The Empty Chair #19 - [Prompt - fried chicken]

in #freewrite6 years ago

Credit: google

fried chicken


I was a little disappointed as i entered the restaurant and took my seat at the corner, a yard from the counter where sat a well-shaven baldhead.
He quickly reached out, “Your order sir!”
But where was everyone? Or was this a very unpopular restaurant? But the online tour guide had specifically recommended it.
“Is this All seasons foods’ restaurant!?, I asked.
“Oh yes, it!” the bald head answered, and as though reading my thoughts, as I regarded all the empty chairs, added
“Folks here are late arrivals!”
Just an excuse, I thought, I mean, ther is always hardly an empty chair In a reputable restaurants. People eat all the time!
I needed to leave. This had to be the wrong place! But the bald head was really being nice, standing there like some smiling post…
So I needed a courteous excuse. An idea occurred: I would ask for a rare delicacy certain to be absent from such a deserted restaurant.
“Get me chicken”, I said, “You have?” I asked. His guaranteed no was my escape route,
“Yes, yes!” he excitedly said,
“Fried, chicken, i mean!” I corrected him.
And again his smile beamed, as he immediately rounded to the back of the counter.
This was a waste of time, I thought, started to leave.
I had reached the door, when a crisp aroma made me look back.
There the baldhead stood carrying it in a dish…
“The wash sink is just there” he said, pointing to my left
Now peoples started to fill in as I ate away the finest of chicken I had tasted since……
“You were right,” I said to the baldhead as I paid my bill, “Folks here are late arrivals!”

The latest Day 119: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: fried chicken

If you missed my last freewrites, here are the links from latest to last:-

  1. The Empty Chair #18 - (Valentine Special)[Prompt - lace]
  2. The Empty Chair #17 - Two Most inspiring Christian Stories about prayer
  3. The Empty Chair #16 - (5 minute freewrite challenge)[Prompt - canal]
  4. The Empty Chair #15 - (5 minute freewrite challenge)[Prompt - mason jar]
  5. The Empty Chair #14 -Weekend Freewrite 02/10/2018 - [Single Prompt Option: It was Saturday morning]
  6. The Empty Chair #13 - (5 minute freewrite challenge)[Prompt - Ski]
  7. The Empty Chair #12 - (5 minute freewrite challenge)[Picture prompt]
  8. The Empty Chair #11 - (5 minute freewrite challenge)[prompt: Dream]
  9. The Empty Chair #10 - (5 minute freewrite challenge)[prompt: California]
  10. The Empty Chair #9 - (5 minute freewrite challenge)[prompt: yard sale]
  11. The Empty Chair #8 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Palimpsest]
  12. The Empty Chair #7 -Weekend Freewrite 2/3/2018 - Single Prompt Option: Airplane
  13. The Empty Chair #6 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: The smell from within]
  14. The Empty Chair #5 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Elephant]
  15. The Empty Chair #4 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Cigarettes ]
  16. The Empty Chair #3 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Cracker]
  17. The Empty Chair #2 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Paint]
  18. The Empty Chair #1- (5 minute freewrite challenge) [Prompt: hardboiled minds]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58445.95
ETH 2616.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41