Thirty-Seven Days

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I dreamed last night that I had to cross a bayou in a kayak. The moment I launched from shore, I saw the water was full of alligators lurking just under the surface. To make things worse, the kayak hit one, flipped, and dumped me into the midst of them.

The feeling I had in my sleep was not unlike a feeling I’ve had at different points in my life, when I realized I was surrounded by people who only wanted to do me harm. So I woke with a burning question: what is my subconscious mind trying to tell me? Am I surrounded by alligators in the real world, just as I was in my dream? It certainly wouldn’t be the first time. After all, sometimes my dreams are more than just dreams. They often serve to warn me of trouble afoot, my mind’s way of communicating to me observations it has made without my direct awareness of them.

In those fleeting seconds between sleeping and waking, I formed a conscious thought about surviving the alligators: walk on their backs--if you move quickly enough, you can use them as steps and reach safety before they realize what you’re doing.

I woke before I could test my theory. I don’t know if I could have made it to the shore by walking on their backs or not. But I know me, and in a moment of desperation, that may well be something I’d try.

In thirty-seven days, I’m taking a huge leap of faith clear across the Atlantic. Will I be walking on the backs of alligators to get there? This move is the Hail Mary of mid-life for me; I’ve been disabled by incurable disease, crippled by poverty, and betrayed by family in ways that feel exactly like somebody torpedoed my kayak into a river of snapping jaws. Even though I know how to swim, more danger lies in the water than just drowning. I’ve had to improvise a solution that seems so outlandish, so extreme, so bizarre that no sane person would attempt it.

But what is the alternative? Flail around in the water until I actually do get eaten?

I’m not sure who the alligators in my dream actually represent. Given my track record, it could be anyone. All I know is that I’m not the least bit inclined to just start treading water and hope for the best.

I didn’t get much done over the past couple of days. I gave myself a break, since I have such a busy week coming up. Tomorrow I have to have dogs at the vet by eight-thirty a.m. I have a doctor’s appointment of my own just after noon. The following day I have to pick those dogs up from the vet and take four more for health certificates. On Friday I have to drive the four with health certificates six hours up the road to rescue. I have another rescue trip going the opposite direction a few days later. Once I get back home, I’m sure I’ll be stunned at the silence. I will have fewer animals in my house at that point than I’ve had since 2013. I won’t know what to do with myself.

Things are definitely falling into place for all of these major life changes. Alligators be damned--I am very much looking foward to seeing what awaits me on the other side of the pond.

Other Posts in this Series

Forty Days
Thirty-Nine Days
Thirty-Eight Days

cover photo source
image 2 source
image 3 source

Sort:  

Treading and flailing in the water will only attract the predator. Best to be calm and silent. What's that saying?

Yep. Flailing around only draws attention, and the kind one doesn't want. You are totally correct about that. :-)

I wish you well, placing the dogs and proving that you really can teach an old dog new tricks, so to speak, though you're the one who does the teaching, so I need to find a better insight here. You've sacrificed so much for causes you believe in, until your body said "Enough," and now you're forced to put yourself first.

You commented elsewhere:

Steemit is simply a "front end" (user interface) for a blockchain that stores information with some of the most secure technology known to man. There are other front ends like Busy and Steempeak that all pull data from the same blockchain, known as the Steem blockchain.
Two years ago, communities of all types sprouted and thrived around this blockchain. These days, it's mostly a ghost town. Posts go unnoticed unless you pay for bot upvotes to make them visible on the trending pages ...

Steemit is a ghost town?

Posts go unnoticed - yes. With a potential audience of thousands, hundreds, or even mere dozens, I'm blessed with maybe three to five regular readers.
I'm inspired by your major move and tempted to make a major life change myself.
Again, I wish you well. You're still with Steemit, but if I can't find you here, I'll look on the older forms of social media for you. Bon Voyage. :)

Oh, I will definitely be here! We have some major stuff in the works that involves the blockchain, and this move will only free me up to focus on that. Still wish I could have gotten to Chicago before I leave, but there’s next year. We’ll be chatting. :-)

I absolutely love your idea of skipping across the backs of the beasts in the water, and your determination to escape the fate of drowning. I know you can do it, and am constantly amazed by what you accomplish despite the odds. One breath at a time, one day at a time, and you'll be on that plane before you know it.

On behalf of those who care about animals, thank you for all you've done to serve the furry ones, and for all you've given to help improve the human side of things. You can't save them all, but you've given so many animals a new chance at life. And then your book can continue to do the work. Keep going. You're almost there.

Katrina, that means soooo much. And yes...I hope the book, and my writing in general, will take it from here. There's a lot to write about.

Hi @rhondak!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.824 which ranks you at #410 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 380 places in the last three days (old rank 30).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 145 contributions, your post is ranked at #124.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63223.35
ETH 2688.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55