Letter to Mother Nature

in #writing6 years ago

flower.jpg

Mother Nature
Remember all the days we played?
This is the voice of your son.

I know you’re getting older
But I need to tell you
Before it’s done

I appreciate each season
And the life that you give

I appreciate your love for me
And keeping me fed

I appreciate the Spring Rains
And the flowers it brings

I appreciate your embrace
That guards me from
Ultraviolet disgrace

Mother Nature,
I hear the earth sing.

Not just whispers but crises.
The river never dries
Of the tears you bear

For all of our cares
And for all of our
carelessness
recklessness
thoughtlessness
and insolent requests

How long will your patience
Endure with children like this?

How long can your patience hold
While we sip at
a bottle of diet coke
Chew Bubbilicious
And melt chocolate in our mouth?

Once more a peppermint
Breath of fresh air reminds me
You are there

I am reminded that innocence lost
Still has opportunity to return
As long as the name is remembered

image.png

Industrial complexes
Complicate
Conglomerations
Of concrete jungles
Twisted in iron fences
And
Polypropylene claws

The king of the jungle
Sits all alone in a corner
Wearing satin suits
And Burberry cahoots

Mother Nature weeps
And her tears fill the oceans
As glaciers sweat drops into the sea

Flora carbon combustion
And carbon monoxide fumes
Combines with diesel excitement
Of the people’s car
Make a little boy dizzy sitting in the garage

Mother Nature,
We are not alone
You were there
Waiting for us the whole time.

It’s not that you didn’t hear.
It’s just that we didn’t care.

Mother Nature,
My voice shouts to you a big
HELLO

I am reminded of all that you share
Give expecting nothing in return

I want you to know that I appreciate you.
I am your son who has returned home.

image.png

This is my poem for day 57 in the Steemitschool poetry competition @d-pend.(Steemschool Discord) It is the song of the azalea's in my garden. The pictures are from my cell phone.

Verse of the Day/ Romans 8:22

"We know that the whole creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time."

Mineopoly Quote:

"A beautiful thing is born."

Check out my recent posts @mineopoly

Beyond Labels
Good idea/ Bad idea
Thirst Street
You are not Funny
Sound Waves
Changes
Charlie
Mineopoly Haiku
Reconciliation
Ping-Pong-Whack
Denim
50 ways

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

When is Mother's Day?

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.

Sort:  

awesome work you're doing here! i wanna support you as much as i can. hopefully my votes will be higher as we both grow on steemit 👍

You are totally cool @roundbeargames. I started out here with zero and got to more than 500SP but still you have more than ten times the vote I have.

You program games independently and don't have kids jumping on you and a wife that hates crypto including Steem. I like to write. I can also play guitar and a little piano. I do it mostly for my own development but also I get a rush to see that blogging can be worth money.

For the past ten years I have just been teaching English in the public schools. Now my kids are getting older so they can take care of themselves better and my wife is getting healthier. I want to do so many things but really only have time for a poem or a short story each day.

i feel your pain! i didn't have time for any of this until i quit my job a few years ago. i don't have kids but it was a huge risk. still is..
my wife still hates me for giving up on a decent paying job. she didn't like crypto until recently she started earning money on them.
i also know teaching in korea can be stressful. i have mad respect for you for having 10 years of experience. we have so much to talk about but i'm guessing you're busy with your work. i also dont have much time even tho i'm an indie i spent most of my hours either thinking about or coding my game. but we should meet. possibly this month or next if you're ok with it.

I will definitely.

Mother nature weeps
And her tears fill the oceans

I love the way you make nature seem alive -the personification.
The short irregular lines makes the message easier to grab -nice style.

Yes @rexdickson... whether it is a conversation with Mother Nature or contact with a ping pong paddle I want to make it personal. Although poetry is an art I think communication is most important to me so that's where the "irregular lines" come in. You usually can't count a standard pattern. I will rhyme where I think it is fine and number the lines where I want them to be.

She is a melting glacier
She is an active volcano
She is a gentle breeze.

Beautiful tribute to mother earth, dear @mineopoly.

Thank you @zeleiracordero. Actually I was thinking of my own mother when I wrote this. She is a beautiful woman and I haven't seen her for a while. Luckily she is alive and I have plans to visit her this summer:)

It’s not that you didn’t hear.
It’s just that we didn’t care.

true words indeed

beautifully penned

I always like to write about how the human alone is looting mother nature and her patience. I am not sure whether this patience will hold for long. In our area, it is supposed to be summer now, a time before the monsoons start in June but it is already raining hard in the evenings, accompanied by thunderstorms, a November southwest monsoon scenario. The climate has changed considerably which does not mean good.
Your poem is a great reminder that man does not care and has never cared, in fact.

Flora carbon combustion
And carbon monoxide fumes
Combines with diesel excitement
Of the people’s car
Make a little boy dizzy sitting in the garage

The health of people are getting affected for sure and animals and birds get extinct. A sad state of affairs.

Thank you @sayee. I'm glad you can read these poems and find something that speaks to you.

Actually I spend a lot of time with non English speakers so my English becomes simple and direct.

I think these lines reflect the attitude I had to my mom too often.

yeah, I know what you mean

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63986.43
ETH 2745.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66