Five Days

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Escape from Hillbilly Hell.

I left Southwest Virginia yesterday with all my worldly possessions packed in my car, along with four dogs and a rabbit. I drove south for about six hours, through a torrential downpour and rush hour traffic to meet my cousin just outside Atlanta. She took one of the dogs and the rabbit to foster in Georgia, and I continued on to Mount Olive, Alabama, a small town north of Birmingham.

This morning, I woke to a completely new set of circumstances. I feel like a refugee, someone mandatorily evacuated from a natural disaster. Or a war zone. PTSD is real. I will never forget the impulse to keep looking over my shoulder for the first two hundred miles. It wasn’t so much a fear that someone was chasing me, but disbelief that I had actually managed to get away.

I have plenty of things to do today, so it’s not like I can sit idle. I have to repack all my bags for Europe, make travel arrangements for my dog Milo who ... well, I’ll get to that in a minute. But I’m also going to take a long, soapy bath in a real tub, repair my stressed dreadlocks, and paint my nails. I can’t remember the last time my lifestyle allowed for such indulgences. Oh...I’m also going to enjoy my dogs. This is their first full day of being my pets instead of my rescue salvages, and they are loving every minute of their Mommy’s retirement.

Milo was going to fly with me to France. He’s in training to be my service dog, and that is going exceptionally well. He got his harness and other equipment today and he seems to realize exactly what is expected of him.

Milo Rocking the Vest

But we got some very bad news yesterday--APHIS rejected Milo’s health certfiicate because there’s a paperwork problem involving his second rabies vaccination. Free rabies clinics are great, until the vet conducting them doesn’t document properly. Then they create issues for poor dogs like Milo who will now get left behind when I fly to France. Oh, he’ll join me eventually, but not without great headache and hassle, not to mention additional expense.

He’s going to work his heart out for me, though, when he gets finally gets there. Have a look at him on the job today in Lowes. I could not have been more proud of my beautiful boy as he walked through the store without once nosing the merchandise or other customers. He did look at a few things, but nothing excessive or problematic. He stayed focused, on task, and worked the guide harness like a pro. He’ll be a great help to me going up stairs and hills, and during those times when I feel dizzy and off balance. I love this dog. Leaving him behind will be hard.

Milo at Work
Sort:  

You're free!!! So glad you're out of there. What a journey. I know it's not over but a huge piece is behind you. As for Milo, that sweetheart. I'm sending love and hope everything works out in the best possible way, and that he gets to join you soon. He's such a wonderful boy. Enjoy the freedom!

Hi @rhondak!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.818 which ranks you at #413 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 114 contributions, your post is ranked at #102.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63047.55
ETH 2690.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54