The Empty Chair #1- (5 minute freewrite challenge) [Prompt: hardboiled minds]

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Where have I been not to notice this #freewrite stuff! ! I just bumped on this very sweet daily challenge, and have quickly scribbled my entry, my first. I am excited. Now I can daily mind waste!

I am glad @mariannewest. Still out there in the cold like I was until 10 minutes ago? Here is the link to this wonderful daily challenge: Day 101!!!! - More Freewrite History and a Contest of Sorts



Everyone else as chitchatting, all troupes around, were all in some kind of talk, others loud, others hushed, but at least talking.

Little Claire kept hopping, wondered away from mama and papa. Everyone seemed so busy that when she arrived at the far table by the window, she was surprised,

One table, six grey heads, and all sat in silence. Did any even notice the tea cups were steaming out, running cold as they sat there, the 7 year old wondered.

Such hardboiled minds! Or, well, they all seemed apparently taken up with one object, an empty chair on the other end of their table

She loitered nearer, tapped the bald head who kept tickling his long beared, albeit with the most intense gaze at the empty chair. The entire troupe of six was awakened.

What was on the empty chair that they were all looking at? Claire wondered, and as every grey head now regarded her, she pointed at the empty chair, saying nothing.

“And they all looked back at it. For a while, none moved, no word passed.

Then one spoke, his voice husky: "We were once seven, little one! he sat there!|


Sort:  

Good luck guys with that 5 min freewrite. @mariannewest is one of the nicest, most supportive people I met on Steemit.
BTW, your @ebitularmbert is a good story, I guess I would write something with alike theme for that title too. Empty chair brings to mind someone who used to be with us and is not anymore...

True. Here in a class re-union, there in a family anniversary!

Here in a memorable trip, there in a celebrated event!

Here in a family dining table, there in a work cafeteria..

.....after some while in our lives, (all of us) we have to live with the reality of an empty chair!

It is a theme as wide as any theme can possibly be, not least because it speaks from, and to our life's histories.

Yes, it is...
And I am sure your story will do great in that contest!

I hope the same, rest assured, nonetheless, i am having fun. I saw today's prompt just about 30 minutes after @mariannewest posted it, but my bandwidth was down. Its up now, an i can respond to all these sincere welcomes by all freewriters!

I have also just penned another freewrite. Its fun. I assure you. Thanks

Thank you for the heads up, going there to read it now :-)

Toc! Toc! I'm the little monday Marianne's Helper. There's a new prompt for you:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-102-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-paint

Welcome in the freewriters community!

I am grateful for the warm welcome from you all freewriters. I truly am. This is a true community. Thanks for the link. I actually saw it quiet early, just about 30 minutes after @mariannewest posted - i had been waiting for it the whole day! lol- But my bandwidth was unfortunately down. But now its up, and i am glad to be able to thank you all for welcoming me to the wonderful community.

I have obviously straight away penned another freewrite.

Thanks, again. I am happy, excited to make, and to keep your acquaintance.

I'm always behind you

And i am very happy @fasteem. Thanks.

That is a great story, welcome to the freewrite! @mariannewest has tried to create an atmosphere that helps turn loose our creative powers and spirit, the biggest rule here is to just have fun and make lots of new friends. 🙂

Its is probably one of the best as can be found around. It frees my instincts in such a manner as can only be fun. I am obviously excited, and should be daily involved. Such fun is hard to over look for passionate writers. Thanks @deaconlee for the welcome, let me just take my seat next to yours!

Absolutely, glad to have you! 👍

Welcome to freewrite. It is great fun. :-)

Fun it is! Thanks for the heads up! @mr-neil

Very good for a five minute write. It would have taken me more than five minutes just to come up with the story.
Resteemed.
Nick

Quick impromptu thinking is a kind of thing i have been at for a while, ranging from stories to poetry. And if you are it for a while, it sort of comes a little easier, i think.

Thanks for the encouragement, and the resteem. @nicktravers

I'm better at long form stories, but I need to get better at short form. I've been having a go here, but maybe I'll give the 5 minute challenge a go too.

There is nothing to lose, mate. Give it a go.

You should give it a try @nicktravers, there are rules for those who like order to their lives, and then there are those of us who throw out the rules and do our own thing with the prompt lol. In doing so we claim the "Free" part of freewrite. So I guess we are sort of like "Burger King" whose advertising slogan is "Have it your way." The biggest rule in @mariannewest's freewrites is to just have fun!

And fun it is. I know of freedom as being expression unconstrained, without fear of being judged, weighed, the weight of grammatical correctness...and all that stuff that is the the death of many a brilliant literary idea. #freewrite apparently allows that freedom...no more writers block sort of thing for me. lol!

That's right, we want to get all of those creative juices flowing so that you can turn something that started out as just a fun exercise, into an idea that generates a masterpiece. Imaginative ideas and unique thoughts are prized in freewrites over technique and etiquette. But just getting cognitive words on paper in a short period of time when given a simple prompt is a step forward for someone with writer's block. 🙂

You say it all too well. THanks

How wonderfully you have captured the free thinking spirit of being seven again! Great freewrite. I'm so glad you found us! It is such a wonderful community!

@byn

You think so? I am honored. I am. truly. You should know i am really having fun. I have this strong penchant for impromptu thinking and writing, the kind that has until now, not found its free-ast expression. Freewite has freed it, and i am excited, and planning on making sure i am in it daily.

I am glad to make, and to keep your acquaintance, @byn.

I love the freewrites for that same reason! I even did a freewrite LIVE at a coffeeshop (basically improv storytelling with prompts from the audience) I love how inspiring it all is. I hope to read more freewrites from you in the future.

I will gladly keep writing. Thanks, very.

Thanks for joining us.

:)

The pleasure is mine @metzli. This is such a wonderful community. I am excited, and planning to make best use of this vessel for free expression.

Thanks for welcoming me. I am glad to make your acquaintance.

That a very good freewrite. I am glad you found this. It is lots of fun, and gives us a chance to write every day.... freely.

A lot of fun. A lot. I can't say it enough. The whole prompt thing now keeps me waiting and looking forward to everyday.

The "empty chair theme" is a powerful one. All of us at some point must contend with one, even more.

I am challenging myself to find in every daily prompt, an 'an empty chair' moral, and to write on the same. I did the same for yesterday's "paint" prompt.

You say it all so aptly. Such fun!

Here is a list of the contests on Steemit. There are many writing contests. So many, if you try to do them all you will need to make a schedule. :D Have fun!

https://steemit.com/contest/@artz/steemit-contest-compilation-29-01-04-02-win-free-sbd-and-steem

Wao! Much glad. Let me look them up now. Thanks again.

awwwww

Beautiful, beautiful story!!!!!!!!!!

your mind is a wonderful thing to be able to come up with this heartfelt story with that prompt!
Bravo!!!!

Thanks for the compliments. "The empty Chair" is a powerful theme, as it speaks from, and to our histories. Obviously we all at some point in our lives get an empty Chair! A spouse, a friends, a workmate, a sibling, your boss, a sparring partner, a dad, a mum.....The list is endless.
I have just discovered this #freewrite challenge. And it is great fun. Now i am especially challenging myself to keep finding and capturing "an empty" chair moral in every daily prompt.

I did the same for yesterday's "Paint " prompt.

Here is the link: It might equally interest you.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@ebitularmbert/the-empty-chair-2-5-minute-freewrite-challenge

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62759.93
ETH 3112.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87