t reached this position, I worked so hard. But finally one day I reach this position, but now I do not know what should I do in the future …”

When we think about it, indeed, when we just started to work, everyone is full of confidence, be sure to reach a certain position or achieve certain goals. However, after a while, you will find that no matter the goal is achieved or not, you will fall into confusion.

Let’s talk about the situation where you haven’t reach the goal. After 3 to 5 years of struggle, the results of the efforts begin to appear. But after a great effort, the goal is still far away. Either the goal is irrational, or your efforts are not in the right direction.

The goal setting is directly related to your leader, and if you have a leader who is constantly squeezing and demanding, no matter how hard you try, you won’t achieve your goal. And if the direction of effort is not wrong, maybe it is related to your thought and leadership guidance.

Worked hard but no return, I believe everyone will be disappointed and doubts about the future. Do you want to continue doing this? Do you still want to stay in this company? You already put in so much time and energy, it's really a waste if give up just like that.

And let’s say if you can achieve your goal. Just like James, when he achieved a major goal in life, but at the same time, he doesn’t know what to do later. This often happens after working for more than five years. Even in the workplace, you need a certain amount of time to achieve your ambitious goals.


source

It’s supposedly is an unreachable goal, but suddenly one day, fell on your hand. When you just got it, you might be happy, but after a while, it will become dull. Because in work and life, we will not always be passionate, you still need to calm yourself down and deal with the daily necessities to live.

I've had this experience before. Do you have a sudden increase of more than 50% of salary in the present position, without changing the company or excellent performance? I did.

It was an ordinary day, and my manager called me into the office. I was a normal software engineer. The manager gave me an envelope, mysteriously said to me it is a surprise. When I take a look, it is a pay notice, and increased by 50%! What's going on?

The leader coughed, said: "This is based on the company's overall market pay survey results." The survey found that your salary in this position is lower than the average salary in the market and the salary level we set is higher than the median salary in the market.”

It really feels like a pie dropping from the sky! After my excited thanks, I floated out of the manager office ...

The next two weeks, I was in a state of excitement. But one month later, my mind gradually calmed down. Well...... This one...... I was beginning to think I deserved it, and there seemed to be nothing to be excited about. And why don't you increase my salary earlier? Make me missed the chance to buy a house!

After a year, Why don't you give me a raise this year?

So, after the real get, everyone’s psychology is almost the same. After achieving the goal, some will complain about the past; some will continue to find the goals that are more difficult to achieve. No matter how long you work, you will encounter the ceiling of career development. Perhaps you try to pierce a layer to go up, only to find that there is another layer above, higher, farther, more difficult to achieve.

Just like in video games, the more levels you cleared, the harder the levels become ...
Unless you give up playing the game so that you can really end this endless strange life. But you can’t give up in the workplace, after all, we have a family to feed. Therefore, we have to have a solution, and with my suggestion, we have the following suggestion.


source

Contentment

Continuous efforts to forge ahead is tiring and difficult. Of course, the contentment here is not about satisfying at the low level, but to ensure that the average person's living standard is a basic requirement.

On this basis, the work of 3 to 5 years, is still a clerk, a technician, an engineer and so on. But everyone's mentality is different, which makes you suspicious of work. Sometimes, the higher the expectation, the greater the disappointment. So if you set unrealistic goals, you might as well adjust to smaller goals that are easy to achieve.

I enjoy the feeling of accomplishing small goals because even small progress can bring a little joy. Moreover, it will not allow me to shrink and give up the idea of continually moving forward toward another small goal.

In recent years, there has been a lot of popularity in career rapid growth courses. To be honest, when I see the title, I will also be curious, who doesn’t want 5 digits monthly salary? However, this is a kind of impetuous mentality; the subtext is without pains. In the workplace, after all, in the end, still based on hard work, rather than the so-called workplace skills. If your mind cannot retain contentment, then you will not stop blundering down in the workplace When you can’t achieve your grand goals, you will naturally start complaining and confused.


source

Accumulation

Any success relies on continuous accumulation, whether it is a fresh graduate who just gets into the workplace or “old people” who is under the ceiling in the workplace for a long time. It is often said that opportunities always patronize the prepared mind. That's true, but in the workplace, it's just that you don't know how long it will take for you to be "prepared."

Is there any shortcut? Of course! That is to work harder to prepare for everything!

Kenneth was promoted to manager at the age of 30, he was in the position of manager for more than three years and still had no chance, but he is usually working with full of energetic. In his spare time, he took the 6 Sigma Black Belt and went on an in-service MBA, and at home, he has a 3-year-old kid. For three years, there was hardly any rest day; the daily schedule was full.

When graduated from MBA 3 years later, everyone thought he was going to get a promotion or a job change, but he immediately took part in a large project of the company and moved to be a project manager. The work on the project is also day and night. But he was happy, whenever I have the opportunity to meet him, he can sum up a different experience, always so combative.

Today is the 7th years Kenneth in the manager position; he became the manager who manages a thousand-person factory. He is still the youngest general manager, but when I met him, he was still learning and practicing. Accumulation reflected in his body incisively and vividly.

So it takes a lot of time and effort, and if you want to accelerate, it means you need to pay more free time. If you do not want to work so hard, then to reach a higher level than the ceiling is destined to require more time and you need uninterrupted learning. Since it takes so long, don't be confused, calm down, accumulate experience, sum up the lessons, and learn new knowledge. At this point, you will find that in fact, there is plenty of time!


source

Remain true to your original aspiration

My manager sometimes says to me, “Don't forget your original aspiration.”
What is original aspiration? It is what you want to pursue in the first place.

Many people are confused because they don't know what they are after. For example, to get a raise is to pursue a better life, but after working for a while, wasting more time on thinking about how to beat competitors, and so on.

A millionaire asked a plain, leisurely fishing man said: "Why are you leisurely fishing here, why are you not trying to work hard?"
Man: "What work hard can bring me?"
Millionaire:" To earn a lot of money!"
Man: "What to do after earned a lot of money?" ”
Millionaire: "Become a boss so that life can become carefree!" “
Man: "What next after carefree life?" “
Millionaire: "Then you can leisurely fishing here!"
Man:"But I'm already fishing here leisurely.“
Millionaire: ”……“

The fishing here, and what you say to live, is actually belong to our aspiration. Because of work, overtime can not accompany the wife and children; Because of work, can not care for the parents; Because of work, can’t take good care of health ...

Stop saying it is for life; We have strayed from the track of life for a long time. Back on the right track, you may need to give up your job opportunities, reduce your existing salary, and face a multitude of incomprehensible sights. But so what? Do not forget your original aspiration; it is the most important proverbs in a workplace!

follow

PREVIOUS LIFE POST
A belated letter
Every step counts
Everybody is trying to live in their own way
Hardworking people’s luck will not be too bad
You don't have to live so tiredly, because you don't have so many audiences
Some "See you soon" become "See you never"

RECENT TRAVEL & FOOD POST

1. Travel Diary #1: An exciting trip to Bangkok
2. Om nom nom #1: Surprise food from 7-Eleven
3. Travel Diary #2: A tour to Wat Pho, Temple of Reclining Buddha
4. Om nom nom #2: Mango Addiction at Make Me Mango
5. Om nom nom #3: Yum Saap the Thai Restaurant
6. Travel Diary #3: Foo Lin Kong temple(福临宫) in Pangkor island
7.Travel Diary #4: Biggest Tua Pek Kong temple in Sitiawan(品仙祠大伯公和观音堂)

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

your posts are always wise, good article ! By the way, I understand this way of thinking. That's why I'm setting up limitless goals for myself, I've always worked like that. So that I always have something to crave for, something to be motivated about, like when I learned a new language, I chose to keep on learning another one, and yet another one, now I can master about 10 languages, with programming languages, same thing ; you have to literally breathe and eat what you want to become, and if you are always wishing for more, that can make you happier whatever happens. That's my mentality, maybe some people need to settle and forget about goals. But I constantly need to feel I'm progressing towards a new stage

Thanks! I always prefer multiple smaller goals instead of one end goal. Achieving smaller goals give me more satisfaction and make me feel like I'm really progressing.

Yes of course it comes from the fact you have to break a big goal into smaller tasks, I enjoy doing that too, but I don't enjoy looking behind my back too much either, maybe just at the moment I made past that "little goal" I have a bit fun relaxing and doing calmer things, but I know I rapidly gotta get back to work in order to achieve the biggest things I want, as I said, I'm more into looking forward but sometimes of course you have to be happy about what you did until now too. But as I said I have limitless goals, the farthest I can go the better :D I don't think I would be happy if I ended up with 1 million, I would still want more and more :D I mean I enjoy little goals' success, but to make it even more valuable, I prefer to keep on capitalizing on what I just managed to do, I hate feeling like I'm stagnating or keeping in the same place that's all.

This can be helpful: @originalworks

Btw, my upvote doesn't worth anything 'cuz I'm a newbie here, but I'm posting this comment as a support. If you want, you can check my introduction post and leave me some feedback. And yeah, I'm 17 :) PEACE!

Nice to meet you! It's fine, it is more meaningful to me if people read my post and comment on it.
I will definitely check out your post :)

Great! Thanks for visiting my profile ;)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @walkinharmony to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Just kill the Boss... :)) all that drama, gone...

Easier said than done... Kill the boss, I become jobless.. Who gonna pay me?
I wish everything can be that easy :)

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Very nice. I like posts like this. Inspirational posts are the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68011.48
ETH 3275.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64