Thirst Street

in #writing6 years ago


A street marker erected
Giving direction to weary travelers
Thirst Street stands

How thirsty is a human soul
that wanders down thirst street

Unquenchable longings of the soul
Bring one here
Wavering in direction
From 1st Street to 2st Street
One comes to Thirst Street
With a sense of accomplishment
But what is it more than
two letters short of third
Thirst street falls short of three

Thirst street promises satisfaction and fulfillment
But leaves the soul empty
Carrying disdain and contempt
for poison waters and elixirs

Thirst street is lined with entertainment
Water holes and barbecue pits
You can get a bite of a lamb chop
Or a pork rib if you want

Delectable delicacies enlighten the palate
Of carnivorous desires

Thirst street welcomes all
promising salvation
promising peace
promising a good time
promising satisfaction
to fill the loneliness inside
to erase the empty bitterness
promising joy and bliss

Thirst street only takes and cannot give
Like a black hole sucking up all matter
Is the heart on thirst Street
Unquenchable desire

Without 3rd Street
All are empty
quests for accomplishment and recognition
quests for love and success
are all empty without
third street

Please change 3st to 3rd
So we will never thirst again


I found this truck parked out on Thirst Street last night. 3st street is an actual street in South Korea. I guess the city officials had a hard time with ordinal numbers. This is taught in the Korean sixth grade English curriculum. First = 1st. Second = 2nd. Third = 3rd. Fourth = 4th. And Street = St. Still the city wants to reduce native speaking English teachers. Today is labor day in Korea and I just wish that after ten years of a contract that gets worse every year the city would kind of start respecting Native Speaking English Teachers. I guess 3st is not so bad though. There is a street near Lincoln Park in Chicago called Weed Street.

What else does this craving, and this helplessness, proclaim but that there was once in man a true happiness, of which all that now remains is the empty print and trace? This he tries in vain to fill with everything around him, seeking in things that are not there the help he cannot find in those that are, though none can help, since this infinite abyss can be filled only with an infinite and immutable object; in other words by God himself.

Pascal

This is my poem for day 55 in the Steemitschool poetry competition @d-pend.(Steemitschool Discord) The Donald Duck picture source is here.

Verse of the Day/ John 4:37-38

“Let anyone who is thirsty come to me and drink. Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.”

Mineopoly Quote:

"Only 45 more poems to go. It is getting hot outside."

Check out my recent post @mineopoly

You are not Funny
Sound Waves
Changes
Charlie
Mineopoly Haiku
Reconciliation
Ping-Pong-Whack
Denim
50 ways
For who you are
Gravity
Spring Rain

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

What comes after first?

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.

Sort:  

I guess 3st is not so bad though. There is a street near Lincoln Park in Chicago called Weed Street.

I am not shocked by the one in Chicago. lol

When it is understood that the quality of the curriculum must be respected. We will advance through new horizons

Thank you for your support my brother @corderosiete. I think it is pride that makes the city self content. I read your poem but it was on that I have to think a while before making a comment. I was moved. I will come back to the reflection poem tomorrow and share my reflections.

What else does this craving, and this helplessness, proclaim but that there was once in man a true happiness, of which all that now remains is the empty print and trace? This he tries in vain to fill with everything around him, seeking in things that are not there the help he cannot find in those that are, though none can help, since this infinite abyss can be filled only with an infinite and immutable object; in other words by God himself.

Pascal

That is the response of the poem. Beautiful reflection, @mineopoly. Big.

Once again you remind me of these words for a thirsty soul @zeleiracordero. After the fall we are all looking for a way back to paradise but always come short until we come humbly to God.

hehehe superb post thanks for sharing :)

Thanks for stopping by. Do you have 3st Street in your country?

So funny. I love the humor you bring to my heart. Your poems brighten my day quite often.

I have a hard time to write poetry with a straight face and laughing is good for your health. Thank you for the resteem. I like what you do on Steemit. If I had more time I would get my guitar out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88