Try the Gray Stuff, It’s Delicious (Black Sesame Cupcakes)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

……don’t believe me, ask the dishes! They can sing, they can….okay somebody stop me before I sing the whole song. (In case you never saw the movie growing up, it's from "Beauty and the Beast".)

I don’t expect a lot of you guys to know this, but black sesame is sort of a fad right now. I’ve tried to keep my curiosity at bay for a while, but I finally had to try it and see what all of the hype was about because I just didn’t get it.

Try the Gray Stuff, It's Delicious (Black Sesame Cupcakes).jpg

I get it now, black sesame is the bomb you guys! I mean, you’d think it’s going to taste weird or gross, but then it doesn’t. It gives this depth of nutty-ishness (my new word of the day) that is so intriguing at first and then it just gets better and leaves you craving more. I may have started something dangerous by discovering it for myself.

Try the Gray Stuff, It's Delicious (Black Sesame Cupcakes) (3).jpg

The only drawback to using black sesame that I can think of at the moment is that it took me forever to grind the seeds, but that’s because my poor food processor is very well used and the blade’s getting dull. It took forever too, and you have to keep scraping it off the sides every five seconds. But trust me, it’s worth it. I’ve seen many recipes that call for blending it into a completely smooth paste but the closest I got personally was a grainy puree akin to wet sand. Hey, it worked and I actually kind of liked the graininess in the frosting.

Try the Gray Stuff, It's Delicious (Black Sesame Cupcakes) (2).jpg

What didn’t work though, was my genius plan to do a makeshift mini cupcake pan. I have a bunch of these awesome silicone molds and pans that are perfectly oven safe and I love them. I use them all the time, like everyday, and there was this star shaped one that I’ve had for a while but never used in the oven. Well, apparently it isn’t silicone……or rather, it wasn’t silicone. Nope, I’m pretty sure it was rubber. Regardless of what material, I totally melted it in the oven into what is now an unrecognizable blob. Ooops. The funny thing is that I wasn’t actually baking anything in it, I was just using it to prop up something else. I’d try to explain but it wouldn’t make sense unless you had seen it. Moral of this story, I clearly need to find myself an actual mini cupcake pan.

Try the Gray Stuff, It's Delicious (Black Sesame Cupcakes) (6).jpg

Anyway, yeah black sesame cupcakes. You have to try them because they’re amazing. I was trying to describe them to my little brothers and the first thing that popped in my head to tell them was that they are the cupcakes that anime characters would eat, assuming anime characters like cupcakes. I guess my head is in Japan this week or something. I think I’m just gonna go with it.

Try the Gray Stuff, It's Delicious (Black Sesame Cupcakes) (11).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Browned Butter & Condensed Milk Blondies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Caribbean Jerk Millet Burgers with Pineapple Guacamole (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Pie Pops (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Crunchy Toffee Cinnamon Apple Eton Mess (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Back To School Pizza Bites! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. 8-Layer Caramel Turtle Brookie Bars (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Summertime Starburst Turmeric Smoothie (vegan+ gluten free)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Pan-Seared Lemon Garlic and Asparagus (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. (Girlscout Cookies Copycat) Chocolate Samoas Cookie Bars (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Chocolate Chip Fluffernutter Stuffed French Toast (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   <>

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

Try the Gray Stuff, It's Delicious (Black Sesame Cupcakes) (10).jpg

Sort:  

looks deeeelicious, really cute cupcakes you made... please pretty please, post the recipe please! :D

really sucks though about the melting rubber - I know what a mess that can make, not to mention that it's not really safe to breathe either. :(

Loading...

Hi i like your post upvoted your post hope you will like my posts and will upvote my posts as your true follower

You're right about the nuttiness, the black sesame is just awesome, fantastic idea, I cannot wait to give it a try!

Thanks @noboxes! So glad you like it.

I may have to ask this dishes, if that would be ok with you?

Haha, you WOULD do that, sweet @fullofhope. Yep, it's okay with me. Tell them I said hi.

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: It is official, WE are witnesses!

Awesome clicks. Yummy.... I wish i could enjoy this Delicious food with you..

I really loved your post. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for commenting @smartgeek. Welcome to steemit, by the way

Maybe someday I will try to taste the food.
Thank you for your post.

You're so welcome @shihabieee! Thanks!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gringalicious from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

The cake is very tasty ,, make me so hungry. thank you for sharing.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment @zacly

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post has received a 57.14 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @noboxes. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55863.62
ETH 2927.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28