Complete Starter Guide to Learning the Ukulele

in #music7 years ago (edited)

There are a lot of reasons why someone might want to learn the ukulele. Because this instrument only has four strings, the chords are much simpler than a guitar. This lowers the learning curve and makes it much easier to get started right away. Also, it's just a fun and uplifting instrument! It's hard not to smile when you are playing the ukulele.

I often have people ask me for tips on getting started, so I thought I'd put it all together in a post. All of the photos in this post are of me and my uku. <3

File Oct 11, 8 02 03 PM.jpeg

Buying the Ukulele

I always recommend going to pick your ukulele in person. Sure, they can be ordered online, but there is something about actually holding it in your hands that can really change your perspective. If possible, finding a local music shop would be better than a large chain music store. A local shop will usually have staff that is passionate and knowledgeable about helping you find the right instrument.

There are four main sizes of ukulele's - the soprano, concert, tenor and baritone. Part of the reason I recommend going in person, is so that you can decide which size fits you best. Before going ukulele shopping, I was absolutely convinced that I wanted the smallest size - the soprano. I soon realized that I had to work pretty hard to hold it up if I was standing - where the concert could rest comfortably under one arm.

They say that "You don't pick the guitar, the guitar picks you". I think this can be true for the ukulele as well and I'd just encourage you to pay attention to how you feel with each different uke you try out.

Get it Re-Stringed Immediately

I mean pronto... like before you even leave the store. Most instruments will come with really cheap nylon strings. Spending the extra $5-$10 to get better quality strings is well worth the cost. It will help the ukulele to have a fuller sound and will also help keep the tune more stable.

I recommend Aquila strings. They are carried pretty much everywhere. They use Nylegut, which is a synthetic material that imitates the tone and feel of real gut strings. (don't think too long and hard about that one...)

Most music shops will restring your instrument for free - especially if you ask while you are already buying the ukulele and extra strings. Learning how to restring your uke is a good skill to learn...but definitely not necessary right way.

File Oct 11, 8 17 01 PM.jpeg

Find a Local Teacher or Start Watching Youtube Vidoes

Although nothing replaces having a real life person to guide you through the learning process, there are tons of great(and free) resources online. If you google "Beginner Ukulele Lessons" you will find tons of hits - but here is one I really like. He goes over how to hold the ukulele, tuning, strumming and some basic chords.

I went the self-taught Youtube route, but everyone has a different learning style, and so find what works for you.

I also highly recommend subscribing to The Ukulele Teacher's Youtube channel. He has tons of amazing tutorials - on basically any song you might want to learn. Most will be too advanced for you at this stage, but keep him in mind as you progress.

Get Comfortable Playing these 4 Chords

I recommend learning C, G, F and Am right off the bat. They are pretty simple chords and there are tons of songs you can play that only have 3 or 4 of those chords! Being able to play all the way through a couple songs will help to build your confidence right away and motivate you to continue learning.

chords.JPG

Here are a few songs that I really like using these four chords:

Cups by Anna Kendrick

Soul Sister by Train

Riptide by Vance Joy

She Will be Loved by Maroon 5

One Love by Bob Marley

Leaving on a Jet Plane by John Denver

Download a Tuning App

You can buy a tuner at the music store - but I actually prefer to use an app on my phone. I did purchase a tuner from the music store, but found the app to have more precise tuning metrics. Also, when the battery dies on your physical tuner, you have to go back to the music store to buy a special replacement. If you have a piano, you could certainly use that to tune - but I would still recommend getting the app for when you are out and about and want to play.

There is a mix of free and paid ukulele tuner apps available on the market. Coach Tuner and Tunefor Ukulele are good free ones.

Public Service Announcement - tune every single time you play… no exception!! Having even one string slightly off will make everything sound worse. If you get in the habit right away, it will become an easy part of your routine.

Photo Sep 06, 5 15 26 PM.jpg

Use Ukutabs.com to Find New Songs to Play

Ukutabs.com is my favorite site for finding songs I want to play. I love this site for two main reasons.

First, it shows you the finger pattern for every chord in that song. It even scrolls with you as you play, so you can always quickly reference the chord structure.

chords.PNG

Second, Ukutabs allows you to quickly transpose the song to different keys. This is especially beneficial for beginners, because it allows you to find easier chords to play the song. If there is a song you really want to learn - but the chords seem too intimidating - try hitting the transpose button a few times in each direction until you find something you are comfortable with.

transpose.PNG

Focus on learning songs you really like and enjoy playing! It’s fun to get to play some of your favorite songs and it will motivate you to learn new chords and continue practicing.

Be Careful of Temperature Changes

Instruments are sensitive to extreme changes in temperate. Basically, i'm saying don't leave your ukulele in the car overnight. It will make it much more difficult to keep good tone in your uke.

Play a Little Every Day!

This is not just to keep motivation up and to continually improve your skills, but you also need to train the ukulele to stay in tune. A new ukulele will go out of tune very quickly – sometimes even 10 minutes after you tune it! It takes regularly playing every day for months to train it. I’ve had my uke now for about 4 years and it only goes slightly sharp or flat on a few strings… even if I haven't played in a few days.

Find a Community to Play and Practice Together

The idea of playing with and in front of other people may seem intimidating at first, but it really can be a great way to advance your learning and grow deeper bonds with people. There is a special connection that comes when you create music with another person. Practicing together can be a great way to trade tips and knowledge. Youtube will eventually disappoint you and being able to ask someone a question in real life can make a big difference.

Where do you find such a group? I was lucky enough to know a couple that played when I got started and have since talked a few friends into learning as well. If you don't have friends who are willing to learn along with you - then you might be able to find a local meetup. I'd recommend doing a little internet research to find groups in your area. Meetup.com would be a good place to start.

Here's a shot of me and one of my besties doing a little street performance. I never would have imagined myself doing something like that 4 years ago when I started playing! We have just become so comfortable playing and singing together from all the practice, that it actually isn't too nerve wracking to perform in front of others now.

Photo Sep 06, 5 16 36 PM.jpg

Final Thoughts

Have fun and don't take yourself too seriously. Keep learning a little more every time you play and focus on learning songs that you really love.

If you have any questions on anything I covered here - let me know and I'd be happy to help!

Sort:  

This is one heck of a high quality post. Nice job. Calling on the Steemit Gods or respective whales to reward it more. Take my upvote, please.

Haha love it! Thanks for interceding with the steemit gods on my behalf. 😉

Definitely a quality post that deserves to be read by more Steemin Demons. This is the type of material that will make Steemit one of the premier social networks (not to mention of the premier sites on the entire internet.

Not only is it interesting, informative, well formatted and readable, it is also educational. I've dabbled in musical instruments before, but due to my lack of talent, I always abandoned them.

But this post makes my think that I should run out, by a ukulele, and learn those few basic chords you introduced. Really ... I should ...

Keep up the great work. Full Steem Ahead.

It’s comments like this that make me want to keep writing. The whole goal of this post was to make learning the ukulele feel a little more approachable and I’m so excited that was your experience.

Having music in your life can really add a new dimension to your creativity. You might be able to find a used ukulele that is pretty cheap on Craigslist, offer up or something like that. That way, there’s not much of a risk with getting one and you can just kind of play around with it. 😊

Thanks again for taking the time to read my post and engage.

Amazing post! Makes me wanna go to the music store right away! I think it's great that you taught yourself how to play the Ukulele (with a little help from youtube videos), but I think if you're passionate enough about it, you can learn everything :)

I absolutely agree! The whole way that we approach education and learning new things has change so much in the last few decades. The ability to find information on pretty much any topic you want within seconds is pretty incredible.

Oh, you are right, this instrument always surprised me with its simplicity and at the same time with the depth and ease of the sounds it produces. Ukulele= smile and love :)

Light tunes resounded into my head even in that moment, when I just saw the title of this post.

Ahh I love to hear that! It really is such a diverse instrument in terms of being able to sound light and cheery or deep and soulful. 😊

That flower in your hair is over the top. Im buying a uke this weekend. That breeze off the ocean probably smells great too!!

Hahah I know so cheesy right?? That’s so exciting!! Have fun with your uke adventures!!! 😃

You are very right, this article was super helpful.. i haven't changed the string on my uke, but i just might.. to see if it improves the sound .

Also, those songs from your list of "easy songs" are all indeed easy.. and i really like them all... (except Leaving on a Jet Plane by John Denver, o don't even know who John Denver is)

Thanks for pointing me to this article :) you are the best! <3

I’m so glad that you got a few good tips out of here! I think the strings are definitely worth it. The music store will probably change them for you if you ask nicely too. :-)

Oh haha yeah, but simce i already have changed my guitar strings many times before i am sure i can handle the Uku..
plus you know what? I live in such a small town i am not even sure the only music store we have, will even have ukulele strings lol! Or a capo, i want a capo foe it too ... i have to go to a biggee town... for that... even though i intend to.. it will take me while to gwt those strings lol.

This is a very interesting post. Information is power, steemit is empowering. I like being here.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 4.8% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @raised2b
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @coruscate to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Congratulations @coruscate! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 6.41 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @coruscate. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This is a very interesting post. Information is power, steemit is empowering. I like being here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66