Outback Steakhouse Style Brown Bread (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Admit it, you’ve eaten an entire loaf of this stuff before in one evening…

No? Maybe it’s just me then. I think I did that on more than one occasion in my calorie-oblivious youth. Come on, it’s hard to resist when you’re waiting for a meal, it’s taking forever because they’re crowded, and they keep bringing hot loaves to the table. It was just so good! I probably never ate the entire thing but I’m sure I came close.

I’m going to keep this post short and sweet because my aunt is in Chile, YAY! I haven’t seen her in a year, she’s never been here, and this is her first time out of the States so I’m making it my top priority to spend as much time as possible with her. Also, my cousin is with her and some of our very close friends have their daughters here visiting too. So, since I’m kind of the food girl, my next few weeks are going to be busy extra. So exciting! I’m planning to make these again (because no one has stopped talking about them), and, and these pita tacos but Mexican style, and like every other greatest hit recipe I can think of. Plus, I’m going full into October fest recipes and cranking up the notch on things. There’s going to be mucho pumpkin pie spice flinging, caramel drizzling, and apple dipping. Any suggestions for things I should try while they’re all here?

It’s a super happy week, and in my experience hot, fresh bread makes people pretty happy too. I’ve wanted to recreate this kind of bread for a long time. It just as easy as any other bread and surprisingly it gets some of it’s dark color from cocoa powder. I know that sound very interesting and maybe even weird, but you don’t taste it other than the way it deepens the flavor of the bread.

Right, I said I was going to keep this short so let me just say that if you’re a fan of steakhouse bread or you’ve never had it (is that possible?) then you need to try it asap! It even surprised me how much everyone loved this. It’s the best when it’s warm…oh, and serve it with honey butter! Yes, that’s the best!

Gringalicious-border.png

As always, the recipe is available upon request. The first request gets an upvote.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

  1. Browned Butter & Condensed Milk Blondies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Caribbean Jerk Millet Burgers with Pineapple Guacamole (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Pie Pops (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  4. Crunchy Toffee Cinnamon Apple Eton Mess (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Back To School Pizza Bites! (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. 8-Layer Caramel Turtle Brookie Bars (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Summertime Starburst Turmeric Smoothie (vegan+ gluten free)(FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Pan-Seared Lemon Garlic and Asparagus (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  9. (Girlscout Cookies Copycat) Chocolate Samoas Cookie Bars (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  10. Chocolate Chip Fluffernutter Stuffed French Toast (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

PicMonkey Collage.png

   <>

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

Sort:  

Wonderful as usual my dear! Recipe pls!

Thank you so much @creativewoman! That's very sweet of you. I hope you enjoy.

Ingredients

1 tablespoon yeast
1 cup lukewarm water
3 tablespoons molasses
1 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/3 cup cornmeal
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 cup rye flour
2 - 2 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour (or 1 cup all-purpose and 1 cup reg whole wheat)

Instructions

  1. Stir yeast and molasses into water in a medium mixing bowl until dissolved and allow mixture to sit for about 5 minutes until bubbly. Mix in salt, oil, cornmeal, and cocoa powder. Add rye flour, then whole wheat flour and stir until combined. Allow dough to rest for about 10 minutes to let the flours absorb some the liquid.
  2. Turn out onto to a lightly floured surface and knead for about 5 minutes, adding more flour if needed so that it does not stick to your fingers. Place dough into a greased bowl and cover with a damp towel then place in a warm spot to rise until doubled in size, 1 to 2 hours because of the heavier flour.
  3. Grease a loaf pan and roll dough out into a roughly shaped log. Place dough into pan and allow to rise for about 30 minutes, then preheat oven to 375 degrees F and let the loaf finish rising while oven heats.
  4. Bake for 25 to 35 minutes or until hollow sounding when knocked. Remove and cool for at least 10 minutes before serving.

damn recipe is yummy what it will do when make it <3 deliiiiiciouss

Digging everything I see here, from the delicious-looking bread to the high-quality photos to the recipe reserved for the comments to get the conversation started. First time I've seen your posts, and I'm already a fan.

Thank you for the recipe.

A good example of teamwork. If each member of the castle becomes an expert on a small handful of altcoins, one can imagine that keeping track of promising investments becomes easier.

now u got recipe make one for me plss haha

Hahaha! I made it but on the Moroccan way, and when it was cooking it swelled until it became like balloon.

hahahah hows the taste ? :)

It's a great taste and so soft!!

Ok, I admit it, I've eaten a whole one,... or two

This would go perfect with my 'sammies!'

Even a simple loaf of bread can look very attractive when you do your magic photography @gringalicious. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Thanks so much @photo-trail. I am thrilled I made the cut

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: It is official, WE are witnesses!

Nice bread & pictures

I love this. I try so hard to make homemade bread and have had several failed attempts, until I realized it was my yeast not active enough to make it frothy to rise. This looks amazing and will try it for sure. Thanks for sharing

wow nice.my mouth is watering lol

Hi ,gringalicious thank you for sharing this article with us, I am a graphic designer and I expertise on branding and identity design, please check my portfolio here .designed for a contest that , please I need this one, contact me and I'll spend my most inspirable and valuable time on creating design you'll love, I'm a freelancer too but for me is more important designing things I like and love and everything on steemit is lovable and fun, so please just contact me assign me with your task and wait for the results, I'll make everything I can to please you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66512.58
ETH 3313.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68