Sort:  

I find your poetry to be high quality. And inspiring. I'm not in your league but I have learnt a lot reading your work and observing the structure and flow of the words. I realised that I am mores suited to stories. It resonates more with my creative style. So I get the pulling teeth analogy.

Thanks what I like about poetry is its subtractive nature, removing all unnecessary language, finding the perfect illustration or image to convey an idea. When I write stories it's just the opposite it's an additive process I'm padding and adding additional information and ideas. I'm always questioning weather things are necessary in the story and i have a hard time moving forward. F Scott Fitzgerald had the same problem in writing I'm told he would spend days just crafting one single page of a story.

Stories do become additive. Yet it's finding that balance where you add the right words, in the correct amount. Thinking about the imagery and concept you wish to express and then expanding. It's interesting the different approaches to expressing a thought or idea through the written words.

To what degree does inherent personality and interests take a role, and guide skill and talent? And also I guess it is the same for poetry as it is for writing - one needs to read a lot to get a feel for how others do it, and what actually works and what doesn't. Fun and games.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57452.21
ETH 3016.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36