Day Zero Plus Two

in #life5 years ago

I am here, in Paris, with two of my closest friends in the world, along with my bestest doggo and a bonus doggo, and I am not disappointed.




Monday night, I flew over with @martiawilson with Paige and Tori, the two doggos who got to come with me. Milo, Princess, and Sugar had to remain in the States for now. I’ll go back for Milo, my service dog, at the first of next month. Princess and Sugar will hopefully make the flight later this year.



@michelios met us at the airport, and after we sorted rental car issues and tiny car/ginormous luggage issues, we made our way to Argenteuil where our first Airbnb is located. After we found it and hauled ourselves and our things up fifty-four steps to a fourth-floor apartment, everybody just collapsed. Yeah. It was that kind of day. To make matters worse (for me, anyway,) the ibuprofen that came over on the plane with me was Advil PM, and I was too tired to read the bottle. I took four of them, expecting it to be my regular prescription dose of plain ibuprofen. Well, I got a little bonus with that. At double the diphenhydramine dose, I was good for nothing for about two days. Only now, Thursday, am I lucid enough to write a coherent post. While I was sleeping it off, Michel learned to play the piano, toured the Louvre with Martia, and took us both to see the Eiffel Tower...which I almost remember. My advice to anyone reading this? Don’t take four Advil PM at once, folks. Ever. Unless you want to take your chances with a drunken stupor that lasts for days.

My only complaint about France so far? One can’t purchase ibuprofen here--plain or otherwise--and there is no NOS. People who know me know exactly how much I love my NOS. I’ll have to find a suitable replacement. Monster energy drinks just don’t cut it. Red Bull costs a king’s ransom. But I’ll get this figured out eventually. Either that, or I’ll spend the rest of my time in Europe languishing in a full-blown autoimmune brain fog. Not fun, y’all. Not fun at all.

On the grand scale, though, France is everything I hoped it would be. Wonderful climate--the humidity is very low, so even temperatures in the seventies (Farenheit) are comfortable for me. Most of the edema I suffered from at Appalachian altitudes has subsided. We walked and walked and walked last night around the Eiffel Tower and neighboring streets, and overall I managed just fine.


We had a very good dinner at a streetside cafe where the dogs could sit with us underneath the table. The food here is exactly what I expected. For example, fresh fruit is much easier to find and cheaper to buy than the breakfast diet of pop tarts and granola bars I’ve lived on for five years. Eggs are large and fresh and brown, not bleached and warehoused for a month before landing on my plate. It’s a healthier world here, and I hope I reap the benefits of that difference.

But most exciting of all is that the Steemhouse power team is together once more. It was a long seven weeks for me with Michel in one time zone and me in another, six hours apart. We got almost nothing accomplished during that time except putting me on a plane to France. Now it’s time to regroup, refocus, and get this project rolling forward once again.

We look forward to some quiet time in Provence over the weekend, when we can sit with Martia and discuss future plans for the publishing house. She has come on board as one of our managing editors, bringing with her many years of experience as a writer, editor, and poet. We’re hoping to have some big announcements soon, and she will be part of that.

Of course, the dog rescuer in me marvels at the journey the two girls pictured below have made. Both pulled from high kill shelters in Appalachia, both considered worthless by previous owners, both considered “difficult” dogs to place in forever homes, now happy and well-behaved Parisian pups an ocean away from that nightmare. Paige (on the left) was mere hours from being put down when my rescue took her, and Tori (on right) was passed over time and again by “no kill” rescue groups looking for the easy adoptions. Well, she’s adopted now, by Michel, and the best part of her life is just ahead.

More posts to come! So stay tuned...don't sleep through the adventure like Paige tried to do. LOL!

Other Posts in this Series (because this one won't make sense if you haven't read the other ones)

Forty Days
Thirty-Nine Days
Thirty-Eight Days
Thirty-Seven Days
Thirty-Six Days
Thirty-Five Days
Thirty-Three Days
Thirty-Two Days
Thirty-One Days
Thirty Days
Twenty-Seven Days
Twenty-Six Days
Twenty-Five Days
Twenty-Three Days
Twenty Days
Eighteen Days
Seventeen Days
Fifteen Days
Fourteen Days
Twelve Days
Eight Days
Six Days
Five Days
Three Days

Sort:  

The pictures look amazing. The doggies look excited and well-behaved on the plane. It sounds like many US products are either difficult to find or are expensive in France. I didn't know they allowed dogs to have their own seats on the plane. Found post on #PYPT

The doggies were VERY well behaved on the plane! They're not "allowed" to have their own seats, but in this case, the flight was not full so we could place them next to us. Both of these dogs are trained Emotional Support Animals, and while ESAs are not required to have specific training like Service Dogs are, these two perform specific functions to comfort and reassure their handlers. One of them holds hands (paws) like a human child. The other performs various comforting tasks when she sees a need, but sometimes needs a little comforting herself, which distracts me from my own (sometimes irrational) worries quite effectively. Other passengers were amused for the duration of the flight as they watched these dogs interact. I was quite proud of them both.

I am so happy for you. So happy!!! All of this is wonderful. And, by the way, you accomplished A LOT in the last 7 weeks, just not for Steemhouse. But you have to take care of you first, and you have. YAY!!!!!!!! You're free!

sweet... love the doggies on the plane pics... lots of awws for those...

thanks for sharing on #pypt and enjoy the journey as it goes.

That amazing! I wish I could go to Paris, but I hope you have a safe and fun trip 😆
#PYPT

Posted using Partiko Android

What a thing, to be walking around Paris at night and sharing the experience in PYPT! I am so thrilled for you that things have taken such a good turn in your life! It will be exciting to hear what plans are laid for Steemhouse Publishing! 😃

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Congratulations @rhondak! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3000 replies. Your next target is to reach 3250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @rhondak!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.818 which ranks you at #413 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 143 contributions, your post is ranked at #38.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65969.85
ETH 3429.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68