Introducing Myself to the Steemit World!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone. I've been on Steemit for about a month now and am excited to be finally introducing myself. I look forward to sharing my passions, thoughts, interests, hobbies, skills and joy with all of you. I have found steemians to be a supportive and accepting group where diverse ideas and expertise are celebrated. Here are a couple things about who I am to help you get to know me better.

Dance

I grew up doing ballet and started partner dancing about 8 years ago. My passion is West Coast Swing and Blues dancing. I help run a dance in my town one night a week and sometimes teach lessons and DJ for local dances as well. I also recently started competing! This last January I did my first partner competition and we won first place! I don't have any great videos of my dancing right now, but i'll try to film something to share with all of you.

Photo Sep 06, 5 10 14 PM.jpg

Photo Sep 06, 5 12 34 PM.jpg

Music

I grew up in a musical family where learning multiple instruments was strongly encouraged. I count myself lucky because that laid the foundation for one of my biggest passions in life. Don't get me wrong - i'm not saying that I have some crazy amount of talent - i'm just saying that creating music brings me more joy than I can say. I can sit at my piano and spend hours pouring my heart out over the keys. Music has also brought me some of my greatest friendships. I have a friend that I play ukulele with several times a week and we love to just play around and practice fun harmonies. Our voices blend together beautifully when we sing. Here's a photo of us singing and playing on the street for fun one day. Also - I've included a fun shot from a trip to Hawaii a couple years ago. :)

Photo Sep 06, 5 16 36 PM.jpg

Photo Sep 06, 5 15 03 PM.jpg

Backpacking, Rafting, Hiking, Paddling, Fishing

I live in the Pacific Northwest corner of the United States, which means we have almost three seasons filled with rain and grey clouds. If you can survive the gloomy winters around here - you are repaid by some of the most breathtaking summers in the world. The lush mountains, wild rivers and beautiful oceans make getting outdoors irresistible. From paddling to fishing, backpacking and rafting - I spend as many days as possible outdoors in the summer months. I'll post more on each topic in the future, but for now - here are a couple "teaser" shots of some of my different outdoor adventures!

File Sep 06, 6 26 15 PM.jpeg

Photo Sep 06, 5 10 55 PM.jpg

Photo Sep 06, 5 10 47 PM.jpg

Modeling

This is a brand new venture for me! Although i'd never really thought about modeling before, I've recently gotten a few requests from friends to model their products. My own company where I work just asked me to model our fall footwear line. There are a couple shots from that shoot below and I have another modeling gig happening this weekend for a friends jewelry business. I'll share more on that after the photos come through.

fall shoot 1.PNG

fall shoot 2.PNG

FOOD!!

I don't have any fabulous pictures of my creations to share with you right now - but I love curating and playing with great recipes. Making risotto is one of my favorite things in the world. It is not hard to make, but takes quite a bit of time. I love the natural rhythm of spending hours in the kitchen and then being rewarded with an amazing meal. Enjoying good wine and having great conversation with someone while cooking is one of my favorite pastimes in the world. I love to host and cook for others. (Consider this an open invitation if you ever find yourself in Bellingham, WA!)

My Love

This post wouldn't be complete without mentioning my partner in adventure, my biggest supporter and the love of my life -Josh. I promise not to get too gushy on you guys, but i'm grateful for this guy every day. Check out his page @rasied2b - he joined about a month ago as well and is the one who introduced me to Steem It. :)

Photo Sep 06, 5 11 44 PM.jpg

Photo Sep 06, 5 17 30 PM.jpg

Thanks for reading this far down. I have so much more that I want to share and look forward to creating some great posts for you to read. I've already been overwhelmed at the many beautiful and insightful posts on this platform. I look forward to "meeting" more of you the longer i'm here and I would be so thrilled if you followed my page.

Also, did i mention that I LOVE good wine yet??? Okay, glad we settled that. ;)

Photo Sep 06, 5 12 06 PM.jpg

Sort:  

Bout time :P Great first post babe!

Really dancing?

@moksamol Dancing has been an important part of my life since I was 5 years old. 😊 Do you like to dance?

Hello, @coruscate ! Great post! Very nice to meet you.I liked your post.
I followed you and UpVoted you!
Very cool that you are here! Steem on!
I wish you happiness! You will be happy on SteemIt! Nice photos, nice model, nice girl.

Thanks for the support @igor-steem! 😊

Welcome to Steem @coruscate I have upvoted and sent you a tip

You are beautiful! I loved your pictures and can't wait to see more.

Welcome to the Steemit.com community! I’m also new here.

Followed and upvoted. Please consider following me and checking out my past posts:

https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@rebele93/another-minnow-learning-to-swim-in-a-very-big-pond

https://steemit.com/photography/@rebele93/2017-total-solar-eclipse-images

https://steemit.com/photography/@rebele93/tonight-s-moon-9-5-2017

Cheers,
Mike Bryant (AKA: Rebele93)
https://steemit.com/@rebele93

Thanks for the upvote, Mike! 😊 I feel so bad, I somehow didn't see your comment until just now. I really enjoyed looking through your total eclipse post. I had about 85% totality where I was in WA state, and I wish I had driven to Oregon to see it in totality. It's really cool that you were able to capture it!

OMG 😱😱 you live in a WONDERFUL place!!! Paradise for hiking, biking, paddling!!! I love it!! 😍😍😍

Yes, I feel very lucky!! There are a lot of forested mountains, lakes and rivers up in the northwest corner of Washington State. I'm only about a half hour drive from Canada as well, and there is a lot of beautiful wild lands up there too.

Hey! Welcome to Steemit. Loved the post. Looking forward to more content! Hope you have a good time.

Thanks @firepower! I just read through your "1Year Anniversary" post and it's pretty incredible how much you have achieved in steemit in the last year! It's cool to see how you are working to build the community and collaborate with others. I'm looking forward to following along and reading through more of your content!

welcome! Glad to see you here. Hope you dont get as addicted as I am to steemit! ;-)

Thanks @lopezdacruz! I think it may be too late... 😉

You are a Westie?!? You are the only other swing dancer I have encountered on Steemit! I used to do a lot of ECS (I...love...lindy!!!) and blues dancing in the Chicago scene. I have slowed down over the past few years, but it's still one of my favorite things in the world.

@mikeshuh no way!! It's great to meet another swing dancer! I go out lindy/EC dancing on occasion, but WCS is my real love. Dancing is definitely one of my favorite things to do as well. I love the energy of creating something new with each partner and song.

Congratulations @coruscate! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44