You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE 31: Wild, Wild Salad - 19 wild plants - trees, flowers, weeds! - with foraging ID quiz

in #food7 years ago

You keep amazing me with your foraging skills! Even though it is a challenging time of the year, you nailed it! When nature gives us weeds and edibles @haphazard-hstead turns them into a yummy and very creative salad! Since living in Cambodia comes with no health stores or vegan products I never have tasted vegan cheeses like Chao Coconut Herb cheese. I bet they are delicious! I'll look out for this one when we go to Europe in late summer! But we do have plenty of coconuts... maybe I can try and make my own! Thanks for the lovely salad and great inspiration!

Sort:  

haha -- you have to food source right there, with all those coconuts. That's got to be amazing to be around all those coconuts, all the time. I hope you can find some of the Chao Coconut Herb vegan cheese.

The Field Roast Grain Meat Company is out of Seattle, Washinton. I eat regular cheese, too. And I think the Chao is better than over half, probably three-quarters, of any cheese I've ever eaten. Especially for a salad!

It's based on a "traditionally fermented soybean curd called Chao by the Vietnamese". So you may have something similar in Cambodia. The ingredients seem pretty simple: filtered water, coconut oil, potato starch, the fermented soy curd, and the seasonings -- salt, cracked black pepper, oregano, etc. I bet you will figure out to make this!

I'm sure they will have it there.... but if it is soy based I'll pass Phytoestrogen in soy mess up my hormones with painful swollen milk glands as a result + calcification in both breast.

Yes, fresh coconut and mangoes everywhere! Ohh and fresh moringa leaves. just love that stuff!

I bet you will figure something out, especially if you have already been making any sort of soy substitutes. And with those moringa leaves, you've got some greens! I've never eaten it, but I've heard it's good -- and now from you, too!

It is delicious... kinda taste like spinach. great in smoothies, soups, salads, sauces, stews... the only thing... the small stalks of the leaves don't blend well. Beautiful leaf though!

That is so pretty! I guess it makes sense to juice those leaves or use the blender and strain the 'tough stuff' out. I do that with the tougher ends of asparagus when I make asparagus soup. Enjoy your moringa! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58445.33
ETH 3158.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22