Princess Leia Hair Tutorial (Easy!)

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Hi Friends!

Ok, I promise this is my LAST Star Wars post today! To celebrate the holiday, at work, I switched between my Rey costume and my Leia buns. I had SO many people ask me how I did my hair like this, that I thought it would be fun to put together a little video to show everyone how easy it is!

Ps... I know I complain about my corporate day job sometimes... but our social media manager literally asked me to help her create Star Wars content for our social media today because I'm the "In house expert". Well... one of our IT guys helped give some guidance too.

The Most Important Takeaways for Making Them Buns



Ok... if you actually want to make these... you should probably watch the videos. Here are a couple key points to remember though.

  • Part your hair down the middle. It will reflect the look from the movie AND it will make sure your buns are an even size because you will have a similar amount of hair on each side.

  • Make sure you have two pony tails with tight elasticity. If one is a bit stretched out - it will start to fall and will look lopsided.

  • Make your pony tails. It is important that they are really high and in front of your ears. The look Leia had was right on her temples... get your pony tails as far forward as possible.

  • Double check that your pigtails are at the same level. If one is slightly lower or higher than the other - it will look uneven when you go to make your buns.

  • Use a bun-maker to make perfect looking buns in only a few seconds!

  • If you are going out in costume, hairspray that thang. Bun makers are usually really secure, but this will help reduce frizz and keep you looking good all night.

That's it! I took longer in the video to show you guys every detail - but I can literally make this look in less than two minutes.

The Bun Maker I Recommend



There are a lot of foam bun makers that work well, but require bobby pins. I prefer THIS model because it uses wire to wrap the hair and then snap it into place. It literally takes seconds and requires no pinning or fussing with it.

It comes in a pack of two, but I usually just use one to make a pretty high bun. It's a really cute way to make my hair look put together in under a minute.

What About Those with Thin Hair?



I have seen people with SUPER thin hair use a bun maker like this and still make pretty full, cute looking buns. The thinner you hair, the smaller the bun will be though - so just keep that in mind.

Those with thin hair may be better off using a foam donut bun maker - because it will help add volume.

Thanks for Watching!



I hope you guys had fun watching this! I certainly had a good time making it. I just had so many people ask me today about this, that I'm excited to send this video out to them so they can try this out for haloween... or maybe to plan ahead for May 4th, 2019. ;)

xo, Lea

8252C8CC-104B-4627-8598-393EC95AD810.jpeg


Equipment Used in this Vlog



In order to add an extra layer of transparancy and value to my vlog's, I will be adding a list of equipment used at the bottom of each one! If you ever have questions about the gear I use, or how I use it - please don't hesitate to ask.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

May the 4th be with you! I can't do this with my super short hair sadly :(

Hahah I covered what to do with thin hair, but I didn’t take into account short hair. 😂

I LOVE it so much @skyleap!! I am currently using the original drawing as a footer for all of my posts, and I can’t wait to start using this instead now! So cute!

Thank you (^^)v

Great tutorial.. and if I may add: The lazy people solution (apparently only in one color)...

... and - just as it was the most normal thing in the world - the same for your dog:

Hahha I actually own one of these! A friend got it for me as a gift, but I just prefer to use my own hair. These are definitely kind of fun though! That pup is so cute!

It totally is. Looks a bit like the love child of Chewbaka and Leia:-)

OK that was easy, what about the wallpaper in the background, did You make that?

Hi LOVE YOUR POST MAN!!! LIKE MY POST TOO!!!!! HERE IS THE LINK: https://steemit.com/bots/@abusereports/last-minute-upvote-list-2018-05-02

Thanks for your tutorial. Very easy.

By the way, I'm your new follower. Nice to know you on Steemit

is this an actual holiday in the US?

German interpretation of May the 4th

ritter sport sith edition.jpg
Die dunkle Seite = the dark side

Im going to start rockin Han Solo 70's hair due lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58097.21
ETH 2581.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41