Twenty Days

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Oh my gosh. Time! Where is it going? Don’t get me wrong--I’m very eager to leave for Europe. And preparations here at home are surprisingly on track. But the days are flying past and reality is starting to sink in.

I’ve spent the last few days cleaning. I finally decided to list my property with a realtor. Century 21 has the best contacts outside this area, and since very few people in the area are looking to buy here, this seemed to be the reasonable course of action. She came today with contracts and is supposed to place signs tomorrow. My property, although not in the best condition, is located directly on Highway 16, which is known as “Back of the Dragon.” This is a tourist destination for motorcycle enthusiasts who come every year to ride thirty-two miles of hairpin curves. My land is also located near the Spearhead ATV trails and there’s enough acreage here to put in a small private trail. So potential does exist. All I need from a sale is payoff. Surely someone will buy it.

I also spent some delightful time on the phone today with Lori Johnston from Molly’s Place. Looks like I’ll be making a trip to Pennsylvania next week with the three hard-to-place dogs. She also finished reading High Kill and couldn’t say enough good things about the novel. She told me she couldn’t put it down. That’s exactly what an author likes to hear! There are so many things I would love to do with my personal income if Steemhouse Publishing is successful and our novels sell. One of them is supporting Molly’s Place Rescue. I’ve worked with them for years, have seen “behind the wall” into their daily operations, know Lori personally, and after all this time I haven’t found a thing to complain about. It's the best run adoption center I’ve ever encountered. If you click the link above that takes you to their website, you’ll see a virtual tour of Molly’s Place. Most of the dogs shown in that video came from my area. I would give anything to make them the best-funded non-profit shelter in Pennsylvania.

So that’s Day Twenty. And that’s it for July, as well. Tomorrow is the first day of August. A whole month has passed since the Steemhouse U.S. bookstore tour ended for this year. Next, I will blink and open my eyes in Paris. That’s how quickly time has flown.

cover image source

Other Posts in this Series (because this one won't make sense if you haven't read the other ones)

Forty Days
Thirty-Nine Days
Thirty-Eight Days
Thirty-Seven Days
Thirty-Six Days
Thirty-Five Days
Thirty-Three Days
Thirty-Two Days
Thirty-One Days
Thirty Days
Twenty-Seven Days
Twenty-Six Days
Twenty-Five Days
Twenty-Three Days

Sort:  

I think everyone in PYPT will agree with me about one correction in your post:

..if Steemhouse Publishing is successful...

Let's change it to say: when Steemhouse Publishing is successful! We are rooting for you on this endeavor! 😊

Thank you, @thekittygirl! We are certainly hopeful!

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT

Next, I will blink and open my eyes in Paris.

I'm grinning right now. Yay!!! Also, yay for people who step up and advocate for dogs with the highest integrity. Keep going, you're almost there. :)

The whole thing feels a bit surreal.

Speaking of dogs, Paige has been watching airplane videos with me for a few days. She actually focuses on the screen and her ears prick up at the sounds of the engines. Dogs are so smart. There is no way I could believe that she doesn't have some idea about what we're planning to do.

That's awesome, and a smart way to get her used to the idea of her upcoming adventure!

Good luck with everything, @rhondak. I believe in you. Big change is exciting and hard. But it is necessary in order to create a better life when the current one is like a snake’s old skin.

So I take it you have placed all your pups except Paige, and she will go with you? Glad to hear you’re keeping your special little companion.

Yes! All the dogs are placed. Well, except Milo. I'm trying to find long-term foster care for him still. Princess already found a foster--I'll end up taking them with me wherever I settle. Tori is also going to France, but that's because Michel adopted her. LOL

Very cool! Goodluck with the move. Moving overseas can be tough but it’s worth it! I did Boston to Sydney almost a year ago

Posted using Partiko iOS

I've heard nothing but good things about life down under. I'm sure it was a big change, but no doubt you're loving it now! :-)

I'll be back for sure, thanks for sharing in #pypt discord

Posted using Partiko Android

Now it’s august the last weeks are here good luck

Hi @rhondak!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.834 which ranks you at #400 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 9 places in the last three days (old rank 409).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 366 contributions, your post is ranked at #194.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

!SHADE 2
Thanks for sharing on Pimp Your Post Thursday

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63047.55
ETH 2690.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54