Get To Know Me Challenge

in #challenge6 years ago

IMG_9018.PNG

Hello Steemians!

My friend @anomadsoul posted a fun challenge the other day encouraging people to take this little "blockchain break" we are experiencing to spend some time reflecting on our own content. Most of us that have been on the platform for a period of time have probably seen some big shifts in the kind of content we are creating - and have probably gotten pretty vulnerable and shared little pieces of our souls.

His challenge was to browse back through your old posts and share some of your favorites that help other steemians see more of your journey.

The original contest post has all the details if you are interested in joining the contest! There are a few stipulations you should check out first.

There are a few posts I would have loved to have shared in this post such as my Interview with @larrymorrison where we talked all about my religious upbringing and my current spiritual journey - or the time I talked about my Dad's health and struggle with Parkinson's, but alas - those videos are lost in Dlive land.

Get to Know Me in Old (and Possibly Embarrassing) Posts



I think I ended up choosing a lot of posts that are on a bit more of the "slightly embarrassing/I can't believe I actually posted that" realm because those moments are usually some of the most authentic and real to what my experience was at the time. I hope you guys enjoy seeing more of my journey on the platform and getting to know a little more about me.

My Intro Post


Screen Shot 2018-09-27 at 11.57.22 AM.png

Post Link - Introducing Myself to the Steemit World

Looks like I missed the memo on the whole "hold a sign with your username" thing for intro posts that was popular at the time. It was fun to look back on the comments and see some big users like @firepower and @flauwy took the time to stop by and welcome me to the platform. I also had a few people that I still follow welcome me on my first post such as @intuitivejakob and @mikeshuh. I've met very few West Coast Swing dancers here on Steemit - but @mikeshuh and I connected on that right way!

I also have to say a huge thank you to @askfreqk - who is no longer active on the platform. I spent a few weeks just commenting/reading other's posts before I made my intro post and I happened to comment on one of his posts the same day I finally added my introduction. He dropped me a little minnow booster and took my intro post from $.20 to almost 2 and a half dollars! Made my day.

A @curie Love Story


Screen Shot 2018-09-27 at 12.00.12 PM.png

Post Link - Insider Tips from a Barista to Save Money at Coffee Shops

Within my first few posts - I got noticed by @curie. I used to be a barista and thought it might be fun to make a post sharing all my "insider tricks" on how to save money at coffee shops. I spent hours upon hours making this post - and I dutifully refreshed the page for hours (like any typical Steemian would) hoping that maybe one or two people would find it helpful.

When I suddenly saw the vote count skyrocket and the post become worth close to $100 - I turned into a babbling idiot jumping around and freaking out. I didn't even know what Curie was at that point - but boy, I sure did after that day!

My First Open Mic Entry/My First Time Sharing Music/My First Video I Ever Made


Ok guys... a LOT happened in this post! Not only had I never spoken on camera, I had also NEVER recorded a music cover to share either! Don't mind the super nervous girl in the beginning of this video... she gets more comfortable over time I promise. ;)

It's kind of funny looking back at the quality too because this was before I had a microphone! So the audio is a little echo-oey.

The main thing I want to talk about though is OPEN MIC. I feel like we always say "Find Community" to people that are new on the platform... and that's because it matters. Getting plugged into the open mic scene was the first time I really felt "at home" here on Steemit. Like I said before, this was my first time sharing music and I was FLOORED at how supportive and encouraging people were! I have a lot of musician friend and I've never been even close to being the most talented in the group - and so I don't usually think of myself as that great of a musician or singer. So to feel all the love and hugs from the open mic community really helped keep me inspired to continue posting on the platform.

My Ukulele Beginner's Guide


Screen Shot 2018-09-27 at 6.39.52 PM.png

Post Link - Complete Beginner's Guide to Learning the Ukulele

When I was super new on the platform -this was another one of those post that I spent a crazy amount of time on! It has been so helpful though. I've met tons of people on Steemit that say they are interested in learning the ukulele - and so I always just drop a link to this post so they can get all my best tips for staring out.

My Favorite Music Cover To Date...


Post Link - My Immortal by Evanescence Cover

I have shared a LOT of covers during my time here on Steemit. In fact, there were months were music was the only thing I shared. Of all the covers I've done - this one is still my favorite. This is one of the first song I ever learned to play on the piano and I used to sit and play for hours. (Imagine 13 year old Lea pouring her heart out on the keys to this song) haha

In this cover, I tried to not really engage with the viewer much in the video - but instead sink into myself and just let you guys be there with me. I really hope you guys enjoy this raw video.

I am actually so excited right now because I thought this recording was lost. There were many months that I was posting to Dtube - without realizing that videos wouldn't play after a period of time. There are a lot of videos that I didn't keep the original copy due to space on my computer that I wish I had now - but what can you do? I decided to scroll through some old files today on the off chance that I kept this and I DID!! So I uploaded it to YouTube just for this post so you can watch it.

That One Time A Steemian (@goldmatters) Sent me a 24K Gold Ring in the Mail


Post Link -Mene 24k Gold Jewelry Unboxing

Well this was an exciting day to say the least! I remember when @goldmatters brought up the idea of doing some collaborations together and sent me a gorgeous Mene Ring. I assumed I'd have to ship it back after the collab (this was before his big Mene charms outreach on Steemit!) and he let me know that I could keep it. WOW!

I know own a few Mene pieces and can't say enough about the quality and value of these 24k pieces. Ps... @goldmatters wrote this super sweet post about me if you feel like checking it out!

The First Steem Sister Show Episode!

Screen Shot 2018-09-26 at 9.11.41 PM.png

Post Link - Steem Sister Show Episode 1 - Rapid Fire Get To Know Us

I couldn't believe it - but this video is actually playable on Dtube right now even though it is over 6 months old! Now I post all of our episodes to Youtube as as backup - but I didn't back then, so I kind of thought our first episode was just gone forever. I was so excited to hit play today and have it actually stream! I downloaded it immediately so that I can have it forever. I may upload to YouTube if you guys are having trouble playing it on your end!

This first episode is super nostalgic for me because starting this show with my sister has been one of the best things to happen to me this year. It's kind of fun to look back and see how far we've come too!

On the note of getting to know me better - the whole topic of this episode was a "rapid fire get to know us" and there are all sorts of juicy stories in this episode!

Speaking at the Steem Creators Conference


Post Link - My Talk at the Steem Creators Conference Las Vegas

If you are interested - you can also check out my talk at the Steem Creators Conference in Toronto that happened only about a month ago!

This was a really exciting moment for me in my Steemit journey. Not only was it the first time I had been asked to speak at a Steem related event - but more importantly it was my first Steemit Meetup! I had never gotten together with fellow steemians in person before and it was an incredible experience. My sister @maryjaney joined me on this trip and it was a really cool bonding experience for us too!

In my Vegas talk - I really chat more about my steemit journey, especially in the beginning of the talk.

My Health Journey


Screen Shot 2018-09-26 at 8.46.36 PM.png

Post Link - My Health Journey

Ahhhh this was one of the most vulnerable posts I have ever made on the blockchain. No one wants to look at old pictures of themselves at different weights - but this was definitely one of those "close my eyes and hit submit" moments. A year or two ago I had started gaining weight even though I didn't change anything and I had no idea what was going on. I experimented with a lot of things and found a food philosophy that helped me feel super healthy again. I dropped down to my high school weight in about a month and have stayed in that general range the last 5ish months I have been eating this way.

I share way more details in the post for those who are interested in checking that out.

When I Blew Up My Page With Star Wars Content on May 4th


I'm a liiiiitle bit of a Star Wars nerd and so on May 4th this year... I kinda went crazy. Here's a few Star Wars posts that I did that are definitely a little more on the embarrassing side!! (Especially the Chewie interview... LOL oh dear god)

That time I interviewed Chewie about Cryptocurrency...

Screen Shot 2018-09-26 at 8.44.37 PM.png

Post Link -- Coruscate Interviews Chewbacca on Top Secret Plans to use Cryptocurrency in their Fight Against the Empire

Or when I did a Star Wars medley on my Flute...

Screen Shot 2018-09-27 at 6.11.16 PM.png

Post Link - Star Wars Medley Flute Cover

Or when I taught all the Crytpo Babes out there how to make Leia buns...

Screen Shot 2018-09-27 at 6.12.40 PM.png

Post Link - Princess Leia Hair Tutorial

My First Steemit Collab


Post Link - Game of Steem

While we are on a nerdy note... the very first collab I did with another Steemian was to do a Drum/Flute duet to the Game of Thrones song - except making it a Game of Steem spoof.

This collab was extra special because it was with my OG #steemitbestie @steemmatt. We met in my early days on the platform and it's been pretty cool to see both of our progressions on the platform. Making friendships like this is one of the reasons I love this place.

And Then Sometimes I Vlog About My Thoughts on Steemit


Here's a few fun ones for ya!

Post Link - Six Ways to Creatively Engage with Your Followers

Every Once in a While... I Share My Epic Outdoor Adventures


Post Link - Complete Trip Recap - The North Cascades Wilderness

I don't vlog about this often - but I do a lot of hiking, rafting, paddling, fishing, backpacking, SUP'in, ... etc. I tried my hand at making a little cinematic footage on one of my trips this summer. Here's the teaser video for that! The Full Version is over 20 minutes long because it also includes a full trip report between me and my friend Shari. Thought i'd share the teaser here - but for those who are interested - the longer post also has a ton of photos!

Ok... you guys are probably sick of #throwbackthursday Coruscate Content by now - So i'll leave ya with one of my favorite posts yet. The Steembirds and Steem Sisters Collab.

During the Steem Creators Conference in Toronto - The @steembirds(@dan-atstarlite and @jaybird) and the @steemsistershow joined forces to write a song on the spot to perform at the conference! We also entered the song in that week's Open Mic Contest - and won Third Place!

I Nominate the Following People!



If anyone actually made it all the way through this post... I seriously owe you a beer. Thanks for the challenge @anomadsoul and I hope you guys enjoyed getting a glimpse into some of my older and more embarrassing posts!

Ok, we are supposed to nominate three steemians to join the challenge. I am going to nominate three people that have been on the platform for a long time and probably have lots of interesting pieces of content from their early days that would be fun to look back on.

Drumroll Please... @surfermarly, @goldmatters and @littlescribe!

Xo, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif

Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków


More of my Steemy Adventures


The Steem Sister Show Has a New Page!
The Steem Monster Show with @littlescribe and @coruscate
Watch My Talk at the Steem Creators Conference
Follow The Muse Project - Empowering Women on the Blockchain - with @ogc and @coruscate
Learn More About Mene 24k Gold Investment Jewelry
Sort:  

By virtue of the domino effect, it has been nice to get to know you a little bit today, Lea...

I'm here as a consequence of you nominating @surfermarly and Marly then nominating me for the challenge. :D

Thanks for this lovely post collection. I enjoyed looking over some of your work here on Steemit. I especially enjoyed your cover of "She Keeps Me Warm." ;) Good to hear the insightful comments in your keynote speech as well. :D

Thanks for starting a cascade that eventually reached me.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Wow, I love fun moments like that!! How cool that we got connected in such a round a bout way! I'll definitely have to stop by and check out your get to know me post now too! :)

Thanks! So nice to "meet" you here on Steemit. :)

Isn't it cool to look back and see the different stages of self-development one has passed through? This is definitely one characteristic of the blockchain I especially appreciate: our own story is there forever, and it can encourage us to keep going at any time.

Thank you so much for the nomination, of course I'll accept it :-)

Ooh how fun! I can’t wait to see your post! You are one of the first people I followed when I got here 15 moons ago and I think a lot of people will enjoy seeing more of your Steemit journey. ♥️

Hehe I know, you were one of my most engaged commenters :-))

Just submitted my post to the chain - perhaps one of my longest articles ever written. Let's see if anybody will even read it, haha

Enjoy your weekend, Lea!

Damn, you've been around forever.
Time plays tricks here though. It feels like 3 years since our first Adelaide meetup, but it wasn't even a year ago.
Great to catch up on your earlier content; I had no idea you'd done so many different, cool things.

Haha I hear ya!! It’s crazy how it feels like I have both been on Steemit forever and I just got here.

One of these days I’m gonna crash your Adelaide meetup! No warning... I’ll just show up. 😂

Spring here now. Weather's turning and the flowers are coming out.
20180907_191740.jpg
Just before the fireworks after first day at the Royal Adelaide show.

Awww omg what a cutie!!

Whoa I just read this! What an epic post!! I’m so stoked you included me:) i went back and read your first post you have linked here. Can i say it is HILARIOUS that you linked your BF incorrectly haha. I noticed his screen name was wrong lol!! This really is an amazing combination of all your talents and creative efforts. What a treat. I see every possible emotion in this content give me a real sense of who you are as a fully rounded person. Sweet side, vulnerable side, sad side, happy and ebullient side, musically talented side, intelligent side! Bravo @coruscate for sharing so much of yourself with us :)

Bahahah I never even noticed that typo. 😅 On another funny note - I said “Steem It” in my intro post. LOL

Thanks for being one of my best friends on the platform and always being so encouraging of me! 😃

Super cool post and amazing to see how far you have come in that time! I am glad I stumbled upon your introduction post back then. you are an incredible talent and have earned your success here.

Aww thanks @flauwy! It was fun to look back at my intro post and see your name!! 😊

I totally remember watching a video of yours that was filmed outdoors after you made that comment and thinking how nice it looked in Costa Rica! haha

Memory lane! Thanks for the big shout. Pound returned. When hard fork 21 rolls around, Steemit should basically have a big header on their new user welcome page to essentially do what you did.

While my voting power is worthless, resteemed, and... I'm here to provide that drumroll.... bbrrrrrrr

Hahah I can always count on you for a drumroll! 😜

Our collab was definitely a highlight from my Steem journey so far! ♥️

Looks like you put a ton of time into making this post and mining through your old posts. Nicely done. I've only been here for 5 months and never even did an "introducemyself" post. I just hit the ground running when I was shown this place by someone else who had just joined.

Your post gives me the energy to make that "introducemyself" post and then tie it into a "get to know me post" based on some of the stuff I posted to date, as well. You have a lot going on. Impressive.

EDIT: I'm also a huge Star Wars fan. Love the hair posts....

Bit of trivia; @bonniepiesse is here.
She played Aunt Beru in two of the prequels.

Aww love Bonnie!! ♥️

Thanks for checking my post out @inspire1! You should totally do an introduce yourself/challenge post! Great idea!

Also, I’m glad you appreciated my crazy Star Wars posts. 😂 I second @mattclarcke’s comment about @mattclarke’s comment about @bonniepiesse! It’s been fun to see her experience of being in the Star Wars family.

That is awesome. I didn't know we had @bonniepiesse (Aunt Beru version 2) accessible to us. That somehow increases my portfolio of Six Degrees of Separation from Kevin Bacon people count, even though I've never spoken to the woman. :)

I've met a few celebrities directly, which have bacon numbers of 2; such as the ones I name here. These people puts my own bacon number at 3 for Lionel Richie, Nina Blackwood, Huey Lewis, Darren Daulton, Ron Jaworski, Eric Clapton, Biz Markie, Joe Frazier, Chris Christie, Maury Povich, maybe someone else I am forgetting and I have also met some level 3's too, and now Bonnie Piesse will count as another level 3 to me, if she comments to me, because she also has a level 2 bacon number, according to: https://oracleofbacon.org/movielinks.php

Bonnie Piesse has a Bacon number of 2.
Bonnie Piesse was in Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones (2002) with Rose Byrne, who was in X: First Class (2011) with Kevin Bacon

Photo credit: starwars.wikia.com

Hahah omg I throughly enjoyed reading this response! Glad you were able to get a smidge closer to the one and only Kevin Bacon through Steemit! 😉

Wow, this is just a fantastic post @coruscate ! well done, upped and resteemed !👍✌💕😍👌

Thanks my friend!! 😃

Gosh you would be a great person for this challenge!! You’ve been around Steem land for a long time!

Awe thanks , I'm just way to busy and with Steemit pretty much down for a week I have not been on much at all. I did one post @monskitchen of the Banana Bread I made and it only made about 0.70 cents after all that work and no bots working so I could promote it. Anyways I did do a few interviews and similar things in the past , I can't even remember for who lol. Thanks again your awesome 👍😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow
Nothing ever could do better than this post to convince me that steemit IS this awesome, or at least can be, if you know how to deal with it. You Leia definitely know how to make good time in here. I get it now why they call you steemit sweetheart ;)

Aww your comment put a huge smile on my face!! 😊 Thanks for the love my friend!

Congratulations on the contest win.

I dance West Coast Swing too. Used to compete for years, until I finally reached the Intermediate level, and then I ran out of funds to continue competing. Wish I got to do it more. I had to start teaching dance to cover my losses. Sometimes I feel like I live in the Footloose town, because there are so many competing studios and clubs in my area all fighting for the same students. Directors and Board Members make up policies about who is allowed to teach at certain places, how frequently, and what they may teach. Strange how over the years the dance that made me fall in love with partner dancing has turned against me to keep me so far away from pursuing it. So I teach and host parties for Ballroom, Latin, and other styles instead.

Spring06Rick2.jpg

I'm all about community and teaching people to adapt and grow.

This is quite a long post, so I'll check out the rest in my down time. It is nice to see that you put a lot of hard work and authenticity into earning the big win.

Again, congrats!

Nooo way!! Another WCS dancer? I hope we get to meet in person sometime at a Steem event and get to dance together!

So sad to hear your town is so legalistic. How disheartening when people are just trying to dance and do what they love! I know dance communities tend to bring plenty of their own drama, but it’s a shame.

I am kind of torn on competitions too. Getting out of novice is such a hassle and can really depend on so many factors, even if you are a great dancer. I am in intermediate as well, but only compete if I’m at an event and it sounds fun to me now.

What corner of the world are you located in? Really would be cool to meet someday if there is a Steem meetup we are both going to! I'm in WA State - north of Seattle. :)

That's a nice thing to say. I'm Oregon close to Portland.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62