3 Artists/Writers Worthy of My (and Your) Follow! #1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing6 years ago

I’ve been guided by a wise man (who? See below… ;) ) to explore the jungle of Steemit in order to find people who I not only think are interesting and worthy of following, but who I also think would enjoy following me and my content. Of course, I was going to do this anyway, but without his help, I would have spent a lot more wasteful time fumbling around in the dark.


sage-67789_640.jpg

The qualities I most aspire to personally are being creative, being inspirational, being a critical thinker and conveying thoughtful, meaningful ideas through my art and through discussion. So of course, it was these qualities I had in mind while searching for these fellow earthlings:

I was a bit blown away by m31… An artist and a writer. Reading her introduction post, I felt connected with her already. I went through at least 10 of her blogposts. Her water-colour paintings are dreamily beautiful and she accompanies her art with intriguing bits of writing that take you outside of yourself for a moment… Make you consider paradigms you’d perhaps never thought of. Her post on AI and Elon musk made me fall in love a little bit and her watercolour whale makes me hope that she is a Douglas Adams fan too ;)
She has “been around the sun 27 times” and is also a Westworld fan, extra points there! =)

I highly recommend you go over to her most recent watercolour post and answer her most profound question…: What is inside your cupcake? ;)

I aspire to be as prolific a producer of quality content as Taraz is! Sixteen posts in 4 days?? And interesting, well-thought-out stuff, not spammy in the least. He describes himself as a “prolific thinker, continual writer, personnel developer and photography enthusiast” and his blog reflects this diversity. He pulls no punches in his articles about how he sees the world (I highly recommend his most recent article “The Blue Door”, about the Steemit environment) but he writes fiction too. And when he posts photography, he accompanies it with writing you just can’t scroll past. My favourite (so far! So much to get through!) is his post “Thoughts, Words and Photos (Fifteen)” in which he talks about life, death and belief. I’m happy to find that he and I share many of the same thoughts on these matters =)

Dad, Husband, Poet, Artist, Evil Genius … Lives: Outside the Box – I liked him immediately, not having seen a single post yet ;P … And I’m glad to say, his posts only helped the situation. The very first one I read (his most recent “Paradise or Death game”) made me want to follow him already. His blog is full of quirky, interesting engaging little out-of-the-box-thinking games/contests. And his occasional personal posts are honest and often heart-warming (See his “Love- The Timeless Story”). … Also, he is a dad of no less than 10 children! As I told him in a comment, he is a braver man than I.


So, there you have it! I'm looking forward to getting to know these fellow artists/writers, and to finding more like-minded people through them. If you, whoever is reading this, would like to get to know me better, please do check out the rest of my blog, especially my recent post "What to do in Steemit...? I've finally got it."

My hope is that through this post, I am embarking on a quest here on Steemit that I’ve not had a lot of luck with in my offline life: To connect with like-minded people, inspire and be inspired by them, and facilitate in connecting them with each other.

And who is the wise man that guided me to this exercise? Here on Steemit, he known as @markrmorrisjr – wise is an apt adjective: His post (being the first of 10 #dolphinschool lessons) demonstrates that he has the experience in this "self-marketing" world that we lowly planktons/minnows are in sore need of. I highly recommend following along here – You are going to learn A LOT of very valuable information.

I realise I have very few followers at the moment, which limits the effectiveness of this article, but hey… Humble beginnings, right? =) Which I hope will lead to greater successes as I post more of my art and writings, and learn how to use the platform more effectively. Thanks again, @markrmorrisjr !

Sort:  

I can't thank you enough for this recommendations @mandelsage. We definitely share interests! Great job, probably my favorite by now from yesterday's assignment.

Oh my gosh, thank you! That means a lot to me. Yes, it seems we do share some of the same interests =) I'll be keeping a close eye on your blog ^^

Thank you again <3

WOW! Nice prose, my friend. Do you want to teach tomorrow? LOL Great post. Seriously, all the elements are here. Interesting use of avatar images with the profile links. Now to the critique. I'd use some headers, at least bold type, on each section, and consider breaking your large paragraphs in two, to create more white space. Makes it easier to read. Other than that, I don't know how wise I am, I may be a mad man offering to coach so many writers at once! LOL Anyway, excellent work, a definite contender for the first revenue share post tomorrow evening!

lol... High praise indeed! And critique noted! Thank you, Mark. I'm already looking forward to what you have in store for us tomorrow!

Great article they are pretty impressive

Thank you =) I hope you get as much joy from their stuff as I did today.

This is a great idea mate.
Along your journey, diversify the people and find some who post about how the platform works. I recommend @miniature-tiger as one of them for their posts on the numbers things :)

Welcome, I think by the looks of things, you will get the hang of it here fast.

Thank you very much, Taraz =) Great suggestion... After doing a few more artists, poets, photographers and philosophers, I'll diversify for sure. And I'll certainly check @miniature-tiger out.

If I may ask, what are your criteria for following people? Or do you not have criteria but just follow whenever you "feel it", hehe...

@tarazkp I agree that @mandelsage looks to be picking this up rather quickly! We are both in the #DolphinSchool Boot Camp together and I mentioned you as well in my post. If you wouldn't mine perhaps you could give it a peek when you have some time! The link is HERE and I am curious to know the answer to mandelsage's question too!

Thanks for the recommendation fo mini tiger. I am looking forward to learning more about the platform from their blog.
We appreciate you Taraz.

I am honored to be mentioned with such good company. I am already quite fond of @m31 and @tarazkp. Now I get to add @markrmorrisjr and yourself to my check out deeper list.

The biggest hurdle I faced when I started was thinking too much on what to write in place of just writing. There is a following here for every poster the key is to just keep posting.

Very happy to have found you! =)
That makes sense because I first found @m31, then went through her followers and found @tarazkp, and through his followers found you ;) At least I think is it was in that order ;P

I'll take your words to heart, because I'm often the victim of my own over-thinking too. And that even when it's my own personal writings! =)

I'd like to ask you the same thing I asked Taraz, above: What, if any, are your criteria for following people?

I like to look at their blog as well as their voting habits and incoming votes.
I am here to share more than collect.
1.) I take into consideration how much support someone has
2.) How much they spread their vote around
3.) How much they interact outside of their own post
4.) How much they self-vote
I find my little vote can help a lot more small users under a 55 Rep than adding to the solid support someone like @tarazkp receives. I still vote him often, I just lower my weight and wait longer to vote for him. I also tend to rotate my follow list often. That keeps things fresh for me and allows me to spread the love more. I also have a pretty heavy trail vote behind my own so my little vote goes a long way.

Thank you for that. I hope to one day meet your requirements! =)

Regarding point no. 4, I've really wondered about self-voting... Is it a good thing to do or not? I've heard conflicting opinions on this... In the end, I understood that voting your own blogpost is fine but upvoting your own comments is not recommended.

As for vote weight, I'm not able to adjust mine yet... I assume once I reach a certain reputation level, or gain a certain level of SP, I'll have that option.

Anyway, again, thank you for the time. I'll aspire to be as helpful once I'm in the same position you are!

I feel the opposite, I think voting your comments for the purpose of moving them up is fine. I view voting your own blog as taking away more money from curators and the curators are the ones who upvote your blog so why take from them?

Oh! Yes, I hadn't quite realised that. Thank you. I'll untick that little box from now on.

Great job on your first assignment! @markrmorrisjr has really helped us all out with this course. I look forward to reading more post from you.

Thank you, Kim!

Indeed, I'm very glad to have encountered Mark, am can't wait for the next assignment. I have just woken up and am now going to go through my fellow classmates assignments, hehe. Expect a comment/upvote! (If I like your post, that is ;P)

I usually browse through those user-recommending posts rarely finding someone fitting into the range of my interests. Not this time. You have really good taste. I followed them all.

You're too kind =) .. Actually, no, please, do continue! ;P

lol... Thank you, truly, for the compliment. And I'm very happy to say that upon looking briefly at your blog, I clicked follow without hesitation. Your self-description immediately got me interested ("I am a quiet observer of the world around me. Most people rarely stop and just listen. I enjoy it. Sometimes I write down my observations...") and a quick look at your titles confirmed it. Especially your New Year's Maze post. (Congrats on that doing so well btw!)... I'm looking forward to going through your stuff later.

Oh, thank you!
Regarding my New Year post, I had no idea that my first post would get so much attention. I know I was incredibly lucky and now I have to work hard if I want to replicate that one day... : )

You may have few followers at the moment, but if you keep producing quality posts like this one then that won't stay that way for long. Great shout outs to these fellow Steemians. And all new names for me.

May it be so! Thank you very much, fellow classmate! ;) I'll be going through others' assignments in a bit... Just need to finish breakfast, and doing the dishes, lol. Expect me over at your post in a few minutes ;)

First things first. Posting is hard work! And yes, you'll do alright here I'm sure. What it needs most of all is the right attitude (then comes the hard work ), learn and study the techniques. Some of these are new to me and I've been here over 16 months. Best of luck .

Thanks for the share, I already follow two of these awesome steemians but hadn't heard of the last one, I will check them out today, I look forward to seeing you at #dolphinschool

And I, you =) How fun is this?? ^^

Love your name, btw. I'm an English teacher by day and love little play-on-words like that.

This is a lot of fun so far, I hope I can keep up to date with the assignments etc. It's going to be a busy ten days. My name is pretty cool, I like wordplay too. It actually has a double meaning, the one I am guessing you thought of, this is a way of pouring my thoughts out and the other is that I am an ostomate, as in I have an ostomy. So my insides are literally out of my abdomen. :-p

Woowww... That must be crazy. Would you mind talking about it? I'm terribly curious now. Is it a since childhood thing, or a more recent necessity?

I'm fine talking about it now as I've had it over ten years. I got it when I was 26. You can check out my intro post which has a little more about it and me if you want. https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@insideoutlet/a-little-bit-of-me-into-the-world-of-steemians-i-dive

Ooohh my goodness... I just read through that and am bowled over... Such a life. And such a bum ;) lol... You're not letting no stoma get in your way, it seems! Over 80 jumps!! I envy that alone greatly... (I've had a dream to fly/sky jump ever since reading Jonathan Livingstone Seagull and Illusions by Richard Bach).

I'm very happy to know you, Erin =)

haha, yeah that's not a bad bum pic haha... I hope you get around to jumping one day, it's terrifying and exhilarating. Nice to meet you too =)

This was an excellent post and the qualities you aspire to are great marks to aim for! I would say this post is a direct hit. The people you mentioned are all very cool individuals! Steemit Chat is a great place to meet folks as well and communicate a bit more directly and in real time! It's in the hamburger menu too!

I am glad to be in Boot Camp with you and I am excited to learn and grow with you! Looks like you are off to a fantastic start! Keep up the great work and Steem On my friend!

Thank you so much, Tim. Indeed, getting into the chat section is on my to-do list. But I'm kinda saving my energy right now because I'm sure #dolphinschool has a lot coming up to keep us busy, hehe. Mark is probably going to have the chat as a theme on one of the lessons.

Just Keep On Steemin On! I know I am going a bit crazy trying to keep up with posts and comments... and ready for Day 2. Europe is quite a bit ahead... so I may take a nap to clear my head for the rest of the day! The chat is fun to get away to and clear your mind for a bit! I hope we cover it here soon in Camp! Take Care Brother! =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 53933.04
ETH 2871.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00