The Empty Chair #9 - (5 minute freewrite challenge)[prompt: yard sale]

in #freewrite6 years ago

For every daily 5-minute freewrite prompt, i will be writing on the theme: "The Empty Chair".


If you missed my last freewrites on the theme, here are the links from latest to last:-

  1. The Empty Chair #8 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Palimpsest]
  2. The Empty Chair #7 -Weekend Freewrite 2/3/2018 - Single Prompt Option: Airplane
  3. The Empty Chair #6 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: The smell from within]
  4. The Empty Chair #5 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Elephant]
  5. The Empty Chair #4 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Cigarettes ]
  6. The Empty Chair #3 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Cracker]
  7. The Empty Chair #2 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Paint]
  8. The Empty Chair #1- (5 minute freewrite challenge) [Prompt: hardboiled minds]

The latest Day 109: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: yard sale

So here i continue the "Empty Chair" trail. I hope you enjoy reading it. Thanks again to @mariannewest and ya'll freewriters who keep upvoting and sharing in this trail. I cant be grateful enough for how much you helped welcome me, and since supported me, making sure to curate my works, and to happily keep dropping me links to latest prompts every now and again.

I can't name all, but the following quickly come to mind, and of them, i make heartfelt mention, meaning to say: THANK YOU:- @byn, @omra-sky, @wandrnrose7, @snook, @lindahas, @deirdyweirdy, @miniature-tiger, @f3nix, @deaconlee, @simgirl and many others.

I am equally indebted to @terrycraft, @wilx, @majes, @digit, @jdbry, @idnit, the @christian-trail, @hr1 ...all of who continue to selflessly curate my works and help steer my growth here at steemit. I can't be grateful enough for your giant upvotes and comments.


Prompt - Yard sale


This was the first time since Jeff’s demise 5 years ago that Claire had set foot inside the Study. But it seemed it was only yesterday. And now even as the sales helps carried out the furniture, the tables, the thought of stopping the yard sale lingered. She felt guilty. Was she giving up on Jeff, ridding every reminder of his memory?
Memories now competed for precedence. Nights of Jeff on his denim Jeans leaning on the table, her on her pinks sited cross-legged. Hours of painting her curves, while she wrote 5 minute freewrites of their days together, for steemit; the hide and seek games. His favorite hide was behind the shelves; hers was behind the wooden chair…
Traveled into deep reminiscence, it was another voice that jerked back Claire,
“This one mum!?” the sales help inquired, pointing at the empty chair.
Claire remained silent, unsure of what to say. But Jeff’s dying assurances returned: “This is the end of my life, not yours!”
“Whooosh”, Claire sighed. ”Until we meet again”, she now said, allowing the tears to flow as she nodded at the sales help.


The Empty Chair trail on #freewrite Continues ....

Sort:  

This was an emotional #freewrite...thank you for sharing and I'll be on the lookout for more of The Empty Chair series!


I decided to take a crack at today's prompt using The Most Dangerous Writing App. It was a bit terrifying to think I could lose my work at any moment but it really kept me in the spirit of the #freewrite! Anyways, here's my post! Let me know in the comments what you think =)

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mkkenny13/dailyfreewritechallenge-day-109-yard-sale

hello! Thanks for reading the series. Sorry i could look up and give my thoughts on yours sooner. I have been having bandwidth issues the greater length of today. But it is well now. Let me run to your pronto.

Oh no! Hopefully the bandwidth issues don't deter you from posting! Keep on writing man!

This one gave me goosebumps! I love this empty chair series. And I'm so happy that you jumped in with freewriting. Some of the things that the proms pull out of us is amazing, isn't it? It is very hard to let go of beloved objects. But this is a wonderful example of Letting Go and moving on in life.

This freewrite thing is doing wonders for me, pushing me, challenging me to depths of creativity even i could not have thought possible previously. I mean, it is amazing to read the prompt, and then watch the mind run through the options in so quick a time, i am often left bewildered myself. its great stuff. You can imagine since i jumped in, i have hardly missed a day without posting, something i used to, before. Thanks @wandrnrose7 for the unwavering support.
I have dropped in today's prompt a little late. Bandwidth issue!

It is very amazing thing and opens a whole new section of the brain. I'm glad to see you posting regularly!

And thanks for your support. I am pushing along, aiming to make at least 24 Empty Chair freewrites before opting in for another theme. Thanks, again

You are welcome and that's a great goal!

You have amazing focus! And you've done very well with the chair theme. I always enjoy what you share. Keep up the good work!

I will. Thanks, always.

I am now a fan of this Empty Chair series. Looking forward to what's next! :)

Thanks @rhei86. I will be writing at least one every other day. Today i wrote the 12. My target is to make at least 24 empty chair freewrites, before opting in for another theme. thanks for coming along...stay along!

Wow!! You go so very deep so fast!! Well done!

Thanks for the compliments, as always.
Unfortunate i am a little late for the party today. ..bandwidth stuff!

You are such a good writer. Carry on.

Thanks for the compliments, and for sharing in this trail.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68313.70
ETH 3663.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66