The Empty Chair #13 - (5 minute freewrite challenge)[Prompt - Ski]

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

The sight of my neighbor killed my excitement. I was expecting a strong, muscular partner...

The latest Day 113: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: ski

If you missed my last freewrites on the theme, here are the links from latest to last:-

  1. The Empty Chair #12 - (5 minute freewrite challenge)[Picture prompt]
  2. The Empty Chair #11 - (5 minute freewrite challenge)[prompt: Dream]
  3. The Empty Chair #10 - (5 minute freewrite challenge)[prompt: California]
  4. The Empty Chair #9 - (5 minute freewrite challenge)[prompt: yard sale]
  5. The Empty Chair #8 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Palimpsest]
  6. The Empty Chair #7 -Weekend Freewrite 2/3/2018 - Single Prompt Option: Airplane
  7. The Empty Chair #6 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: The smell from within]
  8. The Empty Chair #5 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Elephant]
  9. The Empty Chair #4 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Cigarettes ]
  10. The Empty Chair #3 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Cracker]
  11. The Empty Chair #2 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Paint]
  12. The Empty Chair #1- (5 minute freewrite challenge) [Prompt: hardboiled minds]

Prompt - Ski



Credit: google

The sight of my neighbor killed my excitement. I was expecting a strong, muscular partner. This was my first time going to ski, and I had goose bumps, picturing myself dangling up there…. A strong, experienced partner was surely preferable, not that I feared, but I mean, just….just.
Now this grey head! The seat was surely as good as empty! Good thing he had nothing to say, I thought. Then he disappointed further, spoke, to himself, no doubt.
“The first time can be nervous!”
This was not just some old creaky risker; it was also his first time. “Don’t worry”, I said, with as much courage as only an accomplished skier can boast of, “you will get used to it.”
“Sure, just sit tight,” he said as we approached the top station.
Soon we reached the flat area, then the sloped area…time to leave the chair lift….
How events unfolded, the last I remember was sliding off before I went tumbling. Was it above or with the grey head? How bad must the accident have been for his old bones?
I was even in my pain, more worried about him than myself, when I heard a voice speaking, was it over, or next to me...
“Don’t worry son,” he said, “Just sit tight. Old skiers never die!” That was when I realized, it was time to leave the chairlifts…
**


The Empty Chair trail on #freewrite Continues ....

Sort:  

The empty chair strikes again!
I didn't realise you already collected so many freewrites..how fast time passes damn.

Welcome to the weekend freewrite banquet! Another seven days have passed in a blink and every day we grow stronger thanks to the energy of our limitless creativity! But let’s just cut to the chase, here is the menu that our master chef @mariannewest has expertly prepared for us:
Delicatessen #1 – Single prompt option
Delicatessen #2 – Weekend freewrite in three parts: 1- 2 - 3

How time flies! Even i have a hard time believing i have already penned well over a dozen freewrites since stumbling into this kitchen....

I am going with the single prompt option again this weekend. Thanks for the heads up. let me pen it up quickly. thanks

You're welcome .. i find your empty chair obsession very original! Have always fun expressing yourself 😉

The pleasure is mine

Interesting!! I actually did fall out of a c=skilift - but just getting off too early :)

Ah yes, the anticipation factor. You don't know whether to be scared or excited, I tend to go back and forth between both when heading out on a new and dangerous adventure. Even if the danger is minimal, your mind can think up a thousand ways to die or be maimed. At least, if you have a hyperactive imagination you can think those things up, but you can also think of all the good things that might happen. 🙂

True. How much more for a first-timer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63