Beer review Whiplash Body Riddle IPA

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

What are ya having yourself??

That's what I asked the man in the off license or bottle shop as my friends down under would say.. He recommended a few, and this bad boy was one of them. I won't lie to you this one absolutely hit the spot... Now the sun was beating down some delicious waves and I was chilling in my back garden, chomping on some sushi, so the setting was spot on... If I was sitting in a bus shelter in the rain waiting for a bus that seemed to be never arriving, would I have enjoyed it as much??

Possibly not, but I wasn't so, suffice to say this was bloody lovely :o)

So without further rumblings...

This weeks beer of the week is.....

Whiplash Body Riddle IPA

20180518_170848.jpg

Review

A massive citrussy hit of this IPA - right up my street. The can explodes with hoppy deliciousness on opening, and the taste delivers on the promising aroma. Packed full of flavour.

20180518_165244.jpg

It was really cloudy, and had a nice golden colouring. Check out the sediment in the pics below.

A toast to the sky

20180518_171741.jpg

Now that's what I call sediment...

20180518_171437.jpg

20180518_172430.jpg

The carbonation was all good as the fella says...

20180518_165517.jpg...

This week, the food that went with the brew was a little tray of sushi....

Mmmmmmmmmmmmm Sushi :o)

20180518_165935.jpg

20180518_170836.jpg

20180518_165812.jpg

Can Art

I loved the can art on this one, the name captures it perfectly really..

20180518_165201.jpg

Stats

  • Brewer: Brewer: Whiplash @Larkin's Brewery, Unit 2 Renmore Business Park, Kilcoole, Co Wicklow, Ireland
  • Alcohol Content: 4.5%
  • IBU - 26
  • EBC - 8
  • Size: 330ml/33cl can
  • What they say: Our interpretation of a modern American Pale Ale - Body Riddle arrives at near pilsner straw colour from its minimal malt base of Floor Malted British Pale Malt, Carapils and Wheat Malt so as not to crowd a busy bright hop bill of Lemondrop, Galaxy, Simcoe and Ekuanot hops.
    As per our usual delivery we’ve packed this one out with a nose of lemon rind, passionfruit, grapefruit juice and fresh piney goodness that follows through to a silky soft, sessionable body.

Rating

4/5

Divider.png
This is a post for #BeerSaturday hosted by @detlev

I hope you enjoyed my review, why not drop by https://steemit.com/@ablaze and say hello :)

Some of my other reviews can be found here:

Irish Beer Review 1 Mcgargles Cousin Rosies
Irish Beer Review 2 The Foxes Rock IPA
Irish Beer Review 3 Kinnegar Scraggy Bay Indian Pale Ale
Irish Beer Review 4 Tom Crean's Irish Lager
Irish Beer Review 5 Rascals Wunderbar IPA
Irish Beer Review 6 Costellos White Rhino IPA
Irish Beer Review 7 Boyne Brewhouse Irish Craft IPA
Irish Beer Review 8 Maggies Leap IPA
Irish Beer Review 9 Kinnegar The Devil's Backbone Amber Ale
Irish Beer Review 10 The Journeyman IPA
Irish Beer Review 11 Jack Cody's Amber Ale
Irish Beer Review 12 Whiplash Swoon
Irish Beer Review 13 Carfty Dan's IPA
Beer Review Beaverstown Brewery Neck Oil Session IPA
Woodkey Brewing The Hunted Deer IPA

All of the photos are mine and were taken with my Samsung Galaxy A5

Sort:  

Looks amazing mate. And that can art is awesome. I love a good fruity IPA as well. This one looks near on perfect. I had to stop and stare at the can hanging off the glass until I worked out what you'd done. Very tricky indeed. :P

Ha ha... the amazing flying can :o)

Ya this one was the business.. Going to stock up next time im at the off licence..

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ablaze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Good review and photos! The can art was pretty funky, hard to figure out what they were going for there. IPAs are not my thing but I like to read beer reviews none the less.

Thanks a lot man. The can art links to the name body riddle.... So there is a hand, a leg and an arm intertwined with that black and white stripping... Quite cool actually, my photos possibly didn't do it full justice..

Sushi + good IPA = double delight :) I don't know why I expected this one to be more alcoholic - ABV of 4.5% is kinda disappointing 😁 The shots against the sky are very nice!

Double delight is right!! I think you'd prefer a double-double delight with a double IPA at 6 or 7%... Whiplash do one actually called Swoon, which would be right up your street, but between the two, I'd chose this one.. Really really refreshing, I could neck quite a few of these :o)

Double double delight, lol 😂 DIPAs are my thing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98