You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 3 Artists/Writers Worthy of My (and Your) Follow! #1

in #writing6 years ago

I am honored to be mentioned with such good company. I am already quite fond of @m31 and @tarazkp. Now I get to add @markrmorrisjr and yourself to my check out deeper list.

The biggest hurdle I faced when I started was thinking too much on what to write in place of just writing. There is a following here for every poster the key is to just keep posting.

Sort:  

Very happy to have found you! =)
That makes sense because I first found @m31, then went through her followers and found @tarazkp, and through his followers found you ;) At least I think is it was in that order ;P

I'll take your words to heart, because I'm often the victim of my own over-thinking too. And that even when it's my own personal writings! =)

I'd like to ask you the same thing I asked Taraz, above: What, if any, are your criteria for following people?

I like to look at their blog as well as their voting habits and incoming votes.
I am here to share more than collect.
1.) I take into consideration how much support someone has
2.) How much they spread their vote around
3.) How much they interact outside of their own post
4.) How much they self-vote
I find my little vote can help a lot more small users under a 55 Rep than adding to the solid support someone like @tarazkp receives. I still vote him often, I just lower my weight and wait longer to vote for him. I also tend to rotate my follow list often. That keeps things fresh for me and allows me to spread the love more. I also have a pretty heavy trail vote behind my own so my little vote goes a long way.

Thank you for that. I hope to one day meet your requirements! =)

Regarding point no. 4, I've really wondered about self-voting... Is it a good thing to do or not? I've heard conflicting opinions on this... In the end, I understood that voting your own blogpost is fine but upvoting your own comments is not recommended.

As for vote weight, I'm not able to adjust mine yet... I assume once I reach a certain reputation level, or gain a certain level of SP, I'll have that option.

Anyway, again, thank you for the time. I'll aspire to be as helpful once I'm in the same position you are!

I feel the opposite, I think voting your comments for the purpose of moving them up is fine. I view voting your own blog as taking away more money from curators and the curators are the ones who upvote your blog so why take from them?

Oh! Yes, I hadn't quite realised that. Thank you. I'll untick that little box from now on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66996.66
ETH 3235.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63