Happy St Patricks Day from Ireland!!! Look what I've been drinking 🍺🍺

in #beer6 years ago (edited)

It's just gone 12:45am here in Ireland and so it is officially.... Saint Patricks Day!!

Happy St Patricks day to all you Steemians!!

And especially my 433 followers and all the guys and gals at #Beersaturday

It's sweet that it fell on a Saturday this year, so all our friends from around the world can raise a glass to St Patrick, the patron saint of Ireland and.... ahem..... Drinking! 😇

20180316_230602.jpg

So as we say here in Ireland before we have a drink Sláinte, which means health and happiness...

And to all my wonderful mix of International friends here on Steemit... @improv @deirdyweirdy @mariannewest @brisby @carolkean @wandrnrose7 @snook @nelinoeva @mysecondself01 @qsounds @robbieretard @storytllng.rocks @byn @vladivostok @detlev @felt.buzz @jeezzle @svashta @rynow @niallon11 @miniature-tiger @deaconlee @omra-sky @mazzle @metzli @theleapingkoala @eyedreemit @wonderwop @zen-art @customnature @mikesthoughts @honeydue @poetrybyjeremy @whatisnew @conradt @celestal @marcoriccardi @improv @f3nix @edprivat @mdosev @dennisauburn @anthony-t-clarke @maninayton@harveyword @pixiehunter @bleedinheart @jayna @simgirl @imchandansah to name the ones that are on the top of my head, I've missed loads I'm sure..

Cheers

Bottoms Up

Gesondheid!

干杯!

Na zdravi!

Proost!

Santé!

votre santé!

Zum wohl!

ΥΓΕΙΑ!

Salute!

乾杯/!

건배!

į sveikatą!

Noroc!

Na zdrowie!

Saúde!

Будем здоровы!

Salud!

Skål!

Iechyd da!

Sei gesund!

Gëzuar!

فى صحتك:!

Կէնաձդ!

Živjeli!

Terviseks!

Mabuhay!

Kippis!

Chok dee!

Noroc!

Hopefully I covered all your languages and more!! Is anyone reading whose language/country isn't covered? Well let me know the expression and I'll edit it in 🍺

I've already done my review for #Beersaturday, but seeing as it's St Patricks day, I decided to do an extra special bonus addition. So this Happy St Patricks day greeting is going to double up as a beer review also... sure why not!!

So a little background for some of you, each week for the past 5 weeks, I have been taking part in @detlev's #Beersaturday contest... It has been gaining in popularity week on week, and this week he has set a target of 80 reviews and this week he is offering 40SBD in prizes... All you have to do is crack a beer, drink it, then talk about, upload 3 or more pics of the beer and tell us a little story about beer... Very easy, and I've learned loads of new stuff about beer from all the experts in the last few weeks.. Craft beer is my new love when it comes to beer..

So let's crack on with my 6th Beer review..

This years St Patricks Day beer of the year is.....

Costellos White Rhino IPA

20180316_225149.jpg

Intro

Careful now, unleashing this beast usually ends up in a great time, with a few bruises, enjoy.

That's the message that greets you on the side of the bottle, and it's on the money. This is a fine fine beer. That lovely hoppy smell fills the nostrils as soon as you open the cap, and the nose does not deceive the taste buds, as it tastes every bit as good!

It was my first time having this one, it was recommended by the man in the off license, and a fine recommendation it was too!! Thanks Mr Off license man 👍

20180316_225040.jpg

Review

This one poured a real hazy golden colour, with a decent white head. There was good lacing to the glass all the way to the end. There is a distinct citrus taste here, with grapefruit and burnt orange to the fore. The finish is dry and crisp and leaves me wanting more. There was good carbonation here which added to the bitterness, but it was not too bitter, it was just right actually. Some pine notes noticeable in the aftertaste also, adding to the complexity. At 6.5% it is quite a strong IPA, so you probably wouldn't be having too many on a night out if you wanted to remember the way home!

Altogether a great beer, and I had a little fun with it for St Patrick's day as well :o)

It's the kind of beer you'd find at the end of a rainbow to be fair!!

20180316_225952.jpg

Stats

  • Brewer: Costellos Brewing Company, Hebron Road, Kilkenny, Rep of Ireland
  • Alcohol Content: 6.5%
  • Size: 500ml/50cl bottle
  • What they say: Costellos has loads of flavour, imparted by all the choice ingredients we use to brew it. Ideally you
    should drink costellos at 7°. This allows the full flavour of the beer to emerge.

20180316_230919.jpg

Rating

3.75/5
Divider.png
I hope you enjoyed my review, why not drop by https://steemit.com/@ablaze and say hello :o)

My other reviews of Irish beers can be found here if you are interested:

Irish Beer Review 1 Mcgargles Cousin Rosies
Irish Beer Review 2 The Foxes Rock IPA
Irish Beer Review 3 Kinnegar Scraggy Bay Indian Pale Ale
Irish Beer Review 4 Tom Crean's Irish Lager
Irish Beer Review 5 Rascals Wunderbar IPA

All of the photos are mine and were taken with my Samsung Galaxy A5

Sort:  

you too...
"Happy Pattrick day "
Let's enjoy and chill..
have a great day...
@upvoted @resteem

Thanks a million :o)

Happy St. Patrick's Day! Got a few hours to go, but I'm drinking some Heineken right now. Salute!

DSC00165.JPG

Salute my friend, 'keep her lit' as we say here... Thanks for the lovely message :o)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ablaze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Happy St Patrick's Day! I admit, I have been a bit more of a 'wine with dinner' person. But next time i wonder into the bottle shop, we'll give this beer a try 😄

Thanks a mil, I do like my wine as well, especially when I'm out for dinner... But on a Friday night, when the kids are gone to bed or when I'm watching sport, it's always a beer :o)

Happy St. Patrick's Day!!! Sláinte!

Sláinte @simgirl I love the picture!! Thanks for the well wishes

I'm not into beer in any way, but I do appreciate that I came across your mind even though it was on the top of your head ;)

As for the languages, mine isn't there. I wouldn't expect it to be - I am Maltese. The funny thing is, I don't know what we would say in our language. We might not have a word - we tend to use English quite often, so I would suppose we would use the same 'cheers'.

Ah, I never knew that you were from Malta... It is on my list of countries to visit.. My parents have been and they loved it.. Thanks for popping by :o)

Now you know ;) Apparently, that makes me somewhat special on steemit. We tend to be a rare breed!

I'm sure it does, with such a small population like Ireland..

Thanks so much, and happy St Patrick's Day to you too - still lots of time to test more beer brands, LOL! Amazing that you put up all these languages, and German is there, too! Do you know how many breweries there are in Ireland over all? I used to make this a quiz (in regard to Germany, of course) when I was teaching German as second language, and I'm still baffled that there are more than 1400 breweries in Germany ... so if you ever run out of "test objects" in Ireland ... hahaha ;))

Ha ha, I might have to do German tastings next so!! I remember the first time I visited Germany when I was 18, we stayed in a little town called Trier, it was a great trip, and I remember all the different types of beer... I was amazed that there were so many, as most pubs in Ireland at the time would have served only 4 to 6 types on draught.. Fast forward almost 20 years, and we now have a great diversity.. To answer your question, at a guess I would say there are around 100 breweries in the country.. Cool question for your students, and a good way to keep them engaged, as typically students love beer 🍺🍺

Wow, I wouldn't have guessed that there are even more breweries or types of beer in Ireland today than there used to be! Here the number is declining, but hey, we're talking "down to 1400 from 1600 breweries", lol. Funny thing: Trier is best known for the wine, but of course you can get beer literally anywhere in Germany - as you did ;)

Ya there is loads more... Craft beers have really taken off here in recent years, so there are loads of little microbreweries popping up... I just read here that there were 72 craft breweries in 2017, and then there are the old ones like Guinness, Smithwicks, Murphys etc, so the number is pretty close to 100 I'd say.. I never knew Trier was known for wine at all, we were very young, so wine didn't get much of a look in :o)

Now that we've talked about Trier, I remember that our first school trip as "semi adults" (14/15 yo) was to some sort of holiday camp close to Trier, and we bought lots of wine during a trip to the vineyards ... our teacher said, winking, "Oh, for your parents?", and we all went "Yeah, sure", but the next evening got a little out of hand and he wished we never had made this trip to the vineyards, lol!
Those microbusiness are very cool, they have been popping up here, too, during the last years. There's a guy close to me who is roasting coffee in his garage - size for a single car if there wasn't the roasting facilities taking up all the space, haha. And the quality is awesome!

That's so sweet! I love to see little businesses like that, and I always try to support them... Give me a little coffee shop over Starbucks every day of the week!!

Happy Paddies Day

Thanks @steveuk Hope you enjoyed it, sorry about the rugby.. Only our 3rd grand slam, they don't come around too often for us..

Happy St. Patricks Day Ablaze (okay belated now)! I hope you had a wonderful time with your family and friends!

20180317_180033.jpg

Thanks a million @brisby..... That looks really tasty.... Irish coffee??

Yup! 😋 It was my first time having one, well several (I lost count) and I'll be picking up some whiskey to make more!

Gesondheid and happy St Patrick's day from South Africa, you covered my language (Afrikaans)

Nice post

Thanks @rynow, really nice of you to stop by, Gesondheid!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57