The Empty Chair #2 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Paint]

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)


Here is the link to the today's challenge: Day 102: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: paint


Prompt: Paint


The pendulum clock ticked. Tick-tock-tick-tock….It needn’t have sounded that loud, if not for the dead silence…
As there she stood statuesque, her breath in and held, and here he sat, his waterbrush stroking, blending, shading…
“A minute more,” he said, unwilling to interrupt the swipe and stroke of the bristles when she bulged her eyes, impatient to see his latest painting of her…
Daily they took five-minute turns, her to write for him a pome; him to paint her a picture
Today he was taking unusually long. “Time up dad” she gloated. And he smiled, “it’s your birth day, sweety” “I have to develop your curves!”
“Time up!”
“I have to deepen your dimples, pumpkin!”
“Daddyyyy!”
“I have to grow your hair bald head!”
“Da..” she started, when another voice intruded, “Claire"
And she was jerked from her reverie, the smile quickly giving way. She started bliniking.
Her mother quickly reachedd out, “Come here pumpkin.|
And her tears gave way, poured. “He used to paint from this chair.” “I know sweet heart, I know,” her mother said, catching her into her arms, her own eyes misting, as stores of similar memories of poems and painting broke loose!

Sort:  

This is a very good freewrite... and a bit sad. A great deal of emotion in 5 minutes

The 'empty chair" is a powerful theme @wandrnrose. At some point in our lives, all of us must contend with at least one 'empty chair', be it a sibling, a spouse, a friend, a classmate, a work mate....the list is endless.

#freewrite challenge is the best! There is no better place for me to capture in so free, and so fast ,my creative outpourings.

Now i have challenged myself to wait for every daily prompt, and to in each, find and write of 'an empty chair' moral.

I did the same with the prompt of the other day: Hard boiled minds. You might love it as well. Here is the link. https://steemit.com/freewrite/@ebitularmbert/the-empty-chair-5-minute-freewrite-challenge

I will be doing the same for every other daily prompt .

Thanks for the compliments. I am glad to make, and to keep your acquaintance.

A bit sad but I loved the liveness of the dialogues and descriptions! Keep up the good freewriting!

Just a one slight mind tweak brought the dialogue! Once it occurred to me that the dad's painting had to take center-stage, as cued by the prompt, i knew it had to be the focus of dialogue. I think it is easier to make a quick point, to liven any moment through dialogue.

And the descriptions! It is the same. A paint brush is the one tool we artists, including wordsmiths daily indulge, whether on 'windows paint' drawing (i actually designed my #freewrite logo using 'windows paint') or at home...

And yes, it is sad. The 'empty chair' theme, is as wide and as deep as it get. And yet despite so, regardless of how you approach it, it somehow ends with a heartache of some sort.

You know, we all at some point in our lives have an 'empty chair' , a friend, a sibling, spouse, workmate...demised, moved to another place, left for another job....Its endless.

I am challenging myself to find in daily prompts, an 'empty chair' moral, and to write on them. I did the same with my first entry, which i have to say, has inspired my whole 'empty chair' obsession now.

Have you read it? https://steemit.com/freewrite/@ebitularmbert/the-empty-chair-5-minute-freewrite-challenge.

It was my first entry, just minutes after i came across @mariannewest post the day before.

Thanks for the encouragement @f3nix.

I am glad to make your acquaintance.

I'm glad to know you too @ebitularmbert .. an empty chair is never really empty if we can fill it with all the memories and feelings for our beloved one who passed away. Let's let these feelings flourish and grow strong as I'm sure they would like to see us happy 🙂

passed away, changed residence, moved on from our lives.....true. You here aptly state what the other side of the coin is.

This very touching. Beautifully done.

Thanks for the compliments. The 'empty chair ' theme has particularly caught my instincts since penning my first freewrite early yesterday https://steemit.com/freewrite/@ebitularmbert/the-empty-chair-5-minute-freewrite-challenge.

Now i am challenging myself to find in every daily prompt, an 'an empty' chair moral and to write on it. Every prompt has to have 'an empty chair' moral in one way or another, i am convinced. The 'empty chair' theme is as wide and deep as it gets.

Thanks for the compliments @omra-sky.
Rest assured i am really having challenging fun in this whole freewrite stuff!

Otherwise i am glad to here make, and to now have the opportunity to keep your acquaintance.

Very well done. You hit a lot of points quickly and well.

Once i grasped the father 'painting' idea, i thought, Well, it has to take center-stage. And i thought it would come easier and faster through dialogue.

Thanks for the compliments @dennisauburn .

I am glad to make, and to keep, your acquaintance.

Nicely developed! The silence imposed by being the model and the silence of remembrance overlap so the divergence at the end isn't jarring. It works well.

Here's today's prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-102-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-cracker

Thanks for compliments @miniature-tiger.

And for the link to the latest prompt. Let me quickly get to it now. My bandwidth has been all sorts of wayward! But it appears improved for now. Let me get to the link pronto.

You really showed the relationship the two had! We can feel the love between them and then, the loss!!

I am indulging in this 'empty chair ' emotion for some while, for every daily prompt you give. I think that there is to be found in every prompt, an emotion, sad or glad relating to something about the empty chair. Thanks for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73