Irish Beer review #4 Tom Crean's Lager

in #beersaturday6 years ago

#Hello my fellow beer lovers!!
This is my the fourth beer review in the Irish Beer Review series by @ablaze. I basically try one Irish beer every week, and then rate and review it for all of you wonderful Steemians

If you have any suggestions of Irish beers you'd like me to taste in the future, just leave comment below, and I will try to source and review it for you.

I usually do these reviews on my couch on a Friday night - forget about work for a while, put the kids to bed, then recline my sofa, grab my beer from the fridge, crack it open, enjoy, then share the experience with you folks. But this week I did it a little bit differently, I had plans on Friday night, and was going to do it on Saturday night instead. Then on Saturday, I was at a local restaurant in the afternoon with my wife and kids for a bite to eat. I saw an Irish beer on the menu with a really cool name, and thought, hey why not try this one out for the Steemit reviews, and so here we are :o)

This one hails from the picturesque county of Kerry in the Southwest of Ireland.

Tom Crean's.jpg

This weeks beer of the week is.....

Tom Crean's Lager

20180217_135456_resized.jpg

Intro

It is rare enough I drink lager these days, but the restaurant we were at had limited beers, so the choice was between a few generic popular international brands (or blands as I call them), and this Irish brew from county Kerry, with a great name of a famous Irish man. So, I went for Tom Crean's lager. For those of you who don't know who he was, which I suspect is most of you, this detail from their website gives a nice brief description as follows:

TOM CREAN [25 FEBRUARY 1877 – 27 JULY 1938]
In 1912, during Captain Robert Falcon Scott’s fateful expedition to the South Pole, one legendary Irishman marched alone across 35 miles of hostile Antarctic terrain in treacherous conditions. Enduring bitter cold and painful exhaustion, with practically no food and nothing to guide him only his bravery and determination, he marched non-stop for 18 grueling hours. All to save the lives of his comrades…

Tom Crean.jpeg
Source

Review

The 330ml bottle was perfectly chilled, so it had passed the first lager test for me, it poured nicely as well with a decent head, which laced well throughout. The colour upon pouring was light and golden, as you'd expect from a lager. The taste was pretty bland, with not a whole lot going on flavour wise, some earthy bitter hops, slight maltiness and tiny hint of floral notes. On the whole quite a dry lager, and certainly nothing to write home about.

It wasn't bad for a lager I suppose, but if there was a choice of a decent craft beer, the latter would win out everytime. Nothing special about this one, but nothing terrible either. It sits squarely in the middle of the road.

20180217_140413_resized.jpg

Stats

  • Brewer: Dingle Brewing Company, Spa Road, Dingle, Co. Kerry, Ireland
  • Alcohol Content: 4.3%
  • Size: 330ml/33cl bottle
  • Malts: Lager Malt as a base malt and a Cara Malt which gives it that golden colour and caramelised taste.
  • Hops: Saaz Hop from the Czech Republic
  • What they say: Tom Crean’s Irish Lager made from simple, natural ingredients including ripe hops, two distinct malted barleys, German style lager yeast and crystal clear spring water. ONLY these ingredients are added and then chill-filtered to create a refreshing 100% natural lager. Light on the palate with a rounded, smooth mouthfeel and a clean, clear finish, the overall sensation is crisp and fresh and provides a thoroughly enjoyable drinking experience.

20180217_135619_resized.jpg

Rating

2.5/5
Divider.png
This is a post for #BeerSaturday hosted by @detlev

I hope you enjoyed my review, why not drop by https://steemit.com/@ablaze and say hello :)

The other reviews of Irish beers can be found here if you are interested:

Irish Beer Review 1 Mcgargles Cousin Rosies
Irish Beer Review 2 The Foxes Rock IPA
Irish Beer Review 3 Kinnegar Scraggy Bay Indian Pale Ale

Sort:  

You got a 7.17% upvote from @steembidbot courtesy of @ablaze!

Hey, you gave it a try, right? I liked the story and I'm glad you decided to give the restaurant beer a try. Cheers til next week!

Ya, always good to give it a try, and it wasn't the worst lager to be fair, just really middle of the road stuff, but I'm not really a lager man.. Thanks for the comment, looking forward to catching up on yours and others in the next few days..

I'd buy this beer for that awesome picture of Crean on the front - I like a man who says, yeah sure your taking my photo but I ain't gonna stop smoking my pipe.

Ha ha, ya, he does have a really "I couldn't give a fuck" head on him!! :o)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61