Roasted Sweet Potato & Black Bean Chilaquiles (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Enchilada-fied! That is both my word of the day and the best way I could think of describing this recipe to everyone who said "what did you call me? when I offered them chilaquiles. Because chilaquiles (chee-la-kee-lays) are basically the love child of nachos and enchiladas, plus eggs. Ergo, I called them enchiladafied nachos.

I love trying new things and I love it even more when those things turn out this good. I’ve wanted to make these since I first heard of them on, don’t judge, Gilmore Girls. There is this part where one of the characters working in a diner keeps shouting chilaquiles and it just sounded so fun to say. I think it’s been stuck somewhere in my head ever since. I know, "Why can’t more useful things stick instead?", like fluent Spanish for instance? That would be lovely, but nope, I get movie quotes stuck in there. Nice.

Roasted Sweet Potato & Black Bean Chilaquiles,.gif

Anyway, don’t you want to just dive into these? I threw in sweet potatoes because it just sounded good and, to my disbelief, even my teen brother was in love with these and he has always been a sworn sweet potato hater. He said “Duh,you had me at nacho!” Of course, he thought it would be better with meat (which is what he says about everything) but he loved them anyway.

Roasted Sweet Potato & Black Bean Chilaquiles (3).jpg

After I made it I realized that it reminds me so much of a tortilla casserole that I used to love when I was younger. That’s totally what it is, only I think it’s better.

Roasted Sweet Potato & Black Bean Chilaquiles (5).jpg

So, this is the type of recipe that can be adjusted to how simple you want it to be. For example, I used homemade tortillas, cut them into chips, and baked the until they were crispy. Well actually it was kind of funny. I started with frying them until I got bored and decided to throw them into the already hot oven with the sweet potatoes, then I ran out of chips when putting everything together and had to sub some corn tortilla chips from the pantry. The final thing was about one third each of homemade fried chips, homemade baked chips, and store-bought corn chips. The point here is that they all would work.

Roasted Sweet Potato & Black Bean Chilaquiles (6).jpg

Also, you can short-cut and use canned enchilada sauce instead of the quickie version I made, and if you agree with my brother you could drop the vegetarian label and carnivore this up with some meat. However simple you want to make this, it is definitely worth making. Oh, and you have to top it with chevre and extra cilantro!

Roasted Sweet Potato & Black Bean Chilaquiles (2).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Try the Gray Stuff, It’s Delicious (Black Sesame Cupcakes)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Outback Steakhouse Style Brown Bread (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Browned Butter & Condensed Milk Blondies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Caribbean Jerk Millet Burgers with Pineapple Guacamole (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Pie Pops (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Crunchy Toffee Cinnamon Apple Eton Mess (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Back To School Pizza Bites! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. 8-Layer Caramel Turtle Brookie Bars (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   <>

Roasted Sweet Potato & Black Bean Chilaquiles (7).jpg

Sort:  

Another delicious dish, recipe please 😊

Loading...

I need me a blunt and some of that :)

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment @spacehd. I understand the need for that

After living in Chile for 4 years, I actually like fried eggs on top of my savory dishes. I think enchiladas with fried egg on top would be worth trying. I have inspiration!

Thank you so much @noboxes! You're so supportive!

Enchiladas with a fried egg is a classic in New Mexico. And it's totally worth it.

This is a cure for the hungers for sure!!

Yummy, Yes the chips all worked out in the end. LOL! I like the addition of the sweet potatoes. Interesting. The eggs on top....took it over the top. Have a wonderful day. Tess :)

Thank you so much @tesscooks4u! I think this one is definitely worth a try if you are interested.

I love sweet potatoes! What a great idea to make them like this! Yum!

You should totally try this for Saturday morning breakfast

wow, I can eat this anytime of the day...make me wanna fly to you and eat all your foods.

Hehe, that would be great if there was a way to share things like this with everyone in real life. Thanks for reading @charles1!

welcome, wish you a blessed weekend and feel free to see my blog posts on steemit and issues we are facing in cryptos...more success to you.

Yummy yummy 😍

thx for sharing

Thanks for commenting @salvis

Those are some FABULOUS pictures; of course, I love #MEXICAN dishes. The flour tortillas - well, I Love them a lot. I particularly enjoy #Restaurants which make their own; I just like to see them come sliding out!

There's one in CALIF. that had that. As far as fresh #cilantro goes - I grow this in my garden. Last year I had lavender, cilantro & tomatoes. Now the cilantro grows wild.

Anyway, enchiladas are 1 of my fav's. -- as are Sweet potatoes & black beans. SO I will have to try yr #recipe .. Thanx !

Fantastic comment @janashby. So glad you liked my photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50