13th ARTstyleART Theme Announcement. Action Painting + Music!!! No Need to Be an Artist to Take Part!

in #artstyleart137 years ago (edited)

I invite you to explore different styles in art together not theoretically but practically.

I suggest you an art style and a theme for inspiration and you shall make a painting in the suggested style and on the base of the suggested theme.

This week we will try Action Painting + Music.

enter image description here
Jackson Pollock

I was thinking what can be inspiration for Action Painting. And, of course, it is MUSIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I suggest you paint listening to "Angie" by Rolling Stones.

If this doesn't work to you at all, please use your favourite song. Please insert the music you were painting with into your post.

And I am sorry if I disappoint some of you but I have made a very difficult decision.
In Artstyleart contest only paintings or digital paintings will take part. The thing is that it is wrong to compare paintings and digitally processed photos and mostly there are only one or two digitally processed photos taking part which are not enough for the contest.

I am sorry and I will not mind if somebody initiates the contest for digitally processed photos.))

Action painting

This term was created by the American critic Harold Rosenberg in 1952 for description of works of abstract expressionists. The most famous were Jackson Pollok and Willem de Kooning.
This style is painting with spots which don't create any certain images. Each brushstroke or line are put down with a quick movement of the hand. There are no plans or sketches, just an expression. Most artists put a canvas on the floor. The finished work is a reflection of creative connection between an artist and his work which is free from limits of the advance elaborated form or subject. Pollock told:" When I am painting on the floor, I feel more freedom. I feel myself as a part of my work as I can walk around it and work from 4 sides and be "inside" of the canvas".

enter image description here
Jackson Pollock

enter image description here
Wilem de Kooning

enter image description here
Karel Appel

enter image description here
Franz Kline

Rules:

  • Upvote and resteem this post

  • Make a post with your painting with the tag #artstyleart13 (Please check the spelling when you put a tag as there was one entry with the mistake in the tag but happily I have seen that work). Please don't forget to insert music which inspired you for this work.

  • Please specify in your post the category
    painting (oil, watercolor, acrylic, gouache, markers, pastel etc) or digital painting

  • Leave a link with your post in the comment to my post.

  • The entry should be your original work (Once we had the unpleasant situation)

  • The painting shall be made specially for this contest. Please mention it in your post. This idea was given my @mamandi

The great thing is that each of the artist end up with new works to
add to their body of work and the camaraderie that comes with a level
playing field.

I really like this idea. I always put paintings made specially for my contest in preference. For now it is not an obligatory condition. But those who will make a painting specially for my contest will get my vote in addition to others. Later we will see and it can be an obligatory condition.

Deadline

Please submit your entries by 9 pm Moscow time next Sunday, October 01, 2017.

REWARD POOL - 10 SBD

I am also trying to build a Steemit Artists database. Please let me know if somebody is missing. And I am also sorry if I added somebody by mistake. Let me know and I would remove you from the list. If anybody doesn't want to be in the list, please let me also know. Thank you!

@aishwarya, @africangold, @aksinya, @alex-zerr, @allfabeta, @allforthegood, @anca3drandom, @anandkphoto, @aneblueberry, @andrew0, @andrianna, @anikanam, @allstarrunner, @aniestudio, @argenisboom, @artguy, @artwithflo, @art21, @barbara-orenya, @billyjohnsonart, @camilla, @catsmart, @cgame, @chessmonster, @christiesnelson, @coloringiship, @comealong, @christiesnelson, @coquiunlimited, @cryplectibles, @dana-varahi, @danilamarilu, @danthundercloud, @davor27, @dazzles, @daydreams4rock, @dcrockete, @deborahmurphoils, @dksart, @dlina-v-metrah, @drawingsbymilena, @dreemit, @dottie, @dunsky, @earthbound, @edgarsart, @elementm, @elewarne, @elgeko, @elena2017, @em3di, @englishchivry, @errymil, @eternalsunshine, @everlove, @exe8422, @fayehalliday, @federacion45, @flowerpowerart, @fractalizer, @fvris, @fumansiu, @fun-along-theway, @funkit, @ginasarasini, @giraffeonskates, @girlbeforemirror, @globaldoodlegems, @golazin, @goldenroom, @granturismo89, @gric, @groundcontrol, @gunni55, @harshalachopra, @havok777, @heartrose, @henry-gant, @hhelenbby, @hilarski, @hopehugs, @inber, @indiandigitizer, @izabellablue, @james7, @jameshsmitharts, @jameslano, @jangaladesigns, @janiceduke, @jankasparec, @jessamynorchard, @jnart, @josephmoyers, @juanmiguelsalas, @juliakponsford, @jungwatercolor, @jyezie, @kalemandra, @karmashine, @katharsisdrill, @ken-and-jane, @krizia, @ksenja, @kryo, @lapstjup, @lauralemons, @leoplaw, @lighteye, @lightsplasher, @littlemozart, @lloyddavis, @louiscpt, @luckyfellow, @mada, @maddieraeart, @madlenfox, @mamadini, @marty-art, @mariandavp, @mechart, @mayasky, @meesterboom, @merej99, @michaelmcdermott, @michaelstobiersk, @mindfreak, @mikkolyytinen, @milenamilak, @mprgrmmr, @motivator, @mr-monk, @mrssignificant, @mystisoul, @nadversion56, @naquoya, @natureofbeing, @nature.sauvage, @neonartist, @nicnas, @nikosgyftakis, @ninatokhtaman, @nin0000, @nitan, @noelaattlee, @nonameslefttouse, @oceansoul13, @ocrdu, @offgridlife, @omwith, @onlyifisayok, @opheliafu, @paniopan, @paolobeneforti, @paulcolumbus, @peterheckmann, @pcste, @pixielolz, @phoenixmaid, @prakashghai, @prostosun, @pyrowngs, @rachelsvparry, @randolphrope, @rbennett, @reddust, @reinhard-schmid, @reneenouveau65, @revostrike, @richguy, @robyneggs, @rubens9119, @rubenalexander, @sanakumar, @saramiller, @sashagenji, @seisges, @serkorkin, @sethlinson, @shady, @shortcut, @siloe, @silviabeneforti, @skapaneas, @stitchybitch, @sofi-m, @sopa-pekar, @soyjoseluis, @spaceginger, @splus, @stargarden, @stephenking989, @straydays, @sourcebird, @sumsum, @supernalbeing, @surrealflakes, @synesthesia, @tarazkp, @tasartcraft, @thebatchman, @the01crow, @thedrollyears, @thetruthbomb, @therealpaul, @tracer-paulo, @tommervik, @toonpunk, @throughwindows, @trueart, @trulafountaine, @txatxy, @twirble, @ubik, @unusualconcept, @urielromeo, @verbal-d, @veronicavaldeon, @villainblack, @voodoolizard, @voronoi, @winstonwolfe, @woman-onthe-wing, @woodywood143, @wordsword, @wvm, @xochicotta, @xtrodinarypilot, @xusayz, @yadamaniart, @yoogyart, @yoganarchista, @yuccarose, @yusaymon, @yuslindwi, @zenithwombat.

You can check previous artstyleart contests here:

Winners of artstyleArt#12 9 participants
Winners of Artstyleart#11 13 participants, 15 entries
Winners of Artstyle#10 7 participants, 9 entries
Winners of Artstyleart#9 12 participants
Winners of ArtstyleART#8 11 participants, 14 entries
Winners of ARTstyleART#7 28 participants, 33 enties
Winners of ARTstyleART 6 17 participants, 22 entries
Winners of ARTstyleART 5 11 participants, 12 entries
Winners of ARTstyleART 4 20 participants, 21 entries!
Winners of ARTstyleART 3 9 participants
Winners of ARTstyleART 2 14 participants, 17 entries
Winners of ARTstyleART1 8 participants, 9 entries

I can't wait to see your entries!!!!!!!!!!!!

I will be very happy if you want to support ARTstyleART!

I will also highly appreciate if you join my another contest where we give interpretation to different surreal paintings. Please check an update later today at @artquest-trail

REMINDER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ARTQUEST-TRAIL#22 (ARTchallenge) 100 TRAIL +10 SBD Prize Pool.

I would like to thank the amazing person @henry-gant for the constant support (You are always in my heart and my prays) and other our supporters @dcrockete, @thetruthbomb, @anonimnotoriu and @coloringiship.

Source: http://translate.academic.ru/action%20painting/en/ru/

Yours, @aksinya.

Sort:  

Wow nice idea to get more attention to post. I should use that at least once. Btw followed and upvoted!

This sounds like fun.
I offer a 10sbd for the reward pool.
I also offer a matching challenge of SBD or Steem for anyone else who would like to support the Arts.
Smiles.

H. G.

You are fantastic! What can I say?)))

That is awesome. Love to see so much support for Artists here on Steemit.

"Batdance" https://steemit.com/artstyleart13/@cryplectibles/crypto-collectibles-presents-batdance-for-artstyleart13

Edit: I may have misunderstood the exercise and put my brushes down at the end of the song like it was a test and I'd get in trouble if I didn't. I would have shaped more things into different things than they are shaped if given more time, but I'm sure in the end it would still look like a child's piece lol.

You could listen it over an over and keep painting))) But it turned out great! Very "Princy")))

Hi, here is my first action painting submission for the challenge - inspired by the Jazz standard FEVER performed by Yucca Rose.
Peter Heckmann - Fever.jpg
https://steemit.com/artstyleart13/@peterheckmann/artstyleart13-submission-fever-by-peter-heckmann-with-music-performed-by-yucca-rose

So, hi again, here is my second action painting submission for the challenge - inspired by the Jazz standard SENTIMENTAL MOOD performed by Yucca Rose.
Peter Heckmann - Drips.jpg
https://steemit.com/artstyleart13/@peterheckmann/artstyleart13-submission-sentimental-mood-by-peter-heckmann-with-music-performed-by-yucca-rose

Here is my submission from listening to Tom Waits... Innocent when you Dream. ..... https://steemit.com/artstyleart13/@offgridlife/artstleart13-action-painting-with-music

@aksinya ..I love your choice of song. It's my favorite song from Rolling Stones. I would submit an entry this time around. What a fun theme 👍

[Update] - Here is my submission.

header.jpg

https://steemit.com/art/@coloringiship/starry-starry-night-my-entry-for-13th-artstyleart-contest

Hello mam,I'm mike ( @honeysingh) And i'm intrested in your contest and i just upvote you and followed you and i hope you can support me in your contest.
I always use original contest.
And for your kind information i can read all your terms and condition's.
Have a great weekend beautiful lady😍😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55863.62
ETH 2927.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28