Irish Beer review #2 The Foxes Rock IPA

in #beersaturday7 years ago (edited)

#Hello my fellow beer lovers!!
Here is my second installment in the Irish Craft beers series. I hope you enjoyed the first one last week. I plan to taste one Irish beer every week, and then rate and review it for all of you wonderful Steemians

You really cant beat a nice cold beer at the end of a tough day. You get in from work, kick back and open a nice chilled brew.

Oh holy mother of god! what's this.... WARM BEER!

There's nothing worse than a room temp beer or even one that's just a little cold, so in steps my trusted freezer to save the day!

20180219_220323_resized.jpg

I often use mine to get my beer to just the right temperature when they are newly bought and still at room temperature.. However, it can be a dangerous game :) If you leave it for too long, it can freeze over, pop the lid and cover your freezer in beer! Now that's not going to win you any brownie points with the missus/other half! Although, to be fair beer-battered chips are pretty sweet!!

So, after that little aside, moving swiftly along..

My Beer of the week this week is.....

The Foxes Rock American Style IPA

20180216_215118_resized.jpg

Intro

I had never tasted This particular IPA before, so I was looking forward to popping the lid and having a taste. It talked a great talk saying "The Foxes Rock rises at the start of the Cooley Mountains, a region of myth, magic and majestic beauty. Smoother by far than the rugged landscape and folklore that inspired Foxes Rock Irish Pale Ale, beneath which a sleeping giant is said to lay." Let's have a look at the review and see how it measured up.

Review

This one pours a slightly hazy amber colour from a 500ml bottle, with a small frothy white head. A little bit of carbonation going on, and some nice lacing. Aroma here is mainly biscuit, caramel and citrus. Reasonably decent flavour on the tongue initially, but it did not last unfortunately, and in the end it was disappointing. I'd have expected more of that nice hoppy flavour from an 'American-style IPA'. So in the end, this was not one to write home about, and I wouldn't buy one again. If I was offered a bottle at a friends house, I'd drink it, so as not to offend my host :)

Disappointing, as I had high hopes for this one.

20180216_215225_resized.jpg

Stats

  • Brewer: Cumberland breweries Ltd, Station Works Brewery, Camlough Rd, Newry, Northern Ireland
  • Alcohol Content: 5.2%
  • Size: 500ml/50cl bottle
  • What they say: The Irish Pale Ale is an approachable, using the finest malted barley sourced locally from Co.Louth. The IPA is bursting with fruity hop flavour due to the generous dry hopping, balance with malty and biscuit flavours from the malt.

20180216_215150_resized.jpg

Rating

2/5
Divider.png
This is a post for #BeerSaturday hosted by @detlev

From last week:

Irish Beer review #1 McGargles Cousin Rosie's Pale Ale

I hope you enjoyed my review, why not drop by https://steemit.com/@ablaze and say hello :)

All of the photos are mine, except for the supermarket one. They were taken with my Samsung Galaxy smartphone

Image Source

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ablaze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I must say I love the bottle, it is a pity it did not live up to expectations!!

Yes, it stood out from the crowd in the supermarket! Got her nice and chilled, and then it ended up a disappointment in the end. Hoping to make up for it next week with one of my favorites

2/5, I. Will try to avoid it!

Ya, nothing to write home about here @marcel1965 pity..

You got a 2.48% upvote from @sunrawhale courtesy of @ablaze!

This service has been created with the help of @yabapmatt so please show your support by voting for him for witness!

Guilty of putting the beer in the fridge until it's extra cold as well. This is heritage of my Brazilian genes. Most interesting is the aroma of biscuit, I do like that on IPAs. Keep on reviewing!

It's all good, unless it bursts, or when you get semi-ice slushy beer!! A risk worth taking though, as drinking warm beer is a nightmare..

I know how it is. But the label is great. The bottle will look great up on the shelf. :-)) I was interested in how an Irish brewer would decipher an American IPA. Thanks for the review.

Thanks for dropping by @dennisauburn, ya the bottle is a looker alright, just a pity the beer didn't match it... I just finished this weeks bottle, and it's a beauty, looking forward to writing up the review on this one and sharing with you all :o)

Xlnt. Looking forward to it. I think my review is fortunate enough to be more positive this week. Glad I got a six pack. :-))

Just checked it out there man, looks like a tasty one, happy days you have the sixpack!! Enjoy it !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79