STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #9 - Entry 1 : Winter Weed Salad - 15 wild plants - with foraging ID quizsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

My personal End-of-Year tradition is to eat one last meal of weeds or other wild food that I can find on December 31. This year, I was at home in Oregon's Willamette Valley, in the Pacific Northwest of the US. Come see what's in my last wild meal of 2016.

Winter is here - we've had a giant ice storm and temperatures down to 18-19 degrees Fahrenheit (-8 C). But there are still plants worth foraging! I hope you have some of these weeds in your future in 2017!

salad6caf7e.jpg


Step 1. Forage the greens

It may seem silly to try making a salad from winter weeds. But in my experience, there is a lot more greenery out there worth picking, especially if snow hasn't covered everything up for awhile. But it does help to know a few tips:

  1. Look in areas protected from the worst cold weather, like under trees or in tall grass.
  2. Learn to identify plants that can handle cold weather. Even though temperatures may drop, some plants perk up with even just a few warm days. Learn to identify those plants!
  3. Be picky! Don't just pick any greenery off a tasty plant. Look for the tender leaves. It's OK to pass by the leaves that are frost-damaged or tough.
  4. Pick clean. Who wants to be eating dead, dry chaff or plants that are not for eating!
  5. Pick organized. This makes it a lot easier in the kitchen to double-check that non-edible plants aren't in there.

My salad greens all came from my yard. I just took a walk. I took all the photos first, because that takes a lot longer than actually picking everything. These three photo collages show the plants that I foraged. The captions list their common names. But I include the scientific name in the plant list, because common names vary from place to place. Do you recognize any of them? Which ones do you have growing around you? Many of these plants are weeds and grow all over the world.

salad2ee612.jpg

Left: Chickweed and wild field mustard growing together. Center top: Cat's ear. Right top: Dandelion. Right bottom: Nipplewort. Center bottom: Hedge mustard. The middle leaf of the Hedge mustard isn't worth picking. But those two deep green leaves on either side are great!

salad3afccc.jpg

Top left: Bittercress. Top right: Purple deadnettle. Bottom right: Narrowleaf plantain. Bottom left: English daisy. Those daisies even have one little white flower trying to bloom!

salad10c3b4.jpg

Left: Wild arugula or rocket. Center top: Spearmint. Right top: Lemon balm. Right bottom: Wild chives. Center bottom: Elephant garlic leaves.


Step 2. Bring the harvest back to the kitchen

Back in the kitchen, I lay all my greens out to double-check that I don't have any non-edible plants. And I cull any poor quality plants. The numbers on each image correspond to the number in the plant identification list. Can you recognize any of them? Are any of your favorite wild greens here?

salad7a58f7.jpg

salad84f7b5.jpg


Step 3. Make the salad

Once I review all my plants, I put all the vegetation in a big pan to rinse them well. With all the winter weather, these plants can have mud and grit on them. And they can have slugs or snails on them, too. So it's important to rinse everything really well.

Then I drain the plants and chop them finely. I don't just chop them once, but a few times over. Chopping up all the greenery is not in fashion at fancy restaurants, but this is what makes a weed salad so tasty. By chopping them so finely, all the flavors mix together. You can see that my big pile of greens ends up a lot smaller in the final pile.

salad4f55c3.jpg

I put my chopped greens in a big salad bowl. I made a dressing out of olive oil, chopped homegrown tomatoes, diced Engelmann Spruce needles that I had used to make a great balsamic vinegar, and fresh-ground black pepper. I'll write a post about how I still have homegrown tomatoes ripening up from my last harvest in early October. I've mentioned my spruce tree balsamic vinegar in a previous post A Garden Harvest Repast, complete with a video showing how to make it.

It may not be the prettiest salad. But it's a great-tasting salad! And for the last day of the year, free from my yard? It's a priceless salad! It represents the abundance the world has given me in 2016. And I hope each and every one of you has abundance in your own life in 2017!

salad5972bc.jpg

Ingredients: Weeds, olive oil, chopped fresh tomatoes, preserved Englemann Spruce needles, black pepper. That's all - and it's enough!


Plant List

  1. Wild arugula - Diplotaxis tenuifolia - leaves all year, except for deepest cold
  2. Field mustard greens – Brassica rapa – leaves from fall through early summer
  3. Chickweed - Stellaria media - from fall through spring
  4. Nipplewort - Lapsana communis - leaves fall through spring
  5. Hedge mustard – Sisymbrium officinale - leaves from fall through early summer
  6. Lemon balm – Melissa officinalis - leaves all year, if protected
  7. Bittercress - Cardamine hirsuta - leaves fall to early summer
  8. Spearmint - Mentha spicata - it lasts from spring until deep winter
  9. Dandelion greens – Taraxacum officinale – winter leaves are tender and mild
  10. English daisy – Bellis perennis – leaves from fall through early summer
  11. Purple deadnettle - Lamium purpureum - leaves fall through early spring
  12. Wild chives - Allium schoeneprasum - leaves from fall through spring
  13. Elephant garlic - Allium ampeloprasum - leaves from fall through spring
  14. Cats-ear - Hypochaeris radicata - winter leaves are tender and mild
  15. Narrowleaf plantain - Plantago lanceolata - leaves fall through early spring
  16. Engelmann spruce - Picea engelmannii - tender needles from new spring growth for the faux balsamic vinegar

What Do You Think?

Are there any wild plants to eat in your area in the winter? Do you enjoy any of these weeds in other times of the year? Did you enjoy any wild abundance in 2016? Are you interested in eating wild plants in 2017?

If there are any specific plants from this salad, or others that I've posted about, that you want to know more about, let me know. I'll put together a post about it.

Thoughts for 2017

Being able to eat wild plants, especially weeds, is the epitome of sustainability. The plants in this salad took absolutely zero effort from anyone, except for the picking and cooking. They take care of themselves. Many of them are invasive weeds, so we can pick all that we want. That's incredible and sustainable. I truly hope that every one of you can find wild plants around you, especially weeds, that are good to eat. This is real food for regular people. It's incredibly good food.

I write about foraging because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wilderness.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @haphazard-hstead,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Daisies grow wild all over the yard and I never knew you could eat these. I'm going to see what else I can identify from your photos and plant some more mint and other edible plants.

Those little English daisies (Bellis perennis) are an invasive weed in the US. And they are worth putting in a salad. I'm not making a salad just of their leaves - they are small, lol. But they add a unique sweetness, not sugary, but more like an artichoke-aftertaste-sweet, if that makes any sense. Their flowers are good, too. If you try them, I'd like to read your taste review post. Hint, hint, and tag it #foraging for the @foraging-trail!

And I've never understood folks being reluctant to plant mints because they spread. Throw them in places that "don't matter" and you will have plenty to use, forever! I'm not advocating for putting them in high quality environments with native plants, but in our yards and unused neighborhood spaces, there are already mostly invasive weeds! Happy foraging in 2017!

Thanks! There are some great weeds out there! : )

@haphazard-hstead I was going around thinking no more entries, thanks for sending me a reply.

One..

It may seem silly to try making a salad from winter weeds.

No, it isn't. I respect everything that's practical . I didn't know that those invasive weeds could actually be eaten. We're all pretty spoiled these days we don't know food is actually just on the ground staring at us.

I only recognized dandelion, wild chives, spearmint, purple dead nettle(didn't know they're edible) and though I've seen the rest cause we just ignore them and think they're weed - not knowing that they could actually be food - I didn't know what they're called - you always give us something new to learn.

Good luck!

Thanks, @englishtchrivy! When I walk around my yard, lunch is staring at me all the time, lol! You recognized quite a few plants. Purple deadnettle is not my favorite for eating all by itself, especially once it starts putting on seeds. But it does fit in with a mixed salad just fine. A weed salad is a great example of the saying "the sum is better than the parts!" Happy New Year and I hope 2017 is your best year yet!

Some very helpful clear photographs for identification thank you. I eat lots of wild food but am quite cautious. I might try to dind some of these. Thanks

I'm glad to hear that my photos are helpful. I'm pretty cautious in eating weeds, too. But I eat a lot of them -- all of these weeds have become like old friends that I can find in many places, even as I travel, and even in seasons when a lot of other things aren't growing. If you find any, you can post about it with the #foraging tag and I will be able to curate it for the @foraging-trail. Happy New Year and happy foraging! :D

Amazing post. I am so glad that I chose not to participate in this challenge. I would not have stood a chance with entries like this. Wonderful

Thanks so much, @gringalicious! With the holidays, I haven't been so active here on Steemit. But the Culinary Challenge gets me going every time, lol. I hope you have a great 2017 -- maybe with some weeds! : )

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.94 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 02 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Though mostly my page consists of stories, fiction or philosophical, when spring arrives there will be a great deal of outdoorsy blogs. We're big time hikers/campers.

That's great! Spring will be here before we know it. Looking forward to your outdoors posts! If you do any foraging, if you tag it with #foraging, then I can curate it for the @foraging-trail.

I was missing your forage and cooking posts! Good luck :)

I've been swamped with our big ice storm and holidays. But I'm always up for the culinary challenge, lol. I'm trying to get back to posting -- reading other folks' posts, too. Happy New Year! I hope you have a great 2017!

You have two amazing entries this week!! You're in a good position! I totally forgot the SCC this weekend. Happy New Year to you too and yours!! :)

I was making these meals anyway -- so I'm glad the SCC theme was New Year's food. I couldn't have fit it in any other way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59849.00
ETH 2961.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82