How to Harvest Pine Pollen

in #foraging7 years ago (edited)

"Did you ever eat a pine tree? Some parts are edible." That's what world-famous wild foods forager Euell Gibbons used to say. And he is right! I eat pine trees -- several different parts, too! I think one of the tastiest parts of a pine tree is its pollen.

thumbnail 1.jpg

I've been harvesting a lot of pine pollen this spring. And then @generikat mentioned the Pine Pollen Plague blowing around in her community. I thought she - and anyone with pine trees nearby - might appreciate pine pollen more if they learned to harvest and enjoy eating it.


Pine Pollen Comes From Pine Trees

Any real pine tree is edible and tasty. A real pine tree has a scientific name that starts with the word "Pinus". Real pine trees have some sort of sheath at the base of their needles. And all the pines, except one, have 2-6 needles bunched together in that sheath. Here at Haphazard Homestead, I have the 3-needled Ponderosa Pine, the 5-needled Sugar Pine, and the 5-needled Eastern White Pine.

DSC00336_WEB.jpg

To get the pine pollen, we're looking for pine cones, but not the big woody pine cones. Those are the female cones that have the pine tree seeds. We are looking for the male cones that have the pollen.

xtsu DSC02180-1-1_WEB.jpg


Harvesting the Pollen Cones

It's easy to tell when the male pollen cones are ready to harvest. I give them a tap and look for the pollen to puff out. Then I just twist the little cones and they pop right off. Pine trees have lots and lots of male cones and pollen, so taking some doesn't hurt anything.

SnapShot(0)_WEB.jpg

SnapShot(1)_WEB.jpg

SnapShot(2)_WEB.jpg

Not every little pollen cone will be at the same maturity. If some haven't opened up very much, I just lay them on a tray in a warm spot out of the wind. These cones have finally opened almost all the way. Now I can get all their pollen.

DSC05421_WEB.jpg

DSC05422_WEB.jpg


Getting the Pollen Out of the Pollen Cones

To separate the pollen from the cones, I think the easiest way is to put the cones in a jar or large paper sack and shake that pollen out! Shaking makes little brown bits of the cones come off, so these need to be sifted out, even though a few don't hurt anything in using the pollen.

SnapShot(3)_WEB.jpg

DSC02538_WEB.jpg

If you want to play gold miner and pan for the golden pollen, go right ahead - but I think it's easier to just use a finer sifter. The pollen is tiny, as fine as dust.

SnapShot(4)_WEB.jpg

Every pollen is a little different and some stays fresh better than others. The pollen tends to get bitter or even rancid as it ages. An easy way to keep pollen in good condition beyond a few weeks is to freeze it in small jars.

SnapShot(7)_WEB.jpg

SnapShot(6)_WEB.jpg


Using Pine Pollen

Pine pollen has a clean, slightly nutty taste. It tastes similar to cattail pollen or even bee pollen.

The last couple years, I have used all mine making batch after batch of pine pollen and spruce tree cookies -- they were so good! But I have a fresh batch now for 2017. I'll let you know what I make this year, but I have to finish sifting out my supply. I could use them in pine pollen pancakes, pine pollen pasta, or just add the pollen to my smoothies.

xtsu DSC02423 small_WEB.jpg


Learn More: Watch My Video

In the meantime, to see how to put all this into action, here's my video on how to harvest pine pollen:

Plant List

Ponderosa Pine - Pinus poderosa
Sugar Pine - Pinus lambertiana
Eastern White Pine - Pinus strobus



What Do You Think?

  • Have you ever eaten pine pollen?
  • Do you have pine trees near you?
  • Would you eat pine pollen?
  • Have you ever harvested pine pollen? If so, let us know your tips and tricks in the comments below!

I write about foraging because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wilderness.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

Sort:  

I have heard of this, but never tried it. Now I know how. Maybe next year!

It's not too hard. And you can pick out the pines that are easy to reach, any time of year. Then you will be ready! If you do try pine pollen, I'd like to read your taste review! If you add the Foraging tag, it will be easier for me to find it for the SteemTrail @foraging-trail curation. You can find out more here and here. Enjoy the outdoors!

Wow never heard of this and will share to my page. New fan here from Australia.

I imagine you have some pines down in Australia! This would work for you, too.

Yes possibly, I plan on making acorn flour once I gather up the acorns.

Acorns are so good and worthwhile! Lucky you! :D

Interesting post!
So far, I have only eaten the pollen and the seeds (roasted).

That's a good start! I eat the fresh, new growing tips, too. They are great in a salad. I'll post about that pretty soon! :D

I have only used those medicinally. Are there useful nutrients in them?

Oh boy! There are so many YouTube videos that are super enthusiastic about the many health benefits of pine pollen, especially for guys. And there are lots of health claims on Amazon, where lots of pine pollen is sold - straight up or as supplements. I'm not making any claims about anything - I'm not a nutritionist and I'll never be a role model for the healthiest eating, lol. And all the science literature I've looked at hasn't found any statistical effects from eating it for folks looking for enhancements. But pollen does have lots of fats and protein - that's why it can go rancid.

I have learned something new today thank you :)

Glad you enjoyed this post. Pine pollen is pretty good!

I hope I get the chance to try it :)

There are so many pine trees all over the northern hemisphere. If your season is over, you have time to find some pines that are easy to access for next spring -- and to line up some helpers to pick the cones. : )

I can't do much I can only walk a few steps :(

If you can convince someone to get you the male pollen cones, you can process the pollen pretty easily, sitting down. I hope you do get a chance to try some sometime.

I will do some research, thank you :)

This is very interesting. Thanks for sharing @haphazard-hstead

Glad you enjoyed my pine pollen post, @bontonstory. It's tasty stuff!

I just like the sound of pine pollen pancakes. It has a nice sound to it. And the Spruce Tree cookies...who would've thought..? I like it! I have only brewed hot tea with pine needles, but never eaten any product from the tree.

They are good cookies! I make too many, lol, every spring. But the pancakes are good, too. I'll make some the week after next, when I get back from some work travel. Cattail pollen pancakes are great, too!

Wow, I absolutely love your post! Joining your video was a great idea!! Upped & Resteemed!

Glad you enjoyed this -- and I hope you can enjoy some pine pollen sometime, too. It's fun and tasty. Pines grow in a lot of places and different ones have slightly different seasons. Glad you liked my video, too!

Your video is really top notch!! We have a lot of pines in Portugal, actually, it occupies one of the biggest wood plantation areas! I'll remind this post the next time I see a pine plantation :)

yesh glad to find you... I forage all over the rainforest medicines and food... im new here and looking for like minded friends and well non like minded friends too because different perspectives interest me.

There are so many plants in the rainforest, if you are in a tropical rainforest. That's a lot of different plants to get to know! If you post about foraging, be sure to use the #foraging tag, so we can all find it! Happy foraging!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.58 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 03 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Excellent post! To us here in Wi , It always seems like a nuisance, it gets into and on everything. But now after seeing your post I will give it a try! Thank you and forage on!

Pine pollen is definitely worth trying. It does take some effort, but it's a fun kind of effort. And there is so much pollen -- it's one thing that harvesting will not make a dent in, lol! Happy foraging!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98