Beyond Labels

in #writing6 years ago
  • Chicken
  • Chimpanzee
  • Dodo
  • Rhinoceros
  • Orangutan
  • Four eyes
  • Cyclops
  • Geek face
  • Butt head

What else have you been called?


Bring all the labels here!!
Stick them on my head!!!
Burn-out cutter
Dork-face nerd
Two for the price of one

Come gather 'round people
You are one and the same
The dolphin, the tiger
The ant and the bee

This is the label drive!
Lay your label down here!!
Let them pile up to the sky!!!

We are collecting labels
For the eternal soup drive

Pile them up to the sun
When we reach a million
We send them to Campbell

For school supplies

There are labels that don't stick
Please add them to the collection

A can of soup is a can of soup
You can't call it by any other name

A fish in the sea is a fish in the sea
And you are a holder of Steem

Photo 1 Spilled Soup by Bennyd302

Photo 2 Campbell Vintage by Food Republic

Photo 3 Fish Eats Moon by Jennyle88

I joined this platform a little more than 6 months ago. At first I thought being called a minnow was an insult. Then I found out I was not a minnow but I was really plankton. I began to realize that minnows are awesome. They are the ones who helped me out the most. Now they are becoming dolphins and when I look at my dash board and it doesn't say plankton anymore. It says, "minnow". There is no magic here. There is not even a powerful slider that pops up.

Everything is the same. I did not grow mutant fins. I am still swimming around the same water. Nothing changed me. I could be eating light snacks with @ned right now but it was my turn to babysit the kids. Sorry Ned. I like swimming around here but life is life. Thanks for everyone who cares about this network. I hope you find great friends and opportunities to grow every day.

Actually if anything I feel challenged to bring back groovy school at least once a week on Monday for duty and humanity. I was so encouraged when @homescoolkidz read my short story and liked it. I want to do more for young people who use this platform and also so something fun and interactive. If you have any ideas let me know.

This is my poem for day 56 in the Steemitschool poetry competition @d-pend.(Steemschool Discord)

Verse of the Day/ Ephesians 2:8

“For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast.”

Mineopoly Quote:

"Look mommy! It's a little fish. Can I take it home?"

Check out my recent posts @mineopoly

Good idea/ Bad idea
Thirst Street
You are not Funny
Sound Waves
Changes
Charlie
Mineopoly Haiku
Reconciliation
Ping-Pong-Whack
Denim
50 ways

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

Are we blind without labels or blind because of labels?

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.

Sort:  

Being called names can take a toll on one’s confidence. I was called Red, Rusty, rooster but didn’t mind those nicknames. I grew up in a predominantly Protestant village. I always say I had the best of both religions- great picnics with the Baptist Church and dances with the Catholics.
My father’s people were Protestant but mother was Irish Catholic and her children brought up as Catholics. I was only one of 3 Catholics girls in my grade. I remember being called Mickie( name for a Catholic- a mick) by an bit of a deranged older person. Being young and full of bravo, I fired back insults. Not the best way to handle name calling. Humor might work better.
Congrats on your new status as minnow!

I love humor but I'm not so good at it. I don't want to label the Irish but I think the limerick had it's origin in Ireland. My mind is blown when I interact with people form around the world. All of my ideas about people and countries are blown away. I thought your island was like a paradise but I see the community will always find some thing to pin point. I think it is a defense people make by pointing out minor differences to make themselves somehow superior. Oh phooey to all name calling.

I wasn’t raised on the Island, Christopher @mineopoly. It was in New Brunswick where the insults were given when I was going to school. It’s my husband’s people who had roots here on PEI where I live now.
I think the Mick/Mickie is part of the Mc on a lot of Irish last names.

I see. Thank you for clearing that up. It makes sense. I wasn't raised in Korea. I just live here and my wife's last name sounds like a question.

Fantastic write, Mineopoly:)

I do my best not to label and not to accept labels ... even if they are positive. Labels limit and I have no desire to be limited or to limit another. When I was younger, just like everyone else, I was more prone to this subtle abuse. But these days how I see myself or another is evolving.

Deep comments take the longest time to reply to @prydefoltz. I know you give your heart to the poetry contest and to creating community in steemusa and in the poetry competition. As a whole I wonder what Steemit is evolving into...

It will evolve into many things, mineopoly. All of them more or less true. My advice ... keep your filter high and stay off the trending page. Although, it is at the forefront, it is not indicative of the platform as a whole. I follow other artists, poets, writers and photographers. For me steemit is fully of beauty and meaning, rewarding in many ways. No need to be discouraged; you just have to turn the channel:):):)

Yes. I have done a lot of filtering in my feed and I'm joyful and excited when I see beautiful people. You are right.

Brilliant! Genuinely funny poetry which is not easy to pull off, and with a defiant undercurrent that makes it so uplifting. Really fond of this phrasing here, vibrant and very easy to visualise:

We are collecting labels
For the eternal soup drive
Pile them up to the sun
When we reach a million
We send them to Campbell
For school supplies

My last name ends in '-it', which gave no insignificant amount of opportunities for name calling (endlessly creative rhyming slurs...) at school - thankfully I learned to give as good as I got haha.

OMG - @lazarus-wist. I see how a name like that could get you into poetry. I write mostly for my own amusement. When I try hard to be funny I am not but when I express myself freely I can sometimes be funny. I love words and think there is power in the word.

“There was a rich man who was dressed in purple and fine linen and lived in luxury every day. At his gate was laid a beggar named Lazarus, covered with sores and longing to eat what fell from the rich man’s table. Even the dogs came and licked his sores. The time came when the beggar died and the angels carried him to Abraham’s side. The rich man also died and was buried. In Hades, where he was in torment, he looked up and saw Abraham far away, with Lazarus by his side.

Luke 16:19-23

Very true, although I'll be honest, my username is something of a pseudonym - it's pretty close to the real thing. Lazarus is a nickname I've picked up independently from various people over the years, so it stuck. Which reminds me, I ought to make a proper introduction post sometime soon...

When I try hard to be funny I am not but when I express myself freely I can sometimes be funny.

I know that feeling. I think just writing in the casual style as you have above puts people at ease and makes the laughter come on more naturally - there is still a serious point underneath your poem though, which is definitely to its benefit.

Well @mineopoly, I am plankton, and I'm not sure what the difference is between that and a minnow in the ocean of steemit, but I do want to congratulate you on the new status... I have heard that it's quite the accomplishment. And again, your poem is awesome, I've been away and have missed some and have to play catch up!! Keep it up... before you know it you'll be a dolphin!! I think.. lol I could be wrong, or is it a whale?? Or a dolphin and then a whale?? Hahaha I don't know lol

That's why I like you @monchhichi23. You don't care about labels. Last month a person could buy Steem to be a minnow at 2 dollars per Steem. It woud cost 1000 USD. Now it will cost double. I don't know how much it will cost to be a dolphin. I wanted to make a big deal about it but there is nothing new under the sea. Thanks for having a great time in the Big Easy.

On a serious note @mineopoly I believe that labels are a small part of why everything is so messed up these days, you're right, I care nothing for them at all. I've had plenty of labels placed on me, but they've never bothered me, I just didn't care enough to let it. And I love how you can see that from my comment lol.

I had no idea that it would cost that much to be a minnow!! You would think it would be more... um... glorious??? Hahaha for that price!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63423.51
ETH 3252.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91