Basil Lemon Meringue Pie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

I have never made a meringue pie before this one you guys……

I know, what is wrong with me? I’m so weird, I really haven’t made that many pies in my life, period. It’s not that my gang doesn’t like pie, actually we all love pie, it’s just me and my mixed up perspectives.

Basil Lemonade Meringue Pie..jpg

For some odd reason that science will never understand my subconscious brain usually thinks of pies as boring or too old-fashioned. I don’t know why but they seem to register in my head as obsolete or just not register at all. I told you I’m weird.

Basil Lemonade Meringue Pie. (7).jpg

Another thing that might cause you to think of me as weird is the fact that I put basil in a dessert. I don’t know about you, but I never saw basil as anything more than the base flavor in a good spaghetti sauce or the makings of a great pesto until I tried it with fruit one day.

Basil Lemonade Meringue Pie. (8).jpg

Ever since then I’ve wanted to put it in everything fruity that I make, from salsa to smoothies. Of course, I’ve had to refrain because the majority of humans that eat the stuff you guys see are not nearly as adventurous when it comes to food.

Basil Lemonade Meringue Pie. (9).jpg

But this one time I thought I’d see if I could get away with it and no one notice and it worked. The basil doesn’t stand out a lot (Unless you want it to. In which case you can double the amount.). It just gives this extra fresh undertone that makes the flavor of the lemon shine.

Basil Lemonade Meringue Pie. (5).jpg

Just trust me on this one, it works. If you are worried about freaking people out with the basil though, you can skip it and just make a killer lemon meringue pie that will still impress everyone. Your choice.

Basil Lemonade Meringue Pie. (6).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Loaded Turkey Enchilada Potato Skins (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Chocolate Pancakes + Honey Sweetened Cocoa Ganache (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)(with nutrition facts!)

  3. Salted Chocolte Chip Cookie Dough Pretzel Brownies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Chipotle Hummus & Fajita Veggie Taco Salad Bowls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Chocolate Drizzled Black Sesame Popcorn Balls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Tres Leche Doughnuts with Dulce de Leche Icing (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Spicy Maui Turkey Burgers + Homemade Sourdough Buns (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. How To Make S’mores Snack Mix From Scratch (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Roasted Sweet Potato & Black Bean Chilaquiles (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Chocolate Mousse Filled Pop-Tarts (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

Basil Lemonade Meringue Pie. (3).jpg

Sort:  

Looks great! May you please share the recipe? Thanks in advance :-)

Loading...

Looks Delicious . I think you have cooked almost every food of USA?

Haha, maybe so @rocky1! Thanks for your reply!

It is the best dessert.
The color is very beautiful and the decoration is also the best.

So glad you liked it @atom. Thanks for taking the time to comment

Just amazing food photography, every time. I just love it!!

@noboxes I agree. She's an artist, that girl of yours.

You are too kind @chessmonster, thanks so much for the sweet words!

You're welcome, Tori. "Sweets to the sweet." - Hamlet 😍

Thanks so much for always being there!!

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: Moving #25_votes_plus to Discord

Your crust looks so flaky and oh, the lemon, oh my!!

Thanks so much @fullofhope, you are always so sweet!!

I love lemon meringue! I think the basil 🌿 with give it a great flavor, always you bring a good recipe and lovely cakes.
Have a good weekend my dear.

Always healthy and delicious food , thanks for the recipe ,will try some day.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment @theia7

It looks delicious dear. It is one of my favorite pies to make.... so yummy!

Thanks for reading and for such a sweet reply @sunscape!

This is a unique twist on #LEMON #Pie. At least one I've never tried before -- because of the element of basil leaves.

Have you ever tried a Lemon Pie called Chess Pie? It's a Southern dish. My aunties introduced me to it (my Aunt Frances) and helped me to create it for the 1st time (as a 15 Yr old).

Sure was fun; she was such a fun aunt .. always laughing, always sharing stuff with me.
Speaking of which, anyone ever have a delightful, fun loving aunt or uncle?

And Roger was crazy with his bots and everything.

Hello @janashby | Here's a sneak peek of #LEMON posts

Top 3 Trending Posts


#1. How to Get Rid of Influenza with Lemon | by @babarrajo
#2. Lemon Lita wants to give you a sweet treat | by @creativetruth
#3. When life gives you lemon - Meme | by @ammadkhalid
I'm a bot, beep boop | Here's my Introduction | Inspired By Reddit SneakPeekBot | Recreated By @miserableoracle

Yes, my Mom make a chess pie, but usually only a vanilla or chocolate version. She would enjoy a lemon, I will suggest it to her. Thanks so much for the inspiration @janashby

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77