Starry, Starry Night - My Entry For 13th ARTstyleART Contest

in #art7 years ago

header.jpg

Here is my submission for 13th ARTstyleART challenge. The theme for this week's contest is Action Painting + Music. So we were tasked to paint an abstract piece based on a song/music we choose.

The host, @aksinya suggested Angie by Rolling Stones but I had a better idea and I picked Don McClean's classic song, Vincent. I get emotional whenever I listen to this song. Such a beautiful tribute to a talented melancholic man. What a tragic life.

Starry, starry night
Paint your palette blue and gray
Look out on a summer's day
With eyes that know the darkness in my soul

Shadows on the hills
Sketch the trees and the daffodils
Catch the breeze and the winter chills
In colors on the snowy linen land

The song is about Vincent Van Gogh, of course.

Here are the progress photos as proof of authenticity (my original work and not stolen from the Internet).

1.jpg

Now I understand
What you tried to say to me
And how you suffered for your sanity
And how you tried to set them free

2.jpg

Starry, starry night
Flaming flowers that brightly blaze
Swirling clouds in violet haze
Reflect in Vincent's eyes of china blue

3.jpg

Colors changing hue
Morning fields of amber grain
Weathered faces lined in pain
Are soothed beneath the artist's loving hand

4.jpg

Now I understand
What you tried to say to me
And how you suffered for your sanity
And how you tried to set them free

They would not listen, they did not know how
Perhaps they'll listen now

5.jpg

For they could not love you
But still your love was true
And when no hope was left in sight
On that starry, starry night

6.jpg

You took your life, as lovers often do
But I could've told you Vincent
This world was never meant for
One as beautiful as you

Painting category: Painting
Medium: Acrylic on paper

Thank you for visiting. I hope you like it!

I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER. Thank you!


My previous post:

The Rooster

Beautiful Vampires

Pop Art Painting: Bad Habit

A Black Bird In His Mouth


shop logo.png

Upvote, Resteem & Follow Me @coloringiship

Sort:  

Very nice painting!It's cool to see all the steps before the result;)

Thanks @damira .They are intentionally included in the post as proof that I did the work. Cheetah bot is getting efficient in detecting plagiarism these days. Just don't wanna be in its list LOL.

Hahahaha I see,I guess no one does😊

This post received a 3.64% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @coloringiship! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Always have love your work!

Thanks Isaac. I DM you at discord already.

Got it!! give me sometime to come up with something aite :)

Hey thanks! I have a cool banner because of you hehe :)

Hahaha, hope u like it as much as I enjoyed doing it for you!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by coloringiship from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Great work yet again. Love the Van Gogh colours and your lively interpretation!

I´m ur Fan!!! Reestemed

Thank you for your kind support @yusaymon .

Such beautiful lyrics to be inspired by @coloringiship.

Great to see the processes involved in creating your own 'Starry, Starry Night' painting. Wonderful post. Resteemed. 🦋

Yes, Vincent is a beautiful song. Thank you for your kind support @allyinspirit :)

Wah spirals...dizzy izzy

I thought to include a poem called Swirl I wrote years ago but decided not to. It's not that good.

there is no poem to shy to see the light...let your poem sunbathe

Maybe someday...some are quite embarrassing and full of twenty something angst lol

Then that is interesting. Teenage angst.

Hehe...better not seen by the world :D

Excellent post! I love the idea of painting the feelings that come to you through music.

I was just at the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam a week and a half ago. What an amazing experience!

Oh wow what a memorable experience, to see the paintings right in front of you. I hope to visit the museum someday too. Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting :)

Standing in front of his Sunflowers was such an inspiration and the self portraits were so amazing! I hope you do get to visit one day!

If I were there I would probably cry. His paintings have this intense vibes about them. Passionate and raw.

I actually did tear up a bit.

I agree with passionate and raw. It was like he feverishly was trying to get everything out of his head onto to the canvas...like it was some kind of release.

He was trying hard to be heard and accepted by the art scene but his style was vastly different from everyone else's. Constant rejections and unsold paintings, that had to do with his depression and mental deterioration. Sadly he was only appreciated after he was gone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63707.69
ETH 3433.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53