Another Free Hotel Salad - Wild Style! - trees, vines, weeds and a great salad!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I foraged this wild salad around my hotel. It was better than any meal I had the whole week I was working in Washington, DC, earlier this month. And it was free! Come into my post and see what I found and how I made my salad.

x DSC05508 WEB2.jpg

I was in the city for a week of meetings and hob-nobbing, with a lot of restaurant meals and catered working lunches. I made this salad after my work obligations were over. I had scheduled an extra day to enjoy the sights. So before I headed out, I went to pick my lunch, to enjoy it later in the day.



1. Foraging My Salad

In an urban setting, I don't pick by busy roadways, where plants might get sprayed with chemicals, where soils might be contaminated, or from protected parks. But there are still plenty of good places to pick -- like an overgrown area behind the hotel. What did I see? Wild grape vines and two different kinds of mulberry trees!

x DSC05497 WEB.jpg

Tender young leaves and tendrils from wild grapes can have a tart lemon tanginess. But every vine is a little different. These weren't sour like my Concord grape vines back at Haphazard Homestead. These Riverbank grapes (Vitis riparia) had a mild greens flavor.

Young mulberry leaves have a mild greens flavor, too. Most of the leaves I found were too old and tough to eat, but the trees were still putting on new growth from the tips of their branches. The youngest leaves were still tender.

x DSC05485 WEB.jpg
This leaf on a Red Mulberry tree is tender new growth. By June, leaves from older branches are too mature and tough for a salad. But this new growth is thinner and plenty tender. It's not bitter, just a good greens taste.

I wasn't concerned about eating these grape and mulberry leaves. The hotel groundskeepers were clearly hacking the plants back and tossing the debris into the wild area. They weren't spraying the wild area, either - it was growing thick and lush, without any twisted or discolored vegetation.

The mulberry trees had lots of ripe fruit, too! So it was easy to tell that I had two kinds of mulberries. The fruit of the Red Mulberry (Morus rubra) is a deep purple-black when it's ripe -- not red! The red fruit are not ripe. They are green and not worth picking. The white fruit are even less mature!

x DSC05482 WEB.jpg
The ripe fruit worth picking have stars next to them. The other fruit aren't ripe enough for a salad. If I was making jam, I would pick the dark ones on the far left and in the middle, too.

The White Mulberry (Morus alba) has the sweetest fruits - they are super sweet! Both the green and ripe fruit are white. But the ripe fruit are much more plump and they take on a glossy look -- like a sweet little grub, lol. The sweetest ones have a faint pink hue, too. They are so good! I've noted the ripe mulberries with the white stars.

x DSC05495 WEB.jpg
Many field guides emphasize the smoothness of the leaves on Red Mulberry trees and the fuzziness of leaves on White Mulberries. I've never noticed much of a difference.

x DSC05496 WEB2.jpg
These white mulberries are the best, with their light pink blush.

I found a big dandelion, too, growing under some trees. Dandelion leaves can get big in the shade! I didn't take a picture of the dandelion, though, until it was in my salad bowl. Even in a hot place like Washington, DC, in June, there are can be dandelions tasty enough for a salad. I'll show you what I mean in a future post.



2. Traveling With My Salad

I had a container left over from a take-out lunch earlier in the week. I put my greens in one container. I made sure to pick clean and pick organized, as always! I put my mulberries in an empty little cardboard box that had cookies in it. It's a good thing I eat healthy salads to balance out the things I eat that are not so good for me! The box kept my mulberries from getting crushed.

I brought along an orange from the hotel's guest fruitbowl and some water, too. Then I headed out on a rented bicycle, along the Potomac River, towards the U.S. Capitol.

x bike ride WEB.jpg
Washington, DC, has a nice system of bike stations all across the city. It's easy to check them in and out at different locations all through the day. It's perfect for sightseeing. I rode my bike from the Georgetown area to all the monuments at the National Mall.

x potomac river WEB.jpg
I rode on a bike trail that runs all along the Potomac River. The river has woods all along the river and bike trails that go for miles! The river is a real retreat from the bustle of the city!



3. Making My Salad

To make my salad, I washed and the greens in my container, drained them, and then chopped them into small pieces.

x salad 1 WEB.jpg
Top: My salad greens. 1=mulberry leaves, 2=grape leaves and vine tendrils, 3=monster dandelion leaves. Bottom: I soaked the greens in water and rinsed them well, too.

I peeled and chopped the orange. And then I added the mulberries. I mixed it all and let it sit about 10 minutes. That let the juices from the orange blend with everything, like a salad dressing.

x salad 2 WEB.jpg
Top left: from left to right are the red mulberries, white mulberries, the chopped orange, and my chopped greens. Cutting the greens into small pieces really helps mix their flavors. Top right: I filled that Oreo box with mulberries, with the red mulberries on the bottom and white mulberries on the top. Lower left: That's a great, great salad! Lower right: It was easy to eat the whole salad! Delicious!

This was a great salad! I would serve this salad to anyone, it was that good! With some sliced red onion and black pepper, this could be served in any fancy restaurant, no question about it!



Plant List

  1. Riverbank grape - Vitis riparia - tender young leaves and tendrils
  2. Dandelion – Taraxacum officinale - monster greens, growing in the shade, center rib stripped out (that's a trick that most people don't know)
  3. Red mulberry - Morus rubra - tender young leaves and ripe fruit
  4. White mulberry - Morus alba - tender young leaves and ripe fruit

What Do You Think?

I hope you get to enjoy such a great wild salad sometime! Wonderful ingredients may be near you, even if you travel to a big city!

  • Do you eat grape tendrils and young leaves?
  • Do you use dandelion leaves in salads?
  • Do you eat mulberry leaves?
  • Do you eat mulberry fruit?
  • Would you try eating my wild hotel salad?

If you want to see my first Wild Hotel Salad post, here it is: Free Hotel Salad - Wild Style! It's from the Colorado Front Range in March. I'll be posting some other travel foraging from this spring, too, so say tuned!


I write about foraging because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wild places.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the #Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

Sort:  

You can have all the grapevines on my property for free. I have plenty...

;~P

haha -- I eat off my grapevines here at home, too. They are monster vines that sometimes threaten to take over my house, even. Lots of eating, spring and fall, from those grape vines! Enjoy your grapes - and maybe their tendrils, too. : )

Mine are that aggressive, too. Might be time I bite back - literally!
Good advice!

That's an incentive to keep the grape vines in check, for sure. I don't think I could eat enough of my grape vines, but it does help!

I will always upvote gathering, especially mulberries. Resteemed and followed too, fellow forager!

I'm glad you enjoy mulberries. So many people are afraid of them for some reason. A tree full of ripe mulberries is nice to find! I hope you find some, too, this summer!

I always love your salad making style! Learning so much from reading your posts! Another great share!

Thanks, @amy-goodrich. I'm always surprised what will be in my salads. It all depends on what's growing around me, lol! Enjoy your salads, too! :D

I've said it before... but I really should start doing that too! But I'm too scared to eat something that I really shouldn't eat! There is so much growing here in the tropics! maybe I should look for a tropical edible plant course. I'm sure it exists!

The tropics are a whole different ecosystem. There are so many different plants. There are strategies, though. I think it starts with trees, because they don't move and last for years. So find out about the trees around you as a start, and build from their. Of course, you have so many other great fruits, like mangoes and avocadoes. They would make everything else seem like a waste of time, lol! ; )

I like my greens though!

I do like my tree leaves. I may be a human giraffe. But there are some good tree leaves to eat!

Hehe! I'm too small to munch straight of the trees hehe!

I'm always glad when there's some low-hanging branches!

That is a most excellent homemade salad. What fun to make on the road too. You are so good and creative at making these mobile travel-salads. Looks so good and very good for you as well. Thanks for the information on how to tell the ripe-ness of the fruit. We used to have a mulberry at my house growing up...and I think we ate them too early. Live and learn. Thanks for the great post and all the eating information.

I like to see what I can find to eat when I travel -- and not just at restaurants, either, lol. It's a fun personal challenge, with good rewards! It looks like you survived your under-ripe mulberries. But now you know how to pick them at their best! :D

Your salad looks yummy and healthy from nature! I especially like the Mulberry tree, it looks beautiful when there are plenty of the fruits on the tree. I usually visit my neighbor's garden and there is one tree. It's great! Nice scenery pictures from your travel around the city. Riding bicycle is good for health! ;)

I'm glad to hear that you have a Mulberry Tree near you! In the US, many people think they are poison. I have asked people if I could pick from the trees in their yard, and have had to explain to them that the berries are OK to eat. That's happened over and over in different places! I'm glad you enjoy eating them!

That's the great things nearby my house and I enjoyed seeing them! ;)

:D

That is amazing, your salad looks delicious :)

It was so good! I was happy to find those mulberry trees!

You should have took some cuttings then try to grow them at home :)

That would have been a good idea! I'll have to try that next time I see a mulberry tree. They do root pretty easily.

You could have your own supply :)

That would be nice, for sure! I really like mulberries!

when everyone else is starving you will be eating really good.. great post .. upvoted

Glad you enjoyed my salad! It would be nice if more people knew how much good food is all around them, that's for sure!

And now im hungry!

You should be -- this is a great salad! I would like one now, but I don't have any mulberry trees handy. I have to go forage something else this evening, lol! :D

Nice post @haphazard-hstead ! It looks quite tasty! Its amazing what you can rustle up,if you know what to look for! Happy foraging!

It seems like there is always something to eat or drink, if I look hard enough. All of these plants were so handy, how could I pass them by? ; ) Happy foraging to you, too!

My salads are boring! Yours always looks cool

They are always a surprise to me. And if the plants are too tough, then I can always make them into cooked greens. And that is wonderfully good, especially with some onion and ham or bacon!

I had never heard of eating grape vine or mulberry leaves before. Typically when I forage for wild greens I am looking tender young danilion, plantain, and black berry sprigs, maybe a little sorrel. Most other wild greens that I am aware of have to be boiled to take out the bitter taste and avoid an upset stomach.

You are enjoying some good eating with tender young dandelions and plantain, for sure! And the new blackberry shoots, too. And sorrel is always good! I do blanch and then cook a lot of greens, too. That's delicious.

For me, it depends on the condition of the plants. To extend the spring picking season, I look in shaded areas with good ground moisture, for plants that are 'behind' compared to ones in the sun. I also look in disturbed areas that are well watered, whether it's a garden or just a patch of ground that's gotten rain, to find brand new sprouts. And many edible trees and vines don't become bitter, just tough -- so then I look for the growing tips with the new growth. That can really extend the salad season. And then I can move to the summer greens, like lambsquarter, redroot pigweed, and purslane!

So cool you can build a street salad.

There' a lot of good food out there. I enjoy seeing what I can find when I travel. Spring and early summer are the easiest times of all.

I gotta go back and research more of your posts. I'm a weenie when it comes to that stuff but educated it could be a great skill to have in a self sustainable future.

I eat a lot of wild food because there's a lot of food out there! Some of it is pretty easy for anyone. A good way to start is to list all the plants that you know how to identify, rock solid. Then see if any of them are edible. You might be surprised. Trees are another easy start, because it's hard to get them completely wrong, and once you know a specific tree, you can count on it for years!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58445.33
ETH 3158.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22