Irish Beer review #3 Kinnegar Scraggy Bay Indian Pale Ale

in #beersaturday6 years ago (edited)

#Hello my fellow beer lovers!!
This is my third installment in the Irish Craft beers series. For those of you not familiar, I plan to taste one Irish beer every week, and then rate and review it for all of you wonderful Steemians

It's been great so far, and although last weeks beer disappointed, it was still great to try a new Irish craft beer. Through these reviews, I hope to try every craft beer in the country, ending up with a top five that I can recommend to people.

So last Friday, on the way home from work I bought a couple of these IPAs, I had tasted their bigger brother The Devils backbone, but had never tried the IPA. I actually planned to review The Devils backbone, but then I had a bottle of Scraggy Bay and I swiftly changed my mind, that one will have to wait for another week.

Screenshot_2018-02-28-13-28-35.jpg

So as you can see, my beer of the week this week is.....

Kinnegar Scraggy Bay Indian Pale Ale

Intro

As I said, this was an IPA I hadn't tasted before, so I could hardly wait to crack the lid and try it. It really didn't disappoint. On initial inspection, I liked the look of the bottle - taller than most 500ml bottles and a nice simple design.

I Popped the lid, and straight away the sweet fruity hop smells hit my nostrils. I could tell I was going to like this one. It really hit the spot, and ticked many of the boxes for me. In fact this one was so good, I said I'd have to jazz up the photo with some fresh tulips that my wife had lying around :o)

20180224_205901.jpg

Review

I poured this one into my trusty tasting glass - it poured a golden amber colour, with a slight haze. The head was a decent size, faded quite quickly, but enough coverage remained for my satisfaction. There was quite a lot of carbonation apparent and a decent amount of lacing noticeable on the glass too. There is a lot of flavour going on here, with bitter fruit to the fore - grapefruit, lime, possibly blood orange. This is balanced well with light biscuit malt sweetness, and maybe a hint of caramel. Some pine too on the aftertaste, a real cacophony of flavours and they compliment each other well, without being over complicated.

So check your local off license, and see if you can get one of these, it comes highly recommended.

I enjoyed this one with a bit of sushi - beer and sushi always a good combination. the cold beer cools down the wasabi nicely!

20180224_205951.jpg

Stats

  • Brewer: Kinnegar Brewing Limited, Letterkenny, Co. Donegal, Rep of Ireland
  • Alcohol Content: 5.3%
  • Size: 500ml/50cl bottle
  • What they say: Fondly known as “Yellowcap”, Scraggy Bay is a balanced golden ale with a snappy little bite of hops.

20180224_210012.jpg

Rating

4.25/5
Divider.png
This is a post for #BeerSaturday hosted by @detlev

I hope you enjoyed my review, why not drop by https://steemit.com/@ablaze and say hello :)

The other reviews of Irish beers can be found here if you are interested:

Irish Beer Review 1 Mcgargles Cousin Rosies
Irish Beer Review 2 The Foxes Rock IPA

All of the photos are mine and were taken with my Samsung Galaxy A5

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ablaze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94