Free Hotel Salad - Wild Style! -- Four wild plants and a great salad!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

This time, I didn't have to eat a bland salad at the hotel restaurant. I found my own salad, out back, in a field. Come into my post and get to know some great plants for spring salads.

ST hotel salad 7.jpg


Step 1. Assess My Resources

I've been traveling for work. I'm on the open prairie of the Front Range of Colorado, near Denver. This hotel is nice enough, but my eating options are limited. I can get something from the hotel bar or a microwave burrito at the hotel's little sundries shop. When I am on the road, I miss eating my dense salads from fresh greens!

Here's my challenge. This is what I was looking at out the back of my hotel. All the other directions were buildings, roads, and parking lots. What made me think I would find anything to eat? Spring is barely here. Well, I can see some green on the ground, meaning there are some plants of some sort. And then look at those trees! See their green? I recognize these old friends - introduced from Asia long ago, they have become a common weed tree of the prairies. Siberian Elm trees (Ulmus pumila) with their tender young seeds! Score!

ST hotel salad 6.jpg

What will I use to gather my weeds? What will I use to prepare and hold my food? I do a quick assessment of my hotel room. I can use the plastic bag that's in the ice bucket to gather my greens. And look, this hotel has a microwave complete with a paper plate and utensils, including a little plastic knife. I'm good to go! Let's get to foraging while there is still some daylight!

ST hotel salad 2.jpg


Step 2. Forage!

Am I worried about soil contamination? I can tell that this field was mowed in the fall, when it had tall weeds. I can still see some of the stalks laying on the ground. And the plants that I find are established perennials, emerging in the early spring from their roots. That tells me that this field was only mowed -- not sprayed with weed killer. I'm OK with this, especially for one meal.

I don't worry about over-harvesting, either. This area is destined to be a parking garage, another hotel, or some office building. At least I am out acknowledging the existence of these plants and appreciating them while they are here.

So what did I find? I only found four different plants, but they are all good ones in a mixed salad. Can you tell what they are? I'll put the caption under the picture, if you want to test yourself. The scientific names are in the plant list, as usual, toward the end of this post.

ST hotel salad 3.jpg

Clockwise from upper left: Curly Dock, Dandelion, Common Mallow, Siberian Elm seeds

If you have read any of my earlier foraging posts or watch any of my foraging videos on YouTube, you know what I stress -- Pick Clean! Pick Organized! In this case, I just have one bag, so it's especially important to pick clean -- only pick the high-quality tender young growth, no chaff or dried plant material, and certainly, no other kinds of plants!


Step 3. Prepare My Salad

I come back with plenty of greens! I do need to wash them all really well. I put the plastic bag in the ice bucket, fill it with water, and let my greens soak for a bit before I swish them around in the water. While I'm washing them, I find the dandelion flowers that I picked from older plants that wouldn't make good greens. I keep those flowers off to the side to put the petals on top of my salad.

ST hotel salad 4.jpg

While I'm letting my greens soak, I make my dressing. I brought a fruit-nut granola bar with me. And I got these seasoning packets with my fast food lunch during an airport layover earlier in the day. I mix all of them together for my dressing. I'm not going to pretend that this dressing is the best thing going -- a good Balsamic Vinaigrette would have been so nice -- but it is a decent salad dressing.

ST hotel salad 1.jpg

I use the little plastic knife to chop all my greens really fine. That mixes the flavors of all the greens and makes any wild salad taste more complex and interesting. I top the salad with my dressing and the dandelion petals and I am ready to eat.

ST hotel salad 5.jpg

This salad was definitely worth eating! It was better than buying a frozen burrito from the hotel store and heating it in the microwave, for sure! And I got in a nice walk and had fun finding these plants. This salad was really filling, too. And I know it was fresh and full of phytonutrients!


Plant List

  1. Curly Dock - also called Yellow Dock - Rumex crispus - tender young leaves
  2. Dandelion – Taraxacum officinale - tender young leaves and flower petals
  3. Common mallow - Malva neglecta - tender young leaves
  4. Siberian elm - Ulmus pumila - green seeds and their husks -

What Do You Think?

  • If I shared my salad, would you eat some?
  • Did you recognize any of these plants?
  • Do you have any of these plants around you? What wild plants are you eating this spring?
  • Do you get tired of hotel food when you travel?

I write about foraging because I believe that we can all have lives that are richer, more secure, more grounded, and more interesting by getting to know the plants and the land around us – in our yards, our parks, and our wilderness.

I would like Steemit to be the premier site for Foraging on the Internet! If you have any thoughts about foraging, or experiences to share, write a post and be sure to use the Foraging tag. And check out the @foraging-trail to see curated quality posts about foraging. Happy Foraging!



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

Really well done article. I know its old but its so awesome.
I thought it was so good that I am including in my "MUST READ" article.
Keep up the great work and check it out if you like.
SteemON!
https://steemit.com/community/@quinneaker/quinn-s-quality-content-curation-q2c2-episode-3

Glad you enjoyed my wild hotel salad, @quinneaker -- and thanks for including it your latest Q2C2!

Oh man I LOVED IT. So epic man. Hope to meet you one day.
Bless~*~

That salad looked great and I wouldn't hesitate to try it! I've been inspired by posts like these to do more foraging myself. Today I ate dandelions for the first time!

Thanks, @kus-knee! Congratulations on eating your first dandelions! That's notable! I'd really like to read about your experience and get your taste review. Just like a highly hopped beer, once you get to liking that bitterness, you will be hooked. The dandelions with big, lush, tender leaves are definitely the best, I think.

Yes it was a little bitter but we did enjoy it! I'm planning to have it again and to look for other goodies to munch!

I enjoyed reading about your foraging challenge in this post, the gathering description, and the photographs. I was very impressed with your use of a trail bar too! You take foraging to the next level!

Thanks, @opheliafu - I'm glad you enjoyed my salad, too! There are so many good plants to eat out there. The timing was just right for those elm seeds, so I felt lucky to have them. They would make any restaurant salad better. I was definitely glad to have something to make salad dressing with!

Totally, I agree with you, @opheliafu :) See you.

Well done & very resourceful!

Thanks! it was definitely a better dinner than just eating the trail bar, lol. Or a microwave burrito from the hotel store. I'm glad I got there before dark to look around.

Yeah, I'd agree with that assessment. Oh, and that dressing looked interesting. I favor sweet dressings and the plum sauce caught my eye. Good call!

It was just luck that I had that trail bar and sauce packets on hand. When I travel, I tend to collect little bits like that, just in case, lol.

That's a good habit to have. Hubby & I tend to do the same thing. Somehow, tho, it all ends up in my purse. Which is helpful if I want to use the thing as a weapon... I could do real damage, but the smashed ketchup packets are hell to clean up. Lol!

With a purse full of ketchup packets, I might have cooked these greens in the microwave with a nice tomato sauce. That would have been good, too! I would have looked harder to find some wild chives to use with a tomato sauce. Ketchup! :D

There ya go! Oh, and if you need chives... I have a clump in a container out back. Think it's pushing 25 years old. Base on some of them are big enough to use for straws! I use the tips & flowers. Yum!

Thanks for the chives offer! I've got lots of wild chives here in my yard. And this time of year, I can usually find some in weedy fields. Your plants show how reliable some plants can be -- so if we find them in the wild, it's good to make a map or note where they are. And it makes so much sense to plant chives in a garden -- 25 years from the same plants! That's a great return on planting that original one! Nice gardening!

Thanks for sharing with us @haphazard-hstead Have a good day! ;)

I would enjoy this salad and I am a vegetarian so I'm picky in that area, too!

Glad you enjoyed my salad! I bet you have eaten a lot of great salads, as a vegetarian, too. So I appreciate your review -- maybe sometime you can eat a great wild salad!

I recognize survival skills here! Loved the "phytonutrients!" word. Well done :)

"Phytonutrients" makes it all seem so fancy, doesn't it, lol. "Nutrients from plants" is all it is, but these wild plants do have a high nutritional density. With salads like these, I don't just survive -- I thrive! ; )

Nice to hear it has such an effect on you!!! Phytonutrients, I'll record this word in my mind!!
(Ah, my last Sunday Cook uses Portuguese kale sprouts​, I'll post it later or probably tomorrow) ;)

Look yummy! Great and healthy salad! :)

Thanks, @tangmo! Those elm seeds don't stay in good condition very long, so I was lucky to find them at just the right time. It was a good salad, for sure! :D

That's really good for you! Bon appetit! ;-)

Oh sweet, you did post one while I was doing this ;) Bookmarking for later.


You have been visited by droomits

Thanks! Your pending whaledom lit a fire for me to post, lol! :D

I got to say it does look nice! I knew dandelions were used, but did not about the others!

Thanks! There are so many good plants to eat out there -- especially in Michigan! I still wistfully think back to the special places where I harvested so many kinds of wild food every year, when I lived in Michigan. Elm seeds are very under-appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11