All-Natural Marshmallow Fondant + Mini Layer Cakes (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever fantasized having an entire cake all to yourself and eating it all in one sitting? OMG, me too! I have an idea, let’s do it for real!

Okay, so my actual idea is a bit more reasonable than trying to take on a triple layer wedding cake and it doesn’t require competitive eating skills, but I think it’s still pretty awesome. Let’s make petit fours! Well, these are a little bigger than petit fours but you get the idea. Mini cakes for everyone!

All-Natural Marshmallow Fondant + Mini Layer Cakes,.jpg

So I’m sure at some point in your life we’ve all asked how we look and received the answer “it’s on the inside that counts”. It makes you feel like “Gee, thanks a lot!”. Well, that statement isn’t always a semi-politely disguised insult and sometimes it’s even true. For example, as cute as these cakes are on their own, the best part of them is what’s in them, or rather what’s not in them.

All-Natural Marshmallow Fondant + Mini Layer Cakes -.jpg

And what isn’t in them is high-fructose corn syrup, or artificial colors, or any other unpronounceable junk. I used homemade coloring and this marshmallow fondant is made with homemade marshmallows (and one of my new favorite things ever, by the way)!

All-Natural Marshmallow Fondant + Mini Layer Cakes +.jpg

I’ve grown up playing with cake decorating all the time, plus my family is huge so every few weeks we have birthdays. That’s why I can’t believe I’ve never made marshmallow fondant before now. When I think of all the hours I’ve spent in my life trying and failing to get buttercream fondant to do what I want and not crumble and crack on me, wow. It’s pretty ridiculous.

All-Natural Marshmallow Fondant + Mini Layer Cakes.jpg

Of course, I know that some people aren’t comfortable with candy making and I get that because it can be a little touchy. But really you guys, homemade marshmallows aren’t that big of a deal, and once you have them the fondant takes like ten minutes tops. However, you can use store-bought marshmallows if you must but I’d recommend natural ones.

All-Natural Marshmallow Fondant + Mini Layer Cakes.,.jpg

Oh, and for the colors I used natural ones that I’ve made and have on hand. I’m a loser, I really want to do a post and show how I do it but I haven’t yet so I’m just going to tell you that: for the yellow all you need is a few sprinkles of turmeric dissolved in a little water, for the pink I used a few drops of beet juice, and for the blue I used (get this) red cabbage. You just have to boil the cabbage in water until it’s lost most of its color and then boil the water down a bit more to concentrate it. Then you’ll have this dark purple and all you have to do to get blue is add a sprinkle of baking soda and watch the magic happen!

All-Natural Marshmallow Fondant + Mini Layer Cakes,..jpg

These aren’t as bright as the commercial colors but I happen to like the pastels. I bet you could also use organic dyes from your local whole foods market. For the cakes I made both chocolate and vanilla and went with simple square shapes, but you could get really crazy with flavors and shapes if you want. This post is basically all about the fondant and everything else is extra. Who’s ready to decorate?

All-Natural Marshmallow Fondant + Mini Layer Cakes,.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Chocolate Drizzled Black Sesame Popcorn Balls (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Tres Leche Doughnuts with Dulce de Leche Icing (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Spicy Maui Turkey Burgers + Homemade Sourdough Buns (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. How To Make S’mores Snack Mix From Scratch (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Roasted Sweet Potato & Black Bean Chilaquiles (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Chocolate Mousse Filled Pop-Tarts (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Caramel Streusel Pear Swirl Babka (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Bacon + Cinnamon Spice Apple Pizza!!!🍎 🍕🍁(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. Try the Gray Stuff, It’s Delicious (Black Sesame Cupcakes)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Outback Steakhouse Style Brown Bread (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

All-Natural Marshmallow Fondant + Mini Layer Cakes..jpg

Sort:  

Can I have the recipe?

Loading...

It looks so pretty and delicious.
It's a lovely dessert.

OMG, I love the little mini cakes. They are so adorable!!

Awww, you're so sweet @fullofhope!

Very cute! I have never worked with fondant and your marshmallow fondant sounds interesting. Can't wait to read over the recipe. These would sell like hot cakes. They would be a hit on Etsy. You've got talent! Have a wonderful day. Tess :)

I'd love to try selling them sometime @tesscooks4u! Great idea.

I know I say it a lot, but your photography. The staging in this post is just phenomenal. You amaze me!

That's just too cute, lol!!! I have a friend who makes artistic looking desserts. You'd love her work ;-)

Her Facebook is: Fig & Flour

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: Moving #25_votes_plus to Discord

I am known for eating desert for dinner! I love dessert especially rich ones!

I would be happy to join you in a desert feast party!

I must say these are some of the cutest cakes I have ever seen!

Now that's a super awesome compliment! Who knows @quinneaker, perhaps someday we'll have an opportunity to join in a desert feast party? Thanks so much for the super awesome compliment!

Who knows indeed. I for one would quite enjoy that!
I shall put it out there to the universe to have a super delicious and CUTE desert feast party with you one day! How epic it would be ;-)>

Happy to comment and support such quality content. Keep up the great work!

SteemON!

I have never tried all cakes all by myself because they are mostly large and too sweet because am careful not to blow my weight.However I do not care and will go for this your cake yummy-send it to me please!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64015.61
ETH 3429.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54