Irish Beer review #1 McGargles Cousin Rosie's Pale Ale

in #beersaturday6 years ago

#Hello my fellow beer lovers!!
This is my first time giving this a whirl, so be gentle and if you so please, a comment would really please this Irishman! God knows we love our beer :)

Irish-Drunk.jpg

I am planning to sample a different Irish craft beer each week, and then do a review on the beer and share it with all of you wonderful Steemians

My Beer of the week this week is.....

McGargles Cousin Rosie's Pale Ale

20180215_013520_resized.jpg

Intro

For me the craft beer is by far and away the finest variety of beer, and sits proudly atop my beer pyramid.

Beer2.jpg

I rarely drink regular beer anymore, since discovering craft beer. There are some exceptions to the rule though, Guinness and Leffe are still firm favorites of mine, and I'm also partial to a nice glass of red wine. But you really cant beat the taste and flavour from a nice cold crisp craft beer

McGargles make a number of very tasty craft beers, with excellent names like "Toothless Dec's Brown Ale", Knock Knock Ned's IPA and "Granny Mary’s Red Ale" to name a few. My favorite one from this family of brews is "Coisin Rosie's Pale Ale"

McGargles.jpg

Review

It pours well, and boasts a nice head, which stays well with pretty good lacing. Citris and grapefruit flavours are to the fore, but the taste of bread, pine and toasted malts all come through the fruity nuances in a nice combination. The colouring is inviting - a nice dark amber colour. There is a lot to enjoy about this beer, and I would recommend taking your time with it, and try to pick out the different flavours which make up the brew.

20180215_014327_resized.jpg

Stats

  • Brewer: Rye River Brewing Company, Celbridge, Co. Kildare, Ireland
  • Alcohol Content: 4.5%
  • Size: 500ml/50cl bottle
  • What they say: Cousin Rosie’s Pale Ale balances bitter citrus hop character with a soft malt body pushing through the aroma of grapefruit, orange peel and pine. All this is backed up with a light body of biscuit, bread and toasted malts.

20180215_013537_resized.jpg

Rating

3.25/5

This is a post for #BeerSaturday hosted by @detlev

I hope you enjoyed my review, why not drop by https://steemit.com/@ablaze and say hello :)

Two of the images were not mine. See sources below. The others were taken with my Samsung smartphone

Image Source
Image Source

Sort:  

I agree with you after discovering craft, regular beers taste a bit tasteless!!
Nice post and the beers looks great!!

Thanks for stopping by @rynow My stomach sinks when I arrive in a bar these days, and they only have the standard Bud, Carlsberg and Heineken... But luckily everywhere here does Guinness, and often very good Guinness! But nothing quite like a tasty craft beer!! :o)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28