How To Make S’mores Snack Mix From Scratch (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Would you like S’more? I do, s’more snack mix!

Let me introduce you to the best snack mix ever that will not only be way healthier than store-bought, but taste way better.

How To Make S'mores Snack Mix From Scratch (6).jpg

Like 1000 times better. Sophie talked my mom into a one time only purchase of packaged marshmallows recently, which is something my mom never buys. Sophie ate a few and brought the rest home and I thought, since there was a whole bag left, I might just “borrow” the extras for an easier short-cut ingredient in a recipe I had been testing. I tasted one to decide if they would work and you wanna know what I discovered guys? I hate marshmallows. Wait, no, I don’t hate all marshmallows, I hate the ones that taste like nothingness and are just a bouncy bite of sugar in your mouth! What a waste of chewing muscles, you know what I mean? Needless to say, I’ll stick with my homemade ones, thank you very much.

How To Make S'mores Snack Mix From Scratch (4).jpg

I got into making marshmallows at home when we lived in Idaho and I’ve loved doing it ever since because there is so much versatility when you make them yourself. Did you know that chocolate marshmallows are totally a thing? Oh, and these marshmallows were bomb! Marshmallows are also so much easier than you’d think, especially once you’ve made them a few times and feel comfortable with the hot sugar.

How To Make S'mores Snack Mix From Scratch (12).jpg

Another thing that I really love to make at home, and something that I also started making in Idaho, are graham crackers. Of course, my homemade graham crackers are a little less like a cracker and more like a killer, melt-in-your-mouth, crunchy butter cookie…with graham flour! But, you know, there’s less guilt when you refer to them as crackers. When I don’t have graham flour I just sub fine whole wheat flour and it works just as well.

How To Make S'mores Snack Mix From Scratch (17).jpg

My brother and I agreed that it would be epic to eat this with milk in a bowl like a breakfast cereal. It would be like cookie crisp meet lucky charms! Talk about breakfast of champions. Also you guys, I can’t help admitting that I think this is the cutest thing ever, after you make this you have to try making mini smore’s at your next campfire or cozy indoor fire ’cause they’re 100% adorables! YESSSSS!!! Do it!!

How To Make S'mores Snack Mix From Scratch (9).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Try the Gray Stuff, It’s Delicious (Black Sesame Cupcakes)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Outback Steakhouse Style Brown Bread (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Browned Butter & Condensed Milk Blondies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Caribbean Jerk Millet Burgers with Pineapple Guacamole (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Pie Pops (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Crunchy Toffee Cinnamon Apple Eton Mess (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Back To School Pizza Bites! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. 8-Layer Caramel Turtle Brookie Bars (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   <>

How To Make S'mores Snack Mix From Scratch (10).jpg

Sort:  

Recipe please @gringalicious

Thanks for your interest @bien!

Ingredients

Marshmallows:
2 cups homemade marshmallows (1/4 of this recipe) cut into small, about 1/2 inch, cubes
Grahams:
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
1 cup dark brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 tablespoons milk
1 cup graham flour (whole wheat flour works)
1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips or bars chopped into small pieces

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (160 C). Beat butter and sugar together in a medium mixing bowl until creamed. Add soda, salt, vanilla, and milk and mix until combined. Add flours and mix until dough is completely mixed.
  2. Turn out onto lightly floured surface and roll into a layer about 1/8 to 1/4 inch thick and cut into small squares, about 1 inch. Place them about 1/4 inch apart on a parchment or silicone lined baking tray and bake for 6 - 8 minutes until edges are browned and crisp. Cool completely.
  3. Mix the mini grahams with your homemade marshmallows and chocolate pieces or chips in a large bowl and serve or store in an air-tight container and save as a fun on-the-go snack.

Notes
A quick note on storing: When all mixed together in an airtight container, the grahams like to absorb any moisture from the mallows which makes them soft and gives the mallows a slight crunch. We kind of like this but if you wish to avoid it, just store separately and mix soon prior to serving.

Looks so delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

I'm always glad to share them @travelhacker!

Ohw...this is soo sweet, its nice to have a couple of tea with this snacks..

I have a new post about travel you can check it if you want @gringalicious

Haha ! Never mind my question ! I just my answer other then shelf life ! Thanks!💕👍

Wow, now that's a new kind of reply @asif4745! Thanks for reading.

marshmallow, chocolate & cookies oh yeah!

I know, right? Best combo. Thanks @steemboys!

I would love to make homemade marshmallows!

You should definitely try some time. Thanks @lifes-a-donut!

You're the best! Home made S'more snack mix this is one of the best things I've seen on Steemit.

Oh, that's such a huge compliment @tilikum! Thank you so much.

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: It is official, WE are witnesses!

Wow.so sweet .i resteem this post

I always love your dishes you shared with us
I think it's so delicious food you shared
I like try your dishes at my home
Thanks @gringalicious.

You're so welcome @akshaymukadam! I'm thrilled you like it.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Aug 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.90 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post has received a 60.00 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @noboxes. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.21
ETH 3068.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81