Loaded Turkey Enchilada Potato Skins (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

Here’s………Friday!!!!!!!!!!!!!(again)

I’m breaking away from my typical sugar-laden weekend recipe and sharing a savory one today instead, but don’t worry, there’s lots of cheese, and, AND, tatoes! So that’s okay, right? Everyone good with this?

Loaded Turkey Enchilada Potato Skins (2).jpg

You know what my favorite recipes are? I mean, not that I don’t completely love the recipes that are quick and easy or ones that are just downright fun to make. I also love the ones that are a sure thing for making everyone extremely happy, nor am I saying that this recipe doesn’t fit any/all of these categories, that’s what’s awesome about it. It not only is fast, fun to make, and loved by all, but my favorite part about it is that it’s the kind of recipe that uses up random leftovers from the fridge at the same time, YES! Those are my faves.

Loaded Turkey Enchilada Potato Skins (3).jpg

I also really don’t like seeing perfectly good food go to waste and potato skins are one of those things that are so often overlooked and tossed out before they’re even given a chance. I want to run through the streets shouting about how they can be so amazing.

Loaded Turkey Enchilada Potato Skins (4).jpg

So hopefully you olive haters didn’t ditch me the moment you noticed some on these yummies. The olives are completely optional. Should I say it again? You don’t have to add them!!! What is not optional is the cheese. Sorry, but these simply have got to have it or they won’t be the same if you skimp. Another awesome part of making potato skins is that you still have the potato filling for whatever use you want. I used the fillings from these particular potatoes for a cheesy potato bake but you could also mash them, make soup, or just eat them with some salt and butter.

Loaded Turkey Enchilada Potato Skins (10).jpg

There are tons of options for topping them also, but since I was using homemade enchilada sauce I knew they weren’t going to be lacking any flavor so I went simple with just cilantro and lime on these. Feel free to load ’em down with salsa, guac, sour cream, and anything else you want though.

Loaded Turkey Enchilada Potato Skins (11).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Chocolate Pancakes + Honey Sweetened Cocoa Ganache (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)(with nutrition facts!)

  2. Salted Chocolte Chip Cookie Dough Pretzel Brownies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Chipotle Hummus & Fajita Veggie Taco Salad Bowls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Chocolate Drizzled Black Sesame Popcorn Balls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Tres Leche Doughnuts with Dulce de Leche Icing (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Spicy Maui Turkey Burgers + Homemade Sourdough Buns (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. How To Make S’mores Snack Mix From Scratch (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Roasted Sweet Potato & Black Bean Chilaquiles (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Chocolate Mousse Filled Pop-Tarts (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Caramel Streusel Pear Swirl Babka (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

Loaded Turkey Enchilada Potato Skins,.jpg

Sort:  

Please share your recipe with us, @gringaliciou ..... looks delicious!

Thanks for reading and requesting the recipe my friend @kingslayer

Ingredients
6 - 8 medium potatoes (about 3 pounds)
1/2 pound ground turkey
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 large tomato, diced
1 small onion, diced
2 cups enchilada sauce
salt and pepper to taste
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/4 pitted black olives, sliced (optional)
Optional toppings for serving:
lime juice
cilantro
sour cream
guacamole

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 C). Scrub potatoes and dry then pierce with knife in a few places. Place them on a baking tray (or just directly on the oven racks) and bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour, or until they feel soft when squeezed.
  2. While the potatoes are baking, heat oil In a large skillet over medium high heat and add tomatoes and onion. Cook for 2 to 3 minutes until softened then add the turkey and cook until browned, breaking up chunks as it cooks. Once there is no pink left on the meat, add the enchilada sauce, and season to taste with salt and pepper.
  3. Remove potatoes from oven and allow them to cool enough to handle. Cut them in half lengthwise and use a spoon to scoop out center leaving a little bit of flesh. (Reserve the centers for another use. You can make mashed potatoes, Yay!) Brush both sides of potatoes with oil, place potatoes face-down on lined baking tray, and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake for about 10 minutes until skins start to crisp then remove pan from oven and flip them over onto their backs.
  4. Divide the turkey mixture between the potato skins and top them with the cheese and, if desired, black olives. Return the pan to the oven and bake for about 5 more minutes until the cheese starts to brown. Remove from oven and cool for at least a few minutes before serving with desired toppings.

Thank you , it's a good today's resolution for my cooking skills :)

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: Moving #25_votes_plus to Discord

Easy , tasty and sexy! Potato skins never looked so lovely before my friend!
You rock!
Have a great weekend ahead!

You are always so kind @progressivechef. Thanks so much!!!

I just absolutely love potato skins and your pics make me love them even more

Oh, how sweet of you @noboxes!

These are so lovely, I just want to eat them all gone!

I know how you love papas en cada forma, @fullofhope!

thx for sharing

Thank you for commenting @salvis

Wow good food, I will tell my wife to make her.

Haha, well I hope you enjoy them @marconah!

thank you for sharing, and I see the recipe below, or is it above me now, whatever, lol so i do not have to ask for it. You are making me hungry, you know. I love photography, ones of my favorite hobbies now, so thank you for sharing , my friend

You are very welcome @johnnyray! Thank you also, for reading.

Amazing enchiladas, it looks like a mini 🍕 pizza! Wow, i like the food which contains cheese 🧀.

wow...this I need now :)) very good food . I know this food.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99