Six Days

in #life5 years ago

If I got any more tired, I would be a tire.

Image by Raul Chavelas from Pixabay

But the payoff will be worth it.

In approximately eight hours, I’ll leave my home in Appalachia forever. Part of me is a bit nostalgic; I never hated this house. I could have been happy living in it, under the right circumstances. But the culture here has worn me down. This is a hardscrabble place, teeming with people whose hearts are cold and minds are small. Sure, there are some good folks here. But they are woefully outnumbered. And many of them are suffering at the whims of this community just as I have suffered for the past decade.

People are lining up to scavenge my property for whatever they can find. And that’s okay--they can have anything I don’t take with me. But when I’ve asked for help, mostly I just hear crickets. Red Lane and Lori Salyer have helped. Caitlin Hutchison has taken our last tiny dog to foster until transport at the first of September, and Colleena Owens will not only take that dog to meet the transport, but she and her husband have done other things as well that I won’t mention. Mostly, however, I’ve handled this entire move on my own, from taking the TARC dogs to Molly’s Place to hauling all the heavy crates out for scrap metal, to cleaning and scrubbing to packing and carrying all my things to the car.

Tomorrow at this time, this will all--hopefully--be just a bad memory. I say “hopefully” because I’m not gone yet, and fate could still have a cruel trick up its sleeve. The amount of money that has gone into closing the rescue and hanging on to the few personal dogs that I could is mind blowing. I did have help with that, but it didn’t come from the community that threw these dogs away to begin with. This angers me deeply and demoralizes me completely when it comes to rescue. It will take a long time and a lot of distance for me to heal from the scars this experience has left.

Exactly one week from today I’ll be in Paris. I’ll be in the company of my dearest friends in the world. Maybe then I can relax and rest and eventually realize I’ve escaped, and the next chapter of my life is mine alone to write.

Other Posts in this Series (because this one won't make sense if you haven't read the other ones)

Forty Days
Thirty-Nine Days
Thirty-Eight Days
Thirty-Seven Days
Thirty-Six Days
Thirty-Five Days
Thirty-Three Days
Thirty-Two Days
Thirty-One Days
Thirty Days
Twenty-Seven Days
Twenty-Six Days
Twenty-Five Days
Twenty-Three Days
Twenty Days
Eighteen Days
Seventeen Days
Fifteen Days
Fourteen Days
Twelve Days
Eight Days

Sort:  

Taking steps there girl!

(I have missed the rest of these series so i gotta catch up on that) but ej you are leaving! And damn it sucks to leave with such a bad feeling there...crazy how that is possible..but indeed, in the end all will turn well, because we make it turn out well!!

Much strength and determination wished for you (and enjoy Paris!)

I say “hopefully” because I’m not gone yet, and fate could still have a cruel trick up its sleeve.

You are right. No one knows tomorrow.
Have a nice time.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Hi @rhondak!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.818 which ranks you at #413 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 157 contributions, your post is ranked at #63.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Just remind yourself how much good you did while you were running TARC. So many animals would have had a cruel fate, if not for you. 🙌

The whole PYPT family wishes you happiness, which is well-deserved! SAFE JOURNEYS! And much success with Steemhouse Publishing! 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65915.92
ETH 3486.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67