STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #18 : Wild Weed Salad - 16 wild plants - with foraging ID quizsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

It's 16 weeds and the last of the garden tomatoes. Ripe tomatoes in March? Yes! Come into my post and see!

ST59754d.jpg



Step 1. Forage the greens

My salad greens all came from my yard. I just took a walk. I took all the photos first, because that takes a lot longer than actually picking everything. This photo collage shows the plants that I foraged. I put their names in a list down at the end of this post. I include the scientific names in the plant list, because common names vary from place to place. Do you recognize any of them? Which ones do you have growing around you? Many of these plants are weeds or garden escape artists and grow all over the world.

PicMonkeyImageae006.jpg



Step 2. Bring the harvest back to the kitchen

Back in the kitchen, I lay all my greens out to double-check that I don't have any non-edible plants. And I cull any poor quality plants. The numbers in these images are different than in the collage above. Can you match the right numbers? Can you recognize any of them? Are any of your favorite wild greens here?

ST6c254f.jpg

ST77f9ce.jpg

ST86d00a.jpg



Step 3. Make the Salad

Once I review all my plants, I put all the vegetation in a big pan to rinse them well. With all the winter weather, these plants can have mud and grit on them. And they can have slugs or snails on them, too. So it's important to rinse everything really well.

Then I drain the plants and chop them finely. I don't just chop them once, but a few times over. Chopping up all the greenery is not in fashion at fancy restaurants, but this is what makes a weed salad so tasty. By chopping them so finely, all the flavors mix together. You can see that my big pile of greens ends up a lot smaller in the final pile.

ST39583c.jpg



Step 4. Make the Salad Topping

Yes, I still have tomatoes from my garden in 2016. I pull all the tomato plants in October. I take the green tomatoes and put them in carboard trays. I'll write a post with the details soon. But I end up with tomatoes ripening slowly all through the winter. This is the last of my supply, now in March. So this salad is a great way to use up the last of them.

I also went out into my yard and got some garden escape artists: Jerusalem Artichokes and Elephant Garlic. Do not bring those muddy roots back into the kitchen to wash off! NO! Let them soak in some water outdoors and the mud will fall off on its own. Then, and only then, bring them into the kitchen, if you value functional plumbing!

ST2e04d6.jpg

I slice up the tomatoes, the Jerusalem Artichokes and the lower stems of the Elephant Garlic. At this point in the late winter and early spring, Elephant Garlic is more like a Leek, but it's a Spring Leek.

The leaves on the Elephant Garlic are too tough to use directly in a salad now. So I make Fermented Elephant Garlic Leaves. I'll make a post about that soon, too. But it's easy - just leaves and a tiny bit of salt. For this salad, I am using some fermented elephant garlic leaves that I made last year. They are the the dark pile in the lower right of the picture. I finely chop them, but I've left some long in the picture so you can see what they look like.

I put all that in a bowl and poured on some olive oil and added some fresh-cracked black pepper. I let that sit for a couple hours. I forgot to take a picture of all that in the bowl. So you will have to imagine that pile sitting in a bowl.



Step 5. Enjoy a Healthy Salad

Its easy to make this salad. Fill a big bowl with all those greens. Arrange the sardines on top. Add the marinated toppings, finish off with a few crackers. For dessert, I have a little bowl of plum compote that I canned from my homegrown harvest.

ST455f3f.jpg

<Ingredients: Weeds, elephant garlic (fresh and leaves fermented), tomatoes, Jerusalem artichokes, olive oil, black pepper, sardines in water.

It may not be the prettiest salad. But it's a great-tasting salad! And you know it is healthy with all those deeply colored greens and the protein from the fish. Would you be better off eating a weed salad every day? I know I would! But spring is almost here - and then it is weed salads every day! Yay!



Plant List

This list goes with the 16-plant collage in section 1. Can you match up these plants with the right numbers in section 2? Put your answers down in the comments. I'll let you know if you are right or not!

  1. Cats-ear - Hypochaeris radicata - winter leaves are tender and mild
  2. Wild chives - Allium schoeneprasum - leaves from fall through spring
  3. Cleavers - Galium aparine - leaves late winter to late spring
  4. English daisy – Bellis perennis – leaves from fall through early summer
  5. Purple deadnettle - Lamium purpureum - leaves fall through early spring
  6. Lemon balm – Melissa officinalis - it lasts from spring through fall
  7. Hedge mustard – Sisymbrium officinale - leaves from fall through early summer
  8. Dandelion greens and flowers – Taraxacum officinale – winter leaves are tender and mild
  9. Spearmint - Mentha spicata - it lasts from spring until deep winter
  10. Dovesfoot Geranium = Geranium molle - late winter through early summer
  11. Bittercress - Cardamine hirsuta - leaves fall to early summer
  12. Nipplewort - Lapsana communis - leaves fall through spring
  13. Field mustard greens – Brassica rapa – leaves from fall through early summer
  14. Chickweed - Stellaria media - from fall through spring
  15. Wild arugula - Diplotaxis tenuifolia - leaves all year, except for deepest cold
  16. Yellow Dock - Rumex crispus - young leaves in the spring

Quiz answers - Here are the plants corresponding to the numbers on the cutting board pictures:
1=chickweed, 2=geranium, 3-field mustard, 4=arugula, 5=galium, 6=dock, 7=bittercress, 8=cats ear, 9=hedge mustard, 10=dandelion, 11=chives, 12=deadnettle, 13=lemon balm, 14=daisies, 15=nipplewort, 16=spearmint.


What Do You Think?

Are there any wild plants to eat in your area this time of year? Do you enjoy any of these weeds in other times of the year? Are you interested in eating wild plants in 2017? If there are any specific plants from this salad, or others that I've posted about, that you want to know more about, let me know. I'll put together a post about it.

Being able to eat wild plants, especially weeds, is the epitome of sustainability. The plants in this salad took absolutely zero effort from anyone, except for the picking and cooking. They take care of themselves. Many of them are invasive weeds, so we can pick all that we want. That's incredible and sustainable. I truly hope that every one of you can find wild plants around you, especially weeds, that are good to eat. This is real food for regular people. It's incredibly good food.

I write about foraging because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wilderness.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

@haphazard-hstead the fun of the quiz .. earlier the ingredients were off so I was trying to guess while waiting lol

1- wild forget me nots?
2 - geraniums
3 - toadflax?
5 - cleavers
7 - cleaver's flowers? look like but doubtful at the tip color
8 - looks like cat's ears?
9 - wild arugula?
10 - dandelion
11 - chives?
14 - english daisy
15 - nipplewort?

damn I googled them wahahahha

anyway This is the last entry as of 12:35 am here.

Good luck!

I added that section, so you can compare. But I left it so you can try to match up the plants in the collage and plant list, with the ones on the cutting board. I'll check anyone's answers, if they want to try their hand at identification! There are so many great weeds to eat out there! :D

@haphazard-hstead nyah!
I answered based on the numbering on the chopping board - it's not the same is it?

Sorry for my stale, old reply, lol. I've been out of town, with many hours on a train with no internet! No, the numbers are not the same. The grid and the list go together. I will put the correct answers in an edit to this post. Here's the answers for the plants laid out on the cutting board:

Quiz answers - Here are the plants corresponding to the numbers on the cutting board pictures:
1=chickweed, 2=geranium, 3-field mustard, 4=arugula, 5=galium, 6=dock, 7=bittercress, 8=cats ear, 9=hedge mustard, 10=dandelion, 11=chives, 12=deadnettle, 13=lemon balm, 14=daisies, 15=nipplewort, 16=spearmint.

@haphazard-hstead your stale comments are always welcome
as long as you're safe thats what matters
yesterday I found a few weed.. do you happen to know one that looks like a tulip - has a bulb like a tulip but smells like garlic?
Hubby put them back in the soil .. after I diligently dug them up thinking I should check it out cause it could actually be food. I really think those were weed but thanks to your stale comments I got me an idea - I'll take a pic next time and bring them home to google and compare - he he

I don't eat any plant without knowing what it is. But Ramps, rampions, or wild leeks (all Allium tricoccum) have wide leaves that look a lot like tulips, but with a mild garlic-like bulb. Taking a picture is a good idea -- and I'm always up for a quiz, lol, even though I'm sure you have different plants from North America. These wild leeks are North American natives. But you may have elephant garlic (Allium ampeloprasum), too. They would have a big bulb right now, because they haven't split into their bug cloves yet.

Gorgeous food post. I can tell that you put a lot of effort into it and it really shows. Great entry into the challenge, best of luck to you

Thanks! It was a great salad, but what weed salad isn't delicious, lol. They are all good! :D

Congratulations!! I'm so happy that your salad won the first prize :) Hurray!!

Thanks! It was a nice surprise. A weed salad has got to be a healthy salad, with so many different kinds of plants. And I had to walk around and bend over to pick all the greens, lol. Exercise! : )

Exercise and also plant control :)

Always, plant control is an important reason for eating weeds! ; )

Upvoted by @foraging-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @foraging-trail
You can find out more about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here and here. Join us In the Foraging-Trail and let's discuss Foraging Related Topics

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.08 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Oh wow, that looks DELICIOUS! I'm totally craving a giant salad now.

Thanks! Weeds make great salads! Chopping them up really does make weed salads taste better, with so many different flavors from the different weeds. I hope you get to eat some seeds sometime!

One man's weed is another man's feed!!! Looks like a great meal, and that's a pretty sweet fork too. Resteemed.

Thanks, @cognoscere! I really do like these big weed salads! And thanks for noticing my fork. It's from my grandmother's grandmother. It's so old. I have three of these and I use them a lot. Forks can last a long time, lol!

Another great looking weedy meal!

Congratulations on first place! I'm very happy it was your fresh and foraged dish that won!

Thanks! It was a surprise to see. I've been on the road and unable to reply. I hope everyone gets to have a salad as good as this one! Spring is a perfect time for great salads!

Indeed it is!

Now I'm struggling to think of a good idea for this crepes theme... sometimes too many options aren't good!

There's still time for both of us to make a crepe post, but not much, lol. At least they are quick to make! ; )

I've decided to have a vegan meal this evening because if this post. Thanks for the Inspiration and recipe.

You're welcome! There are so many great tasting weeds out there. They make some delicious salads! I could eat these every day. It's easy in the springtime! Enjoy your dinner this evening!

What a nice surprise! I've been out of town, unconnected, so couldn't respond. I hope everyone gets to have a salad as good as this one, sometime!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63633.54
ETH 3477.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54